We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bureaucratic and not up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Manteca
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Manteca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here early in the year on 3 different times. Our Diamond status was not acknowledged or common privileges such as early check in or check out offered. Request for an early check in was met with a with a 3:30pm check in on the first time. A 2pm check in on the second and 3pm check in on the third stay. In the first two stays the hotel was not full the night before. In most Hampton Inns a morning check in at 11am is not uncommon if the hotel is not sold out the night before. Most hotels will have housekeeping clean a room if a guest is waiting. But this place does not release the rooms until after 1:30 according to the front desk manager.
One woman at the front desk was very friendly but was not very helpful when a late check out or early check in was requested.
This is a new hotel that is still having some construction problems, like noisy fans and loose fixtures and Bureaucratic staff at the front desk.
The staff at this hotel acts like it is a large five star hotel and guests are lucky to stay, but has none of the hospitality or service that most Hampton Inns or even Holiday inns have.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 2far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STN_3GIRLS, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Manteca, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear valued guest,

We appreciate your feedback and concerns. We do try to accomodate with early check in requests but if we are sold out we are unable to meet the request. Our check out time is 11am. Executive housekeeper has to go in and check the vacant ready rooms to ensure we provide you with clean and fresh rooms. It also matters as to what room type you have reserved and what is available to check in.Our normal check in time is 3pm and try to accomodate our guests accordingly.

We do appreciate your feeedback and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 448 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

It's a classic Hampton Inn and Suites, friendly staffs who make you feel right at home. A clean fresh room with a bed that begs you to lay down and relax and forget about work at least for that night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Hemaloto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STN_3GIRLS, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Manteca, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Hello,

It's nice to hear such kind words. Like music to my ears. We love having you here. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We really enjoy this hotel because of the helpful staff and the really good service and condition of the facility. Having the Bass Pro Shop, theaters, and restaurants within walking distance is a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank ronalds952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STN_3GIRLS, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Manteca, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thank you for such kind words. Its positive feedbacks like this help us strive for excellent customer service. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stopped over for one night on the way to LA/Anaheim. Great location that was easy to find, the front desk staff was very nice especially since we were very tired after arriving much later than expected. The room was nice and cooled down quickly thanks to the great A/C. The WiFi worked perfectly and the bed was fairly comfortable. The breakfast was alright. My wife and I thought the "bagel toppers" were kind of gross, but there was plenty of other stuff to satisfy our appetite. Doubt we'll ever be through Manteca again, but if we are the Hampton will be my first choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mjw716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Excellent location on/off the freeway. The breakfast is top notch both hot and cold selections. Great movie theater is a 3 minute walk. Great pool. The room is very quiet. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STN_3GIRLS, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Manteca, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We do appreciate your business. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have stayed here before and have nothing but great service. We visited Family over the Fourth of July, and decided to stay here again. Big mistake. I looked online for the rates, and decided to call Hampton a Inn directly to book our room. I requested the AAA rate and was quoted $94.05 per night for two nights ( the 3rd and 4th of July). When we checked in, the rate had jumped up. They tried to charge us $94.05 for one night, and $125.00 for 2nd night.

We got settled in our room, all was fine until, that evening we came back to our room after visiting Family. We gave my Great Niece a bath, there was no bath mat in the tub, and she slipped. She is 3 yrs old. We tried to heat up some snacks in the microwave, it did not work. The toilet would not flush. I called the Front desk and asked for maintenance. I was advised the Woman who was working the Front Desk was the only Employee on duty, she was very busy checking a rather large Wedding Party. We would have to wait for a plunger when she was done. Almost two hours later, we got a plunger. We showed her the microwave was not working. She played with it, couldn't get it working either, and then said " oh wow, it's not working. ". "Your just going to have to play with it to figure it out, I have to go." With that she left our room.

Then during the night, the bathroom light would not go on. Knowing there was no one to help, we used a flashlight in the restroom. The bad part if this is we are both disabled, and that made it very difficult. Later, we discovered a " master" switch by the front door that worked the automatic lights in the bathroom.

I reported all this to the "Front Desk Manager"on July 4. . A woman who did not seem to care about all that happened. She said she would have maintenance check it out, but no one ever got back to us. I also mentioned the change in rates, I told her the person at the desk when we checked in said she would adjust the balance, I left believing that would take place. The "manager" on July 4 then tells me that no one is authorized but her to adjust the balance, that it would be done since we had so many problems.as far as I am concerned, her attitude was not professional or helpful. She blew me off and basically dismissed me from the Frnt Desk.

We had an ADA room, since both of us are handicapped. The shower was a nightmare. The shower is a combo tub/ shower with two shower heads. One up high, that did not work, and a smaller one that below that ran on a track, up and down. When the water was running through it, it would not stay pointing at you, it would point to the floor. You had to maneuver yourself in a tub with no bath mat to take a shower.

On July 4th, we left our room after breakfast. We had a long day and returned about midnight to our room, only to discover the room had not been cleaned. The beds were not made, we had no clean towels, garbage was over flowing, and we ran out of toilet paper.

The only bright light was an Employee named Troy who went above and beyond to try and remedy the situation. He should be commended for his suburb Customer Service. When he noticed us entering the Lobby, he immediately came to me and started pushing me in my wheelchair to my room.

When we called and asked for toilet paper, he was very apologetic, brought us toilet paper, bottled water, and fresh towels.

Would I stay there again, probably not. There are just as nice, comparable Hotels in Manteca who appreciate their customers.

Room Tip: If you stay there, bring your own food, already heated, bring your own toilet paper and towels. Oh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STN_3GIRLS, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Manteca, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for responding . We strive for friendly service, clean rooms ans comfortable sorroundings. We apologize for the inconvenience and would like to offer you a one night free stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Manteca for your future travel.
Please contact the hotel directly to confirm your mailing address.
We would love to see you back and experience the service that we excel for. We do appreciate your feedback and loyality for the hotel.

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We have stayed at this Hampton Inn twice and would not hesitate to stay there again. Rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean, WiFi always worked, and breakfasts were quite good. The staff was friendly and professional and any requests were handled promptly. Hotel is quiet and very conveniently located for freeway access, shopping, and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somanyplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STN_3GIRLS, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Manteca, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear valued guest, its nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We strive for excellent customer service and its loyal guests like you that help us strive to meet our goal.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manteca
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Manteca
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lathrop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manteca - Ripon
12.8 mi away
University Plaza Waterfront Hotel
15.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Manteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Manteca

Address: 1461 Bass Pro Dr, Manteca, CA 95337-9503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manteca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Manteca
Price Range: $118 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Manteca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Manteca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Manteca
Hampton Inn & Suites Manteca Hotel Manteca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing