We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best lodging in Manhattan Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sea View Inn at the Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey Bay, California
2 reviews
“The best lodging in Manhattan Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

This Inn is in a PERFECT location, it's cozy, comfortable and the staff are very accommodating--has everything you need with a variety of room types.
Great for individuals, couples and families. Multiple good restaurants close by; it's
AT the beach. Parking is adequate and free. We always book in advance to assure a reservation-it's a popular place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cindymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaviewinn, Manager at The Sea View Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, July 6, 2010
Thank you for your review!
Hope to see you again soon,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    187
    59
    21
    31
See reviews for
227
152
52
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

A very nice location with a great view.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dslbball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaviewinn, Manager at The Sea View Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, July 6, 2010
Thanks again and hope you have a great Summer.
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

After six years of visits to the SouthBay Beach area, I have reached the conclusion that the Sea View Inn on 34th and Highland is the top spot for being close to the beach and Manhattan Beach's downtown fun area.

The cost is reasonable and the spot is within walking distance of great eating and the ocean.......and why would you EVER stay outside of walking distance from the ocean and the beautiful walking area called the strand?

I have stayed at the Sea View Inn over the span of 6 years and each visit was handled beautifully by pleasant and very helpful managers. You must have to be happy and good with people as a requirment to work here :o)

Parking is not a problem, whatever you need for a pleasant stay is readily availabe (irons, beach towels, umbrellas, information about site seeing, etc) and the views are to die for.

Make your stay in the world's most beautiful beach area the best it can be and stay at the Sea View Inn at the Beach.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl2010Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaviewinn, Manager at The Sea View Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, July 6, 2010
I really enjoyed reading your review!
Thank you,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

The place certainly has possibilities, but we had to check out first thing in the morning after a smelly night. I was afraid to remove my socks the carpet was so bad. The tile was chipped and caught on my socks. It is right on the street so road noise is prevalent. Be prepared for a tiny balcony that sits over the side of the building so in order to see the ocean you must look the other way. We paid for a full ocean view, but it is not a view from the room at all. You must leave the room entirely and view from the balcony looking around the building.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Rockhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

Ive been staying here for about 5yrs off and on. The management is very laid back surfer type atittude...which is good and bad. Upon entering our room the smell was horrific...like not disposed baby diapers. Told the front desk and got a perplexed blank stare. Nothing was done and we ended up paying for candle and air freshener...it finally subsided. The rooms are spacious and bathroom and kitchenettes are well stocked. The mattresses are excellent with the exception of fold out...springs are spung completely thru the fabric!
Went to bed with sand still in the sheets,left over from previous patrons...eeww! Shams and comforters definitely need e good cleaning or to be replaced..very stained.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWsterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaviewinn, gm at The Sea View Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, March 2, 2010
We appreciate your loyalty and hope to see you again soon. We take these comments very seriously so I just went up and looked at the room and can't understand what you are saying. We have special washing machines so that we can clean our comforters in house and do this much more often than any other hotel that I know of. In fact, the cleaning cycle of all comforters just completes again this Friday.

And we change the sheets daily unless a guest staying several days asks for no room service. We always change the sheets!

As far as the smell of the room goes. You must be fair about that. After lots of comparison shopping, we chose Fabreze Linen and Sky which we get at Costco. It does have a baby fresh smell and when the office attendant went up to your room he was dumbfounded because that’s the Fabreze fragrance. He sprayed it for you and you agreed that this was the smell. He thought that issue was resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2010

Sea View Inn has been my home away from home each time I travel to California. It's location is great in terms of accessing the beach, and getting back/forth from LAX. The rooms are quiant, and always very clean, and the staff service is second-to-none.

It offers all the "basics" that you want for travel: wifi network, comfortable beds, hospitable staff, etc... But more importantly, it has a vibe that reminds you that you are in one of the most beautiful places on earth. It's a short few blocks straight down the hill to walk the strand or the sand. It is located next to some awesome restaurants (breakfast at Sloopys is a must) and bars, and the staff as well as the locals you'll bump into are amazing.

If you want to stay somewhere comfortable, at a fair price, and KNOW you are in a Caliifornia beach town, this is your stop.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdannenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

Just back from a five day winter trip to Manhattan Beach. I think it's probably the best area to stay in Los Angeles and this hotel made our trip. Convenient to LAX, restaurants, bars, and most importantly, the Pacific ocean. The staff seemed to go out of their way to be friendly and insure our comfort. They even provided us with with free bikes to ride along the beach. One of the trip's highlights was watching the sunset over the ocean from our room each day. Looking forward to returning in the summer and just enjoying the sun and the beach.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OLTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea View Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea View Inn at the Beach

Property: The Sea View Inn at the Beach
Address: 3400 Highland Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-3341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sea View Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Inn At The Beach is an intimate seaside hotel located just blocks from the Beach. And is the closet hotel to the sandy beaches and panoramic views of Manhattan Beach. The Sea View offers casual comfort, modern conveniences and features a "live like a local" atmosphere. Dine at local eateries, stroll eclectic shops or borrow one of our beach cruisers and cruise the beachfront bike path and enjoy the ocean views. Or relax and swim in our heated Outdoor Pool. We offer FREE Parking, Wifi, Bikes, Beach Towels, Beach Chairs, Beach Umbrella's & Beach Toys for the Kids. The Sea View Inn is located just minutes (3 miles) away from Los Angeles Airport,(LAX), 35 Minutes to Disneyland, 40 minutes to Universal Studios, 25 minutes to Downtown Los Angeles, and 30 minutes to Hollywood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Sea View Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Inn At The Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing