We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
east hills,ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

I stayed for one week and everything was terrific. My room with frig, micro, internet access and ocean view was perfect.The beach is a few steps away and a variety of small restaurants surround the inn. As I was visiting my family,my 2 1/2 year old granddaughter visited me often, loved the pool, and i was able to keep snacks for her in the room.The staff was wonderful and helped me carry kid's stuff to and from my room daily..No need for a car as everything you might want to do is walkable and there is even a bus that runs along the main road.This is my third stay and I can't wait to come back.Thanks to James, Alex and Jimmy for all your help and attention!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzannejj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    191
    59
    21
    32
See reviews for
240
156
53
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

The Sea View Inn was absolutely wonderful! The view and the beach were the best. Relaxed on the beach and rode the complimentary bikes all over town. Went to a concert and the Inn was fabulous about providing cab transportation back and forth for us! Could not have asked for a better place to stay!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

Great location. Pleasant staff. Have stayed in a number of different rooms including the Penthouse. Worthwhile for LA location. Only disappointment was couldn't get a room there weekend of July 18/19.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallylarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valparaiso,indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

Beware of the low end rooms priced at $135.00 a night. The first night we stayed here I noticed the bed had quite a large area where water had leaked from the room above onto the bed. The staff immediately found and corrected the problem and comped us one nights stay for our trouble. We reserved what this property called a "standard room". They were absolutely correct by using the term standard, although I will call it substandard by experience and for what I paid. The room was quiet small and uncomfortable. Our view out the window was a fence that seperated the hotel property from the adjacent house. The hotel is locted on a busy street (HIghland Ave.) so traffic noise is present. There are delux rooms available here at a delux price which for what I seen seemed much better than the rooms we had, going for over $200.00 a night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomkoz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

My niece made a reservation at the Sea View Inn the day before we were to arrive. She was told when making the reservation that the room had a view of the ocean and was the best available. The room was accessible only after climbing an open outdoor stairyway. We asked for assistance with our luggage and we were told that the service was not available. When entering the room there was a strong musty or moldy odor to all of the rooms and they did not feel or appear clean. All rooms had vinyl flooring and the bedspreads were of a heavy dark microfiber fabric that felt dusty and musty. The view of the ocean was over about three blocks of roof tops and provided little of the ambiance indicated as the reservation was made.. The deck for the 'view 'as described was very narrow and contained four plastic chairs. We went back to the person working at the front desk and told him the room was musty and smelled bad and that we were uncomfortable carrying the luggage up the open stairway. We requested that our charge be voided. After some discussion, he indicated that the charge was removed from our account. We then went to another hotel in Manhattan Beach who provided excellent accommodations. Upon returning home, I received my credit card bill with the $275 charge for the room at the Sea View Inn. I called the hotel to discuss the issue and request that the charge be removed. The manager advised that they have a "No cancellation policy" and that his desk clerk checked the room after we indicated it was musty and unclean. He told his manager that the room was fine and our complaint was not valid. The manager further indicated that no one has ever complained about this room and have, in fact, raved about the accommodations. He further stated that the desk clerk had no authority to cancel the credit card charge when he clearly indicated to us that he would. Therefore, the desk clerk in his exchange with us was not truthful. . The manager also advised me that they do provide assistance with luggage and we must not have requested the service or his employee must have been busy at the time. We were the only hotel guests in their registration area at the time, but the desk clerk informed the manager that there were other guests waiting so he could not assist us. The manager insisted that the billing was justified and insisted that he just didn't know what to say as no other customer had ever complained about their rooms. I do appreciate this website and only wish we had checked it before making our reservation as our experience seems to be similar to others already posted.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walnaldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaviewinn, General Manager at The Sea View Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2009
If you read this review posted by this previous guest, she states the front office person would not help her with the bags to her room. If fact the front office attendant had 2 people on hold with the phones and one person checking in and stated he would help them with their bags after he took care of the guest on the phone and checking in.
This guest wanted her bags in the room NOW not wait.
The review also states our penthouse has very little view of the ocean. If you look at the photo's on our website, you will see it's panoramic ocean view private deck that she didn't even know about she stated in a phone conversation after checking out.
From this room, you see the horizon ocean view, Catalina Island, Malibu, Santa Monica, and beach view with Surfers and sand views. I don't know how much more of a view she required. I have never had another guest say this in this room as well.
I think from the beginning, this guest not having her bags taken to her room upon immediate checking in had a negative view.

You can't please everyone, just the majority of our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

el a lot to LA for business and wanted a more unique stay since I would be there for Memorial Day weekend. The Sea View Inn is a clean, charmingly decorated spot right near the beach (my room had a view of the ocean) and is close to per diem in cost. Jim at the front desk helped me with a last minute change in plans that helped me keep my room for a few days and continue with my business travel. You can rent bikes, beach chairs, etc. so you can actually feel like you are taking a mini vacation. If you are a light sleeper and get a single bed room, you might want to wear ear plugs to block the swishing of cars on the main road. Other than that, the rooms make you feel like you are in a quaint beach house. Plantation blinds adorn the sliding glass door and window. Also, they require a few more days notice for cancellation than major chains, so be sure to mind that when making your reservation. You can walk to shopping, restaurants and the beach and feel like you are a local for a bit. Consider it for your next trip!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnyFLMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaviewinn, GM at The Sea View Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2009
Thanks you for your review!
Have a great day and hope to see you soon,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

Just got back from a trip to LA and we were so happy that we chose to stay here. It was the perfect location for what we wanted...access to LA with a rental car and walking distance to the beach. The hotel also provided free parking. The hotel provided towels, bikes, chairs, etc for the beach and this was the only hotel in the area within walking distance. Also within walking distance are great restaurants and shopping as well as the ability to take leisurely walks along the strand. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful and the rooms were simple, but very clean with a nice TV and an assortment of channels. All in all for the price paid, we had no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiLtraveler103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaviewinn, GM at The Sea View Inn at the Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2009
Thank you again!

Have a great SUMMER and hope to see you again!

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea View Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea View Inn at the Beach

Property: The Sea View Inn at the Beach
Address: 3400 Highland Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-3341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sea View Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Inn At The Beach is an intimate seaside hotel located just blocks from the Beach. And is the closet hotel to the sandy beaches and panoramic views of Manhattan Beach. The Sea View offers casual comfort, modern conveniences and features a "live like a local" atmosphere. Dine at local eateries, stroll eclectic shops or borrow one of our beach cruisers and cruise the beachfront bike path and enjoy the ocean views. Or relax and swim in our heated Outdoor Pool. We offer FREE Parking, Wifi, Bikes, Beach Towels, Beach Chairs, Beach Umbrella's & Beach Toys for the Kids. The Sea View Inn is located just minutes (3 miles) away from Los Angeles Airport,(LAX), 35 Minutes to Disneyland, 40 minutes to Universal Studios, 25 minutes to Downtown Los Angeles, and 30 minutes to Hollywood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Sea View Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Inn At The Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing