We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent food for Monterey, but pretty bad if it were in SF”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Noodle Bar

Noodle Bar
Ranked #2 of 55 Restaurants in Marina
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Healdsburg
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Decent food for Monterey, but pretty bad if it were in SF”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I had an eggplant dish which was pretty tasty. Their tofu on vermicelli dish was cloyingly sweet. The quality of the plain white rice was low. I had a lychee boba drink, which was WAY too sweet, and the boba pearls were probably an instant
variety. Overall, this is an average restaurant, but if you have a hankering for inexpensive Vietnamese food in Monterey, it's certainly acceptable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taste P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“hole in wall gem”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

it was so good we had dinner one night and lunch the very next day. not the cleanest place but the food was superior. i hear they have another location that is a lot nicer and has beer and wine. the one we went to is basically a bar with stools. no table seating. beer and wine would of been nice though

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank central_valley-sb-ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
347 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“What a great place! Great food, low prices!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was a truly wonderful dinner. They didn't have brown rice, but the PHO was amazing and the chicken rolls were the best Iv'e ever had, and only 3 dollars for a generous portion! Great service as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annelyse C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Phe. Pha. Pho & Cash Only”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

So when you eaten as much seafood and chowder as we did, it was a time for a change! Being in the Marina area, we had tried a few other "establishments", but we really wanted to eat a bowl of noodles. Okay, this is not fine dining, there are no tablecloths, about 5 booths, and about 5 tables and a bar to sit at. I can only say that our timing was perfect, no wait, we had a booth, and then the patrons started to back up at the front door! There seem to be a lot of local people who apparently had savored this great restaurant before, so either way, the movement of people in and out was almost entertaining. We decided that the combination PHO was going to be it, along with their Pork and Shrimp roll. The roll was good, but I think should have been wrapped more tightly so that we didn't lose the fillings when biting into it, the peanut sauce lacked a little more flavor, but still good to the point we were actually wiping it clean. Our Pho was very tasty, with pork and chicken slices, which could have been sliced smaller. Flavorful broth, not salty, but with adding the basil and bean sprouts, it was certainly an awesome bowl of noodles and goodies. I guess they are also known for their smoothies that several people either had their with their meal or as a take out. Out kind of restaurant to enjoy while on vacation just relaxing and you can't beat the price!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 96Deanna96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What a suprise”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This place was really good. Probably some of the best Asian food I've ever had. Each we order four different meals and each was great. Highly recommend the chow mein.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wingnut457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing