We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort right on the dunes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sanctuary Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort right on the dunes”
Reviewed April 26, 2010

As its name applies this is a true sanctuary located amongst protected dunes. The color of our room was soothing and we slept extremely well on the beautifully appointed bed linen. From the minute we stepped foot on the property the staff was warm and welcoming. Catering to all our needs. While the beach is not protected by any jetty it has large waves with strong undertow but does make for breathtaking photos. Minutes away from local attractions but located in a quiet setting. The perfect place for couples or families.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank escapees2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    256
    68
    65
    40
See reviews for
196
493
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at Sanctuary Beach, but there are a few drawbacks.

Positives:
1) Excellent beach. You are literally only a few hundred feet from a beautiful beach, which is very clean and empty. It is between 2 state beaches, but I can't say that I ever saw more than a dozen people at one time even on the weekends. It was a little cold and windy in April, but still beautiful with many different birds. It is really great to have your room be such a short walk to the beach.

2) Nicely appointed room. The room had nice amenities, including a mini-fridge, flat panel TV, nice king-size bed, large shower, and a porch that had an ocean view despite it being a 'dunes view' room. I particularly liked the little shelf next to the bed just above an electrical outlet, so I could plug my phone in. Wifi worked fine, although there were a few deadspots within the room. Definitely a step above a typical hotel room.

3) Service. Employees were very friendly and helpful, room was very clean with turndown service.

Neutral:
1) Marina, CA location. Marina is a nice little town about 8 miles north of Monterey on Route 1, and I really liked the fact that there was a Wal Mart, grocery and drug stores and gas stations nearby, so you can economically stock up on supplies. However, if you are going further down the peninsula(and most people do), it is likely at least a 15-20 minute drive and maybe more(depending on traffic) to most tourist locations. It's not that bad, but if you are going to be spending most of your time to the south, it's not particularly convenient.

Negative:
1) As others have stated, the walls and ceilings are VERY thin. If you are on the first floor(as I was) you can hear the plumbing, movement upstairs, as well as people walking around outside. It didn't bother me that much, as I was at a wedding and wasn't in the room that much, but if you're a light sleeper, look elsewhere. Some of the other reviewers have said that the noise issue is better on the 2nd floor, so you might have more luck with that.

2) $15/night 'environmental fee'. Yes, this was disclosed in advance,(though not included in the quoted rate), and billed upon checkout. It's very annoying. Whatever rate you get, add $15/night to it. More and more hotels charge these extra fees whatever they are called(often 'resort fees'), just remember to look at the total as opposed to the quoted rate when comparing prices.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank count_chimpula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, General Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
Thank you for your comments about our Resort. We strive towards providing a comfortable and relaxing stay for all of our guest with our service. Our secluded beach is always a nice suprise for our guest. Our location is unique and provides a sense of private escape from the real world. We are in the process of changing all of our doors with new extra padded soundproof doors to alleviate any future noise issues. We are also located on a natural habitat and in order to preserve our dunes we require an enviornmental fee which is used to preserve our landscape. We thank you for your wonderful comments and hope to see you again at our Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2010

I chose this hotel because of it's proximity to the ocean, and the way it sounded so serene. At first I was annoyed that we couldn't check in until 4, when we arrived at 2:30. At 4, there was a line of people checking in. However, our stay was very relaxing, and we slept with the ocean sounds each night. We had a dunes view, but we could easily see the ocean and hear it as well. The bed was comfortable, bathroom spacious, and nice touches like the robes and wine upon checkin made the stay even better.
It's a bit out of the way, and there's not many dining options nearby. I do not recommend the Kula House restaurant onsite. We tried it twice, and both times it wasn't very good. Also, the spa wasn't really a spa, just spa services were offered, which are very pricey.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingteacher28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, General Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our Resort. All of our rooms have either a full or partial view of the ocean and we are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy a beautiful view from your room. Our location truly sets us apart and the premier beach access from our Resort has no comparison. Falling asleep to crashing waves just outside your private cottages truly defines what the Sanctuary Beach Resort is all about. Thank you again for staying with us and always remember to call the hotel directly for the best available rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California foothills
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2010

The units are situated on the sand dunes, just a short walk from the ocean and the Marina State Beach. We stayed here two nights to use as a base to visit Monterey. We had one of the small "dune facing" cabins, but we could still see the ocean from our private terrace. Since cars are not allowed to park at the units (all guests are given golf carts to drive on the premises), it was very quite. Our unit was attached to a large suite unit. I think there was someone else staying there, but it was still quiet.
They have a heated pool and hot tub, which we didn't use, but it looked quite nice.
There is nice restaurant on the premises. It doesn't serve breakfast, however there is a Denny's just across the highway.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, General Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 4, 2010
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at the Sanctuary Beach Resort. It is vitally important that we hear from our guests, and it is a pleasure to hear about your positive stay. Knowing what pleases our guest about our property continually keeps us prepared and knowledgeable in how to satisfy our guests. We truly appreciate your feedback, and I am excited to pass them along to our entire hotel staff. We hope to see again in the near future and always remember to contact the hotel directly for the best rates and updated promotions. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2010

I had been looking forward to staying at this property, it looks great in the website, but I was so disappointed. The room was small and lacked basic amenities such as a bedside table and lack of storage space, I felt I was living out of my suitcase as there was no where to put things.It looked dated and the carpet appeared worn. We were led to believe we would have great views but our tiny patio area just looked at other apartments,you could just about catch a glimpse of a sand dune if you squinted out the side of the property. The beach is cold and damp most of the year, it had white pipes running up and down the beach making it look like a contruction zone.They make you think you have a private room by looking at the pictures ha! ha! what a joke, there were children yelling and banging on our door from the adjoining room. You could not justify the cost of this hotel in anyway, it was just not worth it !!!! Please don't go here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, General Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2010
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our resort. I am sorry to hear about your experience at our resort. We do have partial Ocean View and Full Ocean View cottages at our resort. Depending on which room type a guest selects it affects the view from the room. We also have two room types from Deluxe and Suites. Depending on which room type a guest selects if affects the size of the rooms. We are also located on a sensative dunes habitat and we take great strides and taking care of the landscape around our property. The white pipes act as the sprinkler system for this cause, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2010

The Sanctuary Beach Resort is fantastic! We had SUCH a good time there this w/end. It was quiet which was just what we needed. The huge, heated spa pool was a definite plus for us, and we thoroughly enjoyed the sunsets. Other nice touches were a small bottle of wine upon arrival, big robes to wear to the spa and separate towels for the spa or beach. And of course those golf carts which everyone has mentioned. The restaurant had some great meals and we loved the fact we didn't need to leave the property all w/end long. Also, I checked out a bunch of different options up and down the coast before choosing this place and they by far had the best prices. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ_CA_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco,
2 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2010

The Sanctuary Beach Resort is one of the cleanest and most romantic hotel I've ever stayed at! Frontdesk are very upbeat and polite and pretty knowledgeable with it surrounding areas. Check out Kula Ranch too!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFrancisco_Yheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
6.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
7.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
8.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
12.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Beach Resort

Property: Sanctuary Beach Resort
Address: 3295 Dunes Drive, Marina, CA 93933-2002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanctuary Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Beach Hotel Marina
Sanctuary Beach Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing