We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
Nearby Hotels
The Belamar Hotel(Manhattan Beach)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel(Manhattan Beach)(Great Value!)
$165
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach(Manhattan Beach)(Great Value!)
$169
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wave Hotel(Manhattan Beach)
$113
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crimson Hotel(Manhattan Beach)
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hi View Inn & Suites(Manhattan Beach)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Seahorse Inn Motel(Manhattan Beach)(Great Value!)
$110
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Shade Hotel(Manhattan Beach)(Great Value!)
$429
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveler rating
422
233
71
23
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
422
233
71
23
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach chairsboogie boardslocal yolkfree bikesthe north endhighland avenuefree beachbedroom apartmenttwo blocksshort walk to the beachwithin walking distancelove manhattanoffice staffstandard roombike rideperfect locationbeach cruisers
Filter
Updating list...
678 - 683 of 785 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2009

My niece made a reservation at the Sea View Inn the day before we were to arrive. She was told when making the reservation that the room had a view of the ocean and was the best available. The room was accessible only after climbing an open outdoor stairyway. We asked for assistance with our luggage and we were told that the service was not available. When entering the room there was a strong musty or moldy odor to all of the rooms and they did not feel or appear clean. All rooms had vinyl flooring and the bedspreads were of a heavy dark microfiber fabric that felt dusty and musty. The view of the ocean was over about three blocks of roof tops and provided little of the ambiance indicated as the reservation was made.. The deck for the 'view 'as described was very narrow and contained four plastic chairs. We went back to the person working at the front desk and told him the room was musty and smelled bad and that we were uncomfortable carrying the luggage up the open stairway. We requested that our charge be voided. After some discussion, he indicated that the charge was removed from our account. We then went to another hotel in Manhattan Beach who provided excellent accommodations. Upon returning home, I received my credit card bill with the $275 charge for the room at the Sea View Inn. I called the hotel to discuss the issue and request that the charge be removed. The manager advised that they have a "No cancellation policy" and that his desk clerk checked the room after we indicated it was musty and unclean. He told his manager that the room was fine and our complaint was not valid. The manager further indicated that no one has ever complained about this room and have, in fact, raved about the accommodations. He further stated that the desk clerk had no authority to cancel the credit card charge when he clearly indicated to us that he would. Therefore, the desk clerk in his exchange with us was not truthful. . The manager also advised me that they do provide assistance with luggage and we must not have requested the service or his employee must have been busy at the time. We were the only hotel guests in their registration area at the time, but the desk clerk informed the manager that there were other guests waiting so he could not assist us. The manager insisted that the billing was justified and insisted that he just didn't know what to say as no other customer had ever complained about their rooms. I do appreciate this website and only wish we had checked it before making our reservation as our experience seems to be similar to others already posted.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walnaldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaviewinn, General Manager at The Sea View Inn at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2009

If you read this review posted by this previous guest, she states the front office person would not help her with the bags to her room. If fact the front office attendant had 2 people on hold with the phones and one person checking in and stated he would help them with their bags after he took care of the guest on the phone and checking in.
This guest wanted her bags in the room NOW not wait.
The review also states our penthouse has very little view of the ocean. If you look at the photo's on our website, you will see it's panoramic ocean view private deck that she didn't even know about she stated in a phone conversation after checking out.
From this room, you see the horizon ocean view, Catalina Island, Malibu, Santa Monica, and beach view with Surfers and sand views. I don't know how much more of a view she required. I have never had another guest say this in this room as well.
I think from the beginning, this guest not having her bags taken to her room upon immediate checking in had a negative view.

You can't please everyone, just the majority of our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

el a lot to LA for business and wanted a more unique stay since I would be there for Memorial Day weekend. The Sea View Inn is a clean, charmingly decorated spot right near the beach (my room had a view of the ocean) and is close to per diem in cost. Jim at the front desk helped me with a last minute change in plans that helped me keep my room for a few days and continue with my business travel. You can rent bikes, beach chairs, etc. so you can actually feel like you are taking a mini vacation. If you are a light sleeper and get a single bed room, you might want to wear ear plugs to block the swishing of cars on the main road. Other than that, the rooms make you feel like you are in a quaint beach house. Plantation blinds adorn the sliding glass door and window. Also, they require a few more days notice for cancellation than major chains, so be sure to mind that when making your reservation. You can walk to shopping, restaurants and the beach and feel like you are a local for a bit. Consider it for your next trip!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnyFLMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaviewinn, GM at The Sea View Inn at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2009

Thanks you for your review!
Have a great day and hope to see you soon,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Just got back from a trip to LA and we were so happy that we chose to stay here. It was the perfect location for what we wanted...access to LA with a rental car and walking distance to the beach. The hotel also provided free parking. The hotel provided towels, bikes, chairs, etc for the beach and this was the only hotel in the area within walking distance. Also within walking distance are great restaurants and shopping as well as the ability to take leisurely walks along the strand. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful and the rooms were simple, but very clean with a nice TV and an assortment of channels. All in all for the price paid, we had no complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiLtraveler103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaviewinn, GM at The Sea View Inn at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2009

Thank you again!

Have a great SUMMER and hope to see you again!

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

I visit L.A. often for work and could stay anywhere on the company dime. I stay here because I dont feel like a tourist- I'm hanging out with the locals, jogging on the strand a mere three blocks away, or checking out the activity on Manhattan Beach Blvd (a 10-15 minute walk). Rooms 400- 404 are the best value in all of southern CA and have side balcony ocean views. The executive rooms in the #500 range are also great. Where else can you get a two room condo for less than $250 in this area??? There's a great local pizza joint (Manhattan Beach Pizza) and a cute little grocery store right there, not to mention a solid breakfast place (The Local Yolk) two doors down. James and his staff are the best and are ALWAYS accomodating and friendly. You want to be treated like a tourist and pay tourist rates? Go to the Four Seasons. You want to hang out and enjoy the local atmosphere of Manhattan Beach? Stay here.

Bob B., Napa, CA

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Napafit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We are a mom and dad and teenager who needed a room with two beds for one night while visiting a college in the area. We had room 8 . Our room was $150.00, and booked over the internet. The good: location near the beach, clean, boogie boards, sand pails and bikes to check out. Bed was comfortable. Flat Screen TV. Had a fun dinner at the pizza parlor across the street. The bad: tiny window faced the back alley. We were in a sort of back annex to the rear of the rather cute little stone decked pool. This place has at least four different buildings on four corners of 34th and Highland . I think the variety of experiences in these reviews has a lot to do with which room you end up in. So I recommend making a reservation by phone and asking lots of questions. If we had had a room with a balcony looking at the ocean (not too sure if they have rooms with two beds that have a view...) we would have had a better time. If the DIRECT TV had not had scrambled channels so we could not watch the NCAA tournament or the Lakers game we would have had a better time. Also, the Direct TV channels we could watch faded in and out of color and clarity. Our room was quiet regarding street noise although we could hear our neighbors through the wall.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fanomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaviewinn, GM at The Sea View Inn at the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2009

Thank you for your review.
We always ask guest to make reservation by phone so we can get you a room of your liking. As ALL other hotels, you have rooms with out views and this is why we suggest to make reservation over the phone knowing what you have reserved.

Regards to televisions and channels, this is why as of 4/1/09 I have switched to Time Warner Cable for our hotel. Directv is good for residential, but business not. We now have close to 100 channels and plenty for all who may stay with us.
Hope to see you again,
James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews