We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice”
Review of Wave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wave Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had the king suite. All it needed was a fridge and microwave to make it perfect. The breakfast was lacking. Overall nice place. The hot tub was under construction and the pool looked a little green.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyonthebeach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 193 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I booked a king jacuzzi room for our one year wedding anniversary... I figured we would be treated well as we were in the most expensive room... yea, not so much. From the moment we walked in, the man at the desk looked annoyed that he had to help a customer. Our room wasn't ready so we came back an hour later and got another guy who didn't even look up from messing around with his phone while he was talking to us. The people here just don't seem to care about their customers and want to get paid to stand around doing nothing. Then we got to the room and it was dingy... I'm not high maintenance by a long shot but I felt uncomfortable looking at the strange black fingerprint smudges throughout the room
and began pondering if it had been a crime scene. We tried to get away for the weekend but couldn't drive back home fast enough!

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The first thing I notice is an overwhelming smell of mint, but the mint was just a cover for what must have been mildew and or mold. The room was very humid and I wanted to leave,. I asked if there was another room but there wasn't. It was totality gross and I would never sty there again. The guy at the desk suggested I keep the door open to get rid of the smell, the carpet was gross, I kept my clothes and shoes on the whole time. Only slept for like a few hours and was out of there.
This place needs to be torn down.

Room Tip: don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Staff very loud early in the a.m. Not great when you are on vacation and getting woken up by 7 a.m. Room was clean but couldn't close door to washroom , no plug for bathtub. When staying at a location for more than 3 days it would be nice to have a bit of variety in the continental breakfast rather same offerings every single day. We ended up going out last 2 days of Six and buy breakfast elsewhere. Doubt we would stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

we stayed here for 5 nights and the location was perfect for us. It was a short stroll to Manhattan Beach and not far from Venice Beach and Sunset Boulevard and around a 35-40 min drive to Disneyland! The room was a little run down and the beds were hard for our tastes (we usually have a pillow top) but it was impeccably clean! Breakfast was simple but good and the staff were friendly and helpful. A few restaurants nearby and a Jack in the Box across the road made meals pretty easy.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with 3 friends and we booked a room with two queen beds. We arrived at the hotel to check-in and they only had a room with a king bed for the 4 of us. The customer service rep at the desk was rude and actually laughed at our situation when she was on the phone with the manager of the hotel. It was so frustrating that we had to stay in that room with one bed for four people. Our check-in date was the 4th of July so there were no other local hotels with vacancies.

The only reason that this rating deserves 1 out of 5 is because the maintenance guy gave us lots of extra pillows and blankets to help make the stay more comfortable for the 2 people who slept on the floor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Reserved room for 3 new it was a king bed but naturally assumed there must be a sofa sleeper to sleep 3. Booked through Hotwire because that is the 1 thing they guarantee , WRONG . Waited hours for rollaway bed . The pool is very dirty, hot tub dirty and cold . They did get the hot tub hot but still dirty and frothy yuck. Asked for towels waited forever to get in fact still waiting . Do not recommend.

Room Tip: Stay Somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
787 reviews
0 mi away
Crimson Hotel
Crimson Hotel
#8 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
342 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wave Hotel

Address: 900 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-5927
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range: $92 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wave Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated boutique hotel in the heart of Manhattan Beach. We are located just over one mile from the Manhattan Beach Pier and 5 miles south of the LAX airport. Polliwog Park is also within walking distance. We feature newly renovated spacious rooms complete with Flat screen Tvs, Hardwood modern floors, new beds, new showers as well as free high speed Wi-FI, free parking and complimentary continental breakfast. The Wave Hotel is your ideal getaway for a relaxing trip lovely Manhattan Beach. We are the heart of the South bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing