We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manhattan Beach deal”
Review of Wave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wave Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Pacifica, California
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Manhattan Beach deal”
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Took a chance on this one. A former Holiday Inn Express, for $84 for the two of us, with a very large room, very clean, nice bathroom, free overstocked continental breakfast, free newspapers, excellent (very) heated (that's how I like it) pool, with hot tub, and sauna, and two minute drive to the beach right down the hill. Can't complain at all. A good stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janherwitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    35
    52
    44
    40
See reviews for
48
56
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

It's no frills, it's inexpensive and gets the job done if you are just looking to crash in Manhattan for the weekend and won't be needing a lot of amenities and as long as your expectations are reasonable,place is fine. It IS a hard/hilly 20 minute walk to the beach, it is not modern, nor ight and airy....but it serves it's purpose and was fine at $80/night. Continental breakfast was fine..standard, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, breads/bagels, juice, coffee and fruits. We didn't use the pool or jacuzzi-but pretty basic looking. Lot's of European travelers it seemed. Shower-fine, bed was comfortable, could use a fridge. Quiet enough, and decent amount of channels. Very dark room-- - great for napping and sleeping in.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingbuddymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Lakes, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2010

I am not generally a picky vacationer and for the price did not expect much. We were looking for a place with a pool/hot-tub that was in walking distance to the beach. After reading other reviews I called ahead to make sure the hot-tub was working and that they had a shuttle. The hot-tub was not working when we got there, the shuttle was 20 minutes late, and the air conditioner kept us awake all night. The front desk staff said they would not charge the room until we spoke with the manager. We never spoke with him and a week later we were charged full price for the room. Terrible customer service. Pay the extra 20 bucks and stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astroud09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewavehotel, Manager at Wave Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2010
Hello,
I'm sorry for the problems you encountered during your stay. The whirlpool spa was, in fact, out of order for a few days due to maintenance issues. The repairs were completed in 3 days and it has been up and running since. The hotel shuttle runs to Los Angeles International Airport every hour or upon request starting at 6am until 9pm. At times, there are circusmtances that arise which can cause delays with this schedule. While we are sorry for these delays, many times they are beyond our control (traffic, timing, etc.). I did make an attempt to contact you while you were at the hotel and once again after you had checked out, to discuss the issues, but I was unsuccessful. I'd like to take this opportunity to once again apologize for the situation. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manhattan Beach hotels

LA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed at the Manhattan Beach Holiday Inn for 4 nights after flying into LA from Perth, Western Australia. We arrived at 7am in the morning and we were allowed to check in early and get over our jet lag. The guys were very friendly and help us find our feet for the first few days. The free continental breakfast was awesome and rooms were older but clean and tidy. There is an excellent free wireless internet that was reliable. There are plenty of places for tea around and u can walk to Manhattan Beach (15 mins) and Hermosa Beach (25mins). The area is clean and safe.

I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_in_USA705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2009

The tripadvisor photos of this hotel are NOT of this hotel. We checked out after 30 minutes because the room was dark and dingy. Stained towels made it too much.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighMountainColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Stayed here for 4 days while vacationing with friends. The room is basic but large enough for 4 adults and has everything you need, including a small fridge. Not a bad walk to manhattan beach if you can walk a mile, but is uphill. Great breakfast. Hottub was a little dirty but nothing too bad. Overall great experience! Would reccommend!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vballer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for one night. The room is basic but nice...had everything we needed for the night. The hotel also has a small parking garage located below hotel and I felt completely safe while coming and going. I was amazed at how dark the room stayed with the drapes drawn...it was completely dark at 10:00 a.m. We came in late from a show the night before and it was nice to be able to sleep in a dark room! We would definitely stay here again if needed!

The hotel also has a spa and heated pool. We didn't try either because we didn't have time....but both looked clean and inviting!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miranda1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manhattan Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Crimson Hotel
Crimson Hotel
#8 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
749 reviews
0.8 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
503 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Hotel

Property: Wave Hotel
Address: 900 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-5927
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wave Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in Manhattan Beach. Close to the Manhattan Beach Pier and Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Wave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing