We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Tasty Nights!”
Review of Kula Ranch Island Steakhouse - CLOSED

Kula Ranch Island Steakhouse
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Reservation Road
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Three Tasty Nights!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had occasion to eat here three evenings in a row while guests at the Sanctuary Beach Resort. In these three nights we sampled many flavorful dishes from the menu, including the Grilled Calamari Strips, Kula Tossed Salad, Kula Asian Salad, Pan Roasted Chicken Breast, Mongolian Beef and Prawns, as well as a few daily specials. All our meals were very tasty and each dish was shared, there being plenty on the plate for both of us. The wine list had a great selection and the suggested wine and food pairings were excellent. The desserts were also yummy. This is a very busy establishment with not only the guests of the resort next door but with wedding receptions, birthday parties, etc., so I would highly recommend reservations. The staff was pleasant, courteous and attentive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zofia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    87
    69
    34
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Food but Slow Service”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The service here is very slow, but if you're not in a hurry, it's a good place to eat. We were staying at the WorldMark next door so we had happy hour dinner there 3 nights in a row. Each night they only had one server working the whole bar & patio. Each night the place was packed, so the service was quite slow with only one server. It's fun though to sit out on the patio with one of the tables that has a fire pit. We all thought the food was very good, so it was worth the wait to us. My husband really enjoyed the sushi bar too. Prices were great on the happy hour menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slow but tasty”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Had dinner here with family. Sat in bar for happy hour but nothing on the menu was looking good. Ordered braised short ribs and skirt steak entrees. The short ribs were more like meaty baby backs, very tasty and fall off the bone tender. The skirt steak was cooked to perfection with good flavoring. However the coconut rice was not a good accompaniment. (Lunch skirt steak comes with the regular rice. ) looking forward to a return trip for more braised short ribs. Service was incredibly slow don't know if it was due to understaffing or something else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maspdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Uneven experience”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The decor is fun and the restaurant has a good atmosphere. Wine and cocktail selections are excellent. However, I found the food fair to middling for the price. And unfortunately, service was incredibly slow. We ate there because were staying at the Sanctuary Beach Resort, where the restaurant is located. I wouldn't go out of my way to eat there again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyful522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Date Night Surprise”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I had an event to attend in Marina, and while we have driven through on many occasions, we never stopped. We found this restaurant because of its proximity to our event and were extremely surprised and satisfied. They have quite an wide selection on their menu. The name of the place says steakhouse, but they also have a selection of sushi. SInce we had sushi the night before, we went with the other part of the menu. We started with the Pupu combination platter appetizer for two. It had a little of everything with many dipping sauces to sample. My wife had the mahi mahi and loved it. I usually go for the ribeye, but I had the Kulas Infamous Skirt Steak because it was listed as one of the house specialties. I liked the flavor that resulted from their unique marinade, but it was skirt steak so a bit more chewy than ribeye. It came with coconut rice which was sweet and tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kula Ranch Island Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing