We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sanctuary Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sanctuary Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

LOVED this hotel! The details were awesome! Great views and little things like towels for the beac next to the door. Would stay here again in a heartbeat! The bathrooms however had a bit of mold in the shower. Other than that, no detail was missed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and got a chance to enjoy the beach. Next time you are heading back to the area, be sure to give us a call! We are always happy to see our return guests back on property. We would like to thank you for bringing up the issue you had with the bathroom. If you feel comfortable, please either contact us directly (information below) or let us know the problem via the email survey we send out after check out so we can address the specific unit you were in. We love hearing feedback, both positive and negative, and would love to get that problem resolved!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuaryebachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    239
    62
    63
    34
See reviews for
175
463
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a great time at the Sanctuary Beach Resort. Beautiful room w/ fireplace and a great view. On property restaurant was good and room service was quick. This was a perfect escape for the two of us. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Highly recommend an ocean front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Needingavacation111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
I’m happy to hear you are already ready to return back to the Sanctuary! It sounds like you were able to enjoy some of the amenities featured on property, such as our onsite restaurant and warm gas burning fireplace. Be sure to give us a call if you decided to escape again this winter, and we can have a nice warm room waiting for you! Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuaryebachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place was awesome! We stayed in the jr. suite partial ocean view and it was nice. You could see the ocean from our room. The room was big had a couch, chair. table,wet bar the bathroom had a walk in shower plus on the other side of the bathroom had a tub and shower.We brought our dog and our outside patio was big also.The staff was very friendly and helpfull.The frontdesk even told me a place in Montery on the warf were we could have lunch with our dog. It was called Domenicos they were very pet freindly.We stayed here in late October the weather was ok. My husband and I loved the place we will beback.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms would be the best view and higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your recent trip. I’m glad to hear that your party (the dog included!) all had a great time while staying here. It’s great to know our Front Desk/Concierge team was able to help you pick out a restaurant that all of you enjoyed! We are very lucky to be situated in an area where pets are very accommodated for. Being only 15 minutes away from Carmel is also convenient; it’s just a short drive down the freeway to take your pup to run around leash less on a beautiful white sand beach. Next time you two come, feel free to let us know yet again if you need any recommendations at all, whether it be hiking trails, restaurants, dog friendly beaches, or excursions.

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuaryebachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Wonderful!! Watch the ocean as waves roll in, fall asleep to the sound of surf hitting sand... just slide your glass door wide open, flick on your fireplace and let the sights and sounds of the Pacific in. I arrived late in the evening after a long drive from LA. Check in was quick and easy, the staff was very pleasant. Love the golf carts, adds a bit of fun and adventure to your stay. Each room gets there own personal golf cart to get around the resort in. My plan, that first evening, was to take the short drive either into Carmel or Monterey for dinner, but I could not bear to leave my ocean front room. Instead I ordered in from room service. Dinner was surprisingly good and the local wine selection was choice. The rooms are well appointed, complete with fluffy bathrobes to lounge in. The next morning, I started my day with a long walk on the beach.
A few points to note... the room was lovely, but a Jr suite is just a large room with a sitting area.
The bathrooms have a clean and new makeover, but the fixtures are older and outdated. If you don't spring for an ocean front or ocean view room, stay somewhere less expensive. The charm of this hotel comes from it's proximity to the beach.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best, but at least an ocean view is mandatory!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorkcitygirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Your review was really great to read! It painted a true picture of what we hope all of our guests are able to enjoy throughout their time here. After a lengthy drive from Southern California I’m glad to hear you found your room relaxing and the onsite restaurant satisfying. Only a mile or two away there are a few local gems in town that guests often like to visit, so always feel free to talk to our front desk staff for additional concierge information. I like that you mentioned the local wine selection, as Carmel Valley is home to many vineyards that produce fabulous wines! Feel free to contact us next time you are in the area, and we would be happy to have an ocean view room and bottle of wine ready for you!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Email: guestrelations@thesanctuaryebachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in one of the second-floor, ocean-front, Jr. Suites. To say this is in a beautiful place is an understatement. We could sit in our living area and look out the window at the waves crashing on the shore. At night we left the door open so we could hear the sounds of the ocean. We found the room to be very comfortable. We made good use of the microwave and the refrigerator. Loved using the golf carts to get around. The pool was quite large and nicely heated as was the spa. Surprisingly, the wifi worked great for us, not something most hotels do well. I don't think I would like staying in one of the rooms away from the beach though. It sort of defeats the whole purpose of staying on the beach and as soon as you leave the beach area it basically looks like any other hotel. One small gripe, I don't know why some hotels think they can use the term "suite" for a single room. Look it up. A suite of something is more than one of something and a hotel suite ought to have more than one room. I know they used the term Jr. Suite, but I still think it is disingenuous. Fortunately, I checked before we made the reservation and knew what I was getting, not a suite but a large room with 2 distinct areas in it.

Room Tip: The upstairs ocean front rooms give you the best view of the ocean ... great sunsets. The suites ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your review from your recent stay. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed
some of my personal favorite aspects of the resort, from hearing the waves crashing at night, to zipping around in our golfcarts. It’s great to hear that some of the improvements we are making throughout the resort (Wi-Fi being a more recent one) are making a difference in our guests stays. I also appreciate your comment about the suites, as the term sometimes does confuse people. We only offer Junior Suites here at the resort, which includes a King size bed with a queen size memory foam sleeper sofa.. As a tip for our guests traveling with large families, some opt to go for our Deluxe room (single king) and have that adjoin to the Junior Suite (king and sleeper sofa.) Always feel free to call our reservation line at any time, and any of our staff members are happy to describe the different room types to ensure you have the best option for yourself, and those you are traveling with. Again, we truly appreciate your review, and hope to see you here again soon!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Fax: 831-883-9477
Email: guestrelations@sanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was a great getaway from SF with two young ones our partial view jr. suite was beautiful. A front porch with chairs, fireplace and fold out coach for the kids and their own tv. The beach was gorgeous, the weather perfect, beautiful sunset and a fire at night to roast marshmellows all added to this amazing stay. We enjoyed the large pool and jacuzzi at night with the kids along with other families, everyone was so friendly. We recommend this to everyone, their family and dogs. We look forward to our next getaway here with a full view jr. suite a meal at their resturant and maybe a massage.

Room Tip: Full View jr. Suite is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Armigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. It sounds as though you and your family had an enjoyable time here. It’s great to hear that you were also lucky enough to experience some warm weather and beautiful sunsets! I’m glad to see that you were able to enjoy some of our amenities .Thanks again for choosing us for your family getaway, and we hope to see you back here soon!

Katherine
Phone: 831-883-9478
Fax: 831-883-9477
Email: guestrelations@sanctuarybeachresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I actually stayed here back in October of last year for our honeymoon. We were a bit late on crossing a place to stay since we were low on cash because of why we spent on our wedding but a few people knew our situation and blessed us with the opportunity to have out honey moon. Well let me just say that we my husband made the reservation for the day after the wedding when we arrived at the location we were greeted by the front desk and the lobby was small and cozy. We did have to wait a little while to get our room but I didn't mind We took the opportunity to go around to the aquarium. Front desk called us when the room was ready. I walked in and It was beautiful. We were 2nd furthest from the beach we could hear the waves. An see the bonfire! Cozy beds! Big bathroom! You get your money's worth! I have suggested this place to friends an they have loved their stay as well.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MizzMedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementSBR, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
I wanted to thank you so much for leaving the great review that you did. I'm happy to see you still thinking of us a whole year after your stay! It sounds like you have some amazing family & friends who care about you guys very much. I'm thrilled that they were able to provide the means for you and your new husband to visit us. Now, I suggest you don't wait an entire year until your anniversary to come back and see us again. Call us directly the next time you are ready for the best possible. See you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina
6.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
7.8 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
8.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
8.4 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
12.2 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Beach Resort

Property: Sanctuary Beach Resort
Address: 3295 Dunes Rd, Marina, CA 93933-2002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanctuary Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Beach Hotel Marina
Sanctuary Beach Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing