We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Escape!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sanctuary Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights for a golf mini-vacation. As soon as we arrived on the property, the word "Great!" just kept coming up…from the staff, to the views, the comfort and size of the room, the feeling of serenity you get from hearing the waves on the beach…we were sold on coming back the minute we got there. What did we enjoy most? Probably sitting out on our very large back deck after golf and in the evenings, watching sunsets and relaxing in the pool and spa after golf. We went to the restaurant on site one night and were thoroughly impressed with the sushi chef and our salmon dinners. We played golf at Bayonet and Black Horse (Fort Ord) which was only 10 minutes down the road so the Sanctuary was really the perfect location for us. The courses are in fantastic shape and very challenging especially as we carried our bags. Our room and the whole facility seemed very quiet even though there were a lot of people there. The biggest surprise was that this Resort seems to be a big draw for international travelers…it was so nice to hear the many different accents, languages and see foreign families enjoying our beautiful country! The only down side for me was the bed. It was very soft and since I have back problems, I had to sleep on the couch. Because of the location and other great amenities however (Keurig coffee maker, fridge, microwave, complimentary split of wine, sense of peace and quiet all the time), we plan to come back in the fall. Thanks so much to the great housekeepers too!

Room Tip: I would recommend a top floor suite or a single story ocean view room. We stayed in 720 suite which...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

WOW! Thanks so much for coming and having a great time with us. From what I read, it appears you enjoyed A TON of the things that make this resort special! We're always here, and welcome you to come back and see all the sights, hear all the sounds (accents included!) and smell all the smells that are unique to our little corner of the globe! We'll keep the fireplace on for ya! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
There are newer reviews for Sanctuary Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 968 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is located right on the beach and san dunes and is a great location. nice room with fireplace is nice amenity as is the overall décor. skip the on site restaurant and venture out to Monterey or elsewhere. The restaurant service on a weeknight was slow and food was so/so (including the place being a little un-kept)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vincentd972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thanks very much for leaving us a great review. Our Front Desk agents are always more than happy to recommend their favorite restaurants for our guests. Monterey features some very delectable coastal cuisine with no shortage of Italian, French, and Japanese options as well. Let us be your guide to the wonderful eateries in the beautiful setting that is Monterey on your next visit to Sanctuary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My family and I spent a fun filled weekend at this beautiful resort. It reminded us of the dunes in North Cariona. We did travel into Santa Cruz and Monterey as the weather was a bit gloom in Marina. Great views and the rooms were so nice. Exceptional service from everyone on the grounds....but don't expect to check in early. The beach was very pretty...the pool needs some work for a RESORT...but my kids just wanted to swim in the warm. It was 4th of July weekend and it would have been nice to have another fire pit on the beach...but Im sure its great on a not so busy weekend. We really enjoyed the long walks on the beach. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thanks for leaving us a review about your holiday stay. I'm glad the family had a good time and enjoyed themselves. I appreciate you bringing up the aspects of our resort you weren't over-the-moon about.

Early check-ins are sometimes tough for us to accommodate because so many people love to stay and enjoy the beach, dolphins, pool, golf cart etc right up until check-out which makes it difficult to clean a large number of rooms for a large number of people all wanting to get in before 4pm. The staff will always do their best and we invite folks to come in, enjoy some complimentary refreshments in the lobby, or have lunch in the restaurant. Furthermore, guest are always invited to go enjoy the beach or the pool as well and we are happy to provide towels to do so,

I am happy to report that on July 20th, Sanctuary unveiled its new bonfire area, complete with two pits! You can view the brand new bonfire pits on our facebook page. Thanks again for leaving us a review. We hope we can see you by the fire soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great staff, very friendly, prompt with your requests. Great pool/playground. Close to the beach. Really nice. Very quiet and secluded atmosphere. We were here 7 days, enjoy every minute. Lots of things to do close by. Here are some pics of some of the places we enjoyed for less than $150.00 collectively and we had 4 grandchildren with us.....ENjOY!!!

Room Tip: Suites in the middle give you equal access to everything. Ocean, Conceirge, Pools, Playgrounds
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cynthia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thanks for leaving us a great review! Looks like you and the family had a fantastic time in Monterey and I thank you for making Sanctuary your home away from home. We'll hope to see you again next summer vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and I recently honeymooned in the Monterey Bay area, and having never been to California before, we decided to make the Sanctuary Beach resort our hub for our week long stay based on online reviews.

We certainly were not disappointed. The resort is remote enough to keep you away from the hustle and bustle of nearby areas, but close enough to get you to:

Downtown Monterey: 10 Minutes
Carmel: 20 Minutes
Santa Cruz: 45 Minutes
Pinnacles: 1 Hour

We greatly enjoyed planning our daytime expeditions and coming home to our golf cart, beautiful sunsets, and the sounds of waves crashing onto the beach. The rooms were very comfortable and the amenities were fantastic.

Our only complaint about the resort was that if you had noisy neighbors, you would hear them in the passageway between the two rooms, but that's not the resorts fault.

Room Tip: If you want a beach view, make sure you ask for one that directly looks over the ocean. We stayed in...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Wow, thanks a lot for writing us a fantastic review! More importantly, thank you for deciding on Sanctuary for such a momentous occasion in your lives. We are glad we hold a special place in your heart and would be happy to have you both again and again until you grow old together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Waves crashing and a Beautiful view of the beach from my patio created the most secluded and relaxing vacation! Very comfortable set up it can become home away from home. Best family vacation ever I hope to make it an annual trip every summer and spend 4 days instead of 2!
If you are looking to enjoy comfort and luxury with a beautiful view of the ocean this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Must splurge and get a suite with the beach in your backyard!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Wonderful! I'm so glad you and the family got to try us out. My favorite part of your review was "Best family vacation ever...". That's very nice of you to say! Come on back and do it all again sometime, we'll keep the fireplace on for ya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Smack in the middle on the fantastic Monterey Bay beach. Situated in a sanctuary where nature and all wild life is protected, lies this very cosy property. Nothing between the hotel and the beach, except for a sand dune or two. Watch dolphines, birds, whales, take a stroll on the beach or a swim in the cold ocean. This is a truly relaxing place and focused on connecting with the nature surronding it. The location is obviously great for beach activities but its also very close to monterey and carmel so its also a great place for day trips (btw dont miss spending a day in the quaint town of Carmel - its a fantastic place).

Here is my summary of the hotel:

- Standards: the property is divided up into a number of different buildings holding lobby, apartments, rooms and suites, restaurant and pool area. Golf buggys are included in the price and are used for transportation around the area. Generally I would say the standards throughout are a good 3 star.

- Location: can't be better

- lobby: nice open space in a separate building where they sell picnic stuff, wine etc

- rooms: we had the ocean front junior suite and it was pretty spacious, had a small kitchenette with a fridge. Nice big bed from where we could see the ocean, big fireplace and an outdoor terrace. Good sized bathroom. Standards was a good three star and everything worked very well.

- pool area: pretty big pool area with lots of chairs. Big and nice heated pool and a very big jaccuzzi also heated. No bar service at the pool.

- restaurant: an absolutely fine restaurant serving a mix of food with hawaiian influences. Good prices and def worth a visit if staying at the hotel. More upscale restaurants are found in monterey, carmel etc

All in all a nice, cosy property with a sensational location on the beach where we saw hundreds of dolphines playing close to the shoreline during our stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank RichardU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derrick P, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a great review for us and adding Sanctuary to one of the many places you're visited. It's means a lot to us when well-traveled avid reviewers like yourself leave their mark on our page. You are always welcome back, and we hope we see you again before too long!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
7.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
6.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
8.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
895 reviews
14.1 mi away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
356 reviews
7.9 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Beach Resort

Address: 3295 Dunes Drive, Marina, CA 93933-2002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range: $229 - $1,131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanctuary Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Beach Hotel Marina
Sanctuary Beach Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing