We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly spot by the ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2010

After six years of visits to the SouthBay Beach area, I have reached the conclusion that the Sea View Inn on 34th and Highland is the top spot for being close to the beach and Manhattan Beach's downtown fun area.

The cost is reasonable and the spot is within walking distance of great eating and the ocean.......and why would you EVER stay outside of walking distance from the ocean and the beautiful walking area called the strand?

I have stayed at the Sea View Inn over the span of 6 years and each visit was handled beautifully by pleasant and very helpful managers. You must have to be happy and good with people as a requirment to work here :o)

Parking is not a problem, whatever you need for a pleasant stay is readily availabe (irons, beach towels, umbrellas, information about site seeing, etc) and the views are to die for.

Make your stay in the world's most beautiful beach area the best it can be and stay at the Sea View Inn at the Beach.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachgirl2010Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaviewinn, Manager at The Sea View Inn at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2010

I really enjoyed reading your review!
Thank you,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 727 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2010

The place certainly has possibilities, but we had to check out first thing in the morning after a smelly night. I was afraid to remove my socks the carpet was so bad. The tile was chipped and caught on my socks. It is right on the street so road noise is prevalent. Be prepared for a tiny balcony that sits over the side of the building so in order to see the ocean you must look the other way. We paid for a full ocean view, but it is not a view from the room at all. You must leave the room entirely and view from the balcony looking around the building.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Rockhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Ive been staying here for about 5yrs off and on. The management is very laid back surfer type atittude...which is good and bad. Upon entering our room the smell was horrific...like not disposed baby diapers. Told the front desk and got a perplexed blank stare. Nothing was done and we ended up paying for candle and air freshener...it finally subsided. The rooms are spacious and bathroom and kitchenettes are well stocked. The mattresses are excellent with the exception of fold out...springs are spung completely thru the fabric!
Went to bed with sand still in the sheets,left over from previous patrons...eeww! Shams and comforters definitely need e good cleaning or to be replaced..very stained.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWsterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaviewinn, gm at The Sea View Inn at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2010

We appreciate your loyalty and hope to see you again soon. We take these comments very seriously so I just went up and looked at the room and can't understand what you are saying. We have special washing machines so that we can clean our comforters in house and do this much more often than any other hotel that I know of. In fact, the cleaning cycle of all comforters just completes again this Friday.

And we change the sheets daily unless a guest staying several days asks for no room service. We always change the sheets!

As far as the smell of the room goes. You must be fair about that. After lots of comparison shopping, we chose Fabreze Linen and Sky which we get at Costco. It does have a baby fresh smell and when the office attendant went up to your room he was dumbfounded because that’s the Fabreze fragrance. He sprayed it for you and you agreed that this was the smell. He thought that issue was resolved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Sea View Inn has been my home away from home each time I travel to California. It's location is great in terms of accessing the beach, and getting back/forth from LAX. The rooms are quiant, and always very clean, and the staff service is second-to-none.

It offers all the "basics" that you want for travel: wifi network, comfortable beds, hospitable staff, etc... But more importantly, it has a vibe that reminds you that you are in one of the most beautiful places on earth. It's a short few blocks straight down the hill to walk the strand or the sand. It is located next to some awesome restaurants (breakfast at Sloopys is a must) and bars, and the staff as well as the locals you'll bump into are amazing.

If you want to stay somewhere comfortable, at a fair price, and KNOW you are in a Caliifornia beach town, this is your stop.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mdannenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

Just back from a five day winter trip to Manhattan Beach. I think it's probably the best area to stay in Los Angeles and this hotel made our trip. Convenient to LAX, restaurants, bars, and most importantly, the Pacific ocean. The staff seemed to go out of their way to be friendly and insure our comfort. They even provided us with with free bikes to ride along the beach. One of the trip's highlights was watching the sunset over the ocean from our room each day. Looking forward to returning in the summer and just enjoying the sun and the beach.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank OLTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

I have been staying at the Sea View Inn for the past 6 years on a regular basis, usually twice a year for a week at a time. Often I am traveling alone but on occasion my family accompanies me and never a disappointment. I think that I have probably stayed in just about every room, or at least every "class" of room in the hotel.

I have never been disappointed, the rooms have always been clean, the staff have always been courteous and helpful. The loaner bikes are great and the local eateries are very friendly and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gritty125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaviewinn, GM at The Sea View Inn at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2009

Thank you for all your Kind Words!
It's ALWAYS a pleasure having repeating guest as yourself.
Hope you have Wonderful upcoming Holidays and many Blessings for you and your Family!

Best,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

My husband, 2 teenage boys and myself spent the last few days of a whirl wind USA holiday at the Sea View Inn. We were so impressed from the very start, from making the booking to arriving there. The Inn by far exceeded our expectations in every way. We stayed in the 2 Bed room Penthouse suite which was fantastic. It was very clean, more than ample space and a glorious view from the big deck/balcony. Full kitchen, spa bath and 3 t.v's. The complimentary coffee and other items in the bathroom were a nice touch. All the linen was fresh and excellent quality and in abundance. The Inn is perfectly situated, beach, shopping, laundry, restaurants, airport etc. A huge grateful thanks to James and Jimmy who manage the Inn for their wonderful hospitality, we will definitley be back again and we highly reccomend the Sea View Inn to all travellers. Thanks for making the end of our trip amazing!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.0 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
514 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
768 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
870 reviews
1.6 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#7 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
717 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea View Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea View Inn at the Beach

Address: 3400 Highland Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-3341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range: $212 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sea View Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Inn At The Beach is an intimate seaside hotel located just blocks from the Beach. And is the closet hotel to the sandy beaches and panoramic views of Manhattan Beach. The Sea View offers casual comfort, modern conveniences and features a "live like a local" atmosphere. Dine at local eateries, stroll eclectic shops or borrow one of our beach cruisers and cruise the beachfront bike path and enjoy the ocean views. Relax and swim in our heated Outdoor Pool. We offer FREE Parking, Bikes, Wifi, Beach Towels, Beach Chairs, Beach Umbrella's & Beach Toys for the Kids. Our Beach is known for its clean, wide, sandy beaches and attracts over 3.8 million visitors annually. Sea View Inn is located just minutes (3 miles) away from Los Angeles Airport,(LAX), 35 Minutes to Disneyland, 40 minutes to Universal Studios, 25 minutes to Downtown Los Angeles, and 30 minutes to Hollywood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Sea View Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Inn At The Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing