We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Sea View is Exactly That” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sea View Inn at the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sea View is Exactly That”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Squeeeeeky clean room, quiet, great shower, bed comfortable, A/C perfect, free parking. This was a terrific overnight location w lots of great restaurants within walking distance. Don't miss the Fish Bar!

I didn't get a chance to use the heated pool, bikes, chairs or beach towels, but the ocean was lovely, at sunset, and sunrise the next morning.

Highly recommend Sea View Inn as a much better alternative to the chain hotels in the area.

Room Tip: My room was recently refurbished. Ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barnabycrane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    176
    59
    21
    31
See reviews for
217
149
52
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

By reading various reviews of the Sea View Inn, and having a local friend come check out the place, we knew kind of what to expect when we arrived, which is to say exceptional service, a serviceable room, and a great location.

We stayed in a penthouse. The view was panoramic, the suite airy and clean, the beds comfortable, the kitchen well laid out, the bathroom spacious, the parking designated, and the pool attractive and clean. These attributes alone made the visit a good one--for us (and we're pretty picky).

What did we have to overlook (things that kept the suite from being exceptional), the tube TVs in bedroom, which were mounted high on the wall, the sliding pocket door to the bathroom that didn't slide all that well, the comfortable, but slightly worn furniture, the entry lock to the deck missing.

Before any of these negatives have you clicking off this page, read this: the front desk guys, (Brandon especially) would do anything to make your stay a good one: a stack of free towels for the beach, no problem; free beach chairs and umbrellas, how many do you want?; free bikes for the family, available anytime you want; off-street parking for guests, yes we have room today; more chairs for the deck, we’ll have them up there in a minute. If we had requested a newer couch, I suspect these guys would do whatever they could to make it happen--truly four-star service.

Add to these positives: easy access from the 405 freeway, safe feeling neighborhood, lots of great food and a spa within a couple blocks, the beach just down the hill, three minutes away; and I have to say that our overall impression was that we couldn’t wait to come back here again (and remember we’re picky).

Room Tip: This review is of the southern penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxPowersPHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I go back to the South Bay cities because my family has roots there, and because I just like it.

I took my young family there on a vacation post-Disneyland, and now we've been regulars at the Sea View Inn for almost 20 years (doing approximate math on our 20-something daughter). Our 2013 trip was just fine, thank you. As a Northern Californian who digs LA (yes, such people exist) I am grateful to have a place to hang on the beach but close enough to the museums -- hey people, LA has great museums; this is a culture town -- when I'm ready to get out of the sun. On a different scale, I've experienced $3,000/night rooms on St. Barth, and this ain't that, but the Sea View Inn rooms are perfectly OK, the Local Yolk is a few steps down the street for breakfast, the sand is just two blocks away, and you are IN an epicenter of Southern California beach culture. Share the dream.

On our most recent trip, we were faced with a regular checkout ahead of a nighttime flight. No problem. Beachtowels? Here you go. Umbrella? Right here. We were already checked out, but that did not matter. ALSO: A busy street runs through it. Sea View Inn has grown over time, taking over one small building after another. Ask. Some rooms are noisier than others. And a final double-note: The Sea View Inn is gay-friendly, a useful fact to know if you need that. But it is important also to say that the Sea View Inn does not project a single note that would jar a family experience, and I speak from long experience. This is a family hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very friendly and accommodating staff! We were only able to stay a short time, but we made the most of it. Free use of beach cruisers, beach towels, umbrella and chairs made for a wonderful day! We will definatly stay here again! Thank you!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AZtoAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed here with friends for one night. The hotel is literally 2 blocks from the beach and is in a great location with restaurants and shops nearby. There are beach chairs, beach towels and bikes to borrow - really great for a ride on the strand in the morning. Only a couple of cons - the room (especially the bathroom) was very small. It was a bit rundown/outdated, but clean. The pool is also a bit small, with only a few lounge chairs. All in all, we had a good time but I wonder if its a little pricey for what it is - I think its due for a renovation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nyu05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was my second year staying at the Sea View Inn. Last year, I was in a small room in the main building by the pool. This year, we were in an apartment above the bake shop. The apartment was plenty spacious and unique. Very clean and secure. There is a musty smell (as any old building would have) when you first go in, but if you open up the windows for a bit, all is well. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The location and price cannot be beat for Manhattan Beach (I've also stayed in a rental and Springhill Suites in MB)...three blocks down to the beach. There are also lots of restaurants nearby as well as a market. I love the fact that they lend you beach towels, umbrellas, bikes, etc. My only suggestion surrounds the bikes. I realize the supply of bikes is limited for use by all guests. However, it would be great to have a handful of them available for day-long rental in case you want to take it on a longer trek with a picnic lunch for the day in a neighboring town or similar adventure (given the difficult parking situation around the beach towns). In that case, the 3 hour limit isn't really enough. The Strand is an awesome places to do sightsee through all the towns. Maybe when you register, you can reserve one of the long-term bikes by the day(?). Otherwise, an awesome place I would totally recommend and go back to again and again. Thanks for another great visit! ; )

Room Tip: Lots of options available depending upon your group size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pgraner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stay in LA 30-60 nights per year on business/pleasure. Whether I am there by myself or with my family the Sea View Inn is my first choice. Location is just 2 blocks from the beach. There are plenty of restaurants and breakfast spots within walking distance. The hotel has everything from regular rooms with views/with no views to 1-2 bedroom "apartment-style" rooms with full kitchens. They have been doing a lot of renovation there lately and a lot of the rooms are recently updated. Staff are friendly, helpful, and really make you feel at home. I've recommended it to many friends and it has always been a winner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TokyoEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Manhattan Beach
1.7 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sea View Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sea View Inn at the Beach

Property: The Sea View Inn at the Beach
Address: 3400 Highlands Avenue, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Sea View Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea View Inn At The Beach is an intimate seaside hotel located just blocks from the Beach. And is the closet hotel to the sandy beaches and panoramic views of Manhattan Beach. The Sea View offers casual comfort, modern conveniences and features a "live like a local" atmosphere. Dine at local eateries, stroll eclectic shops or borrow one of our beach cruisers and cruise the beachfront bike path and enjoy the ocean views. Or relax and swim in our heated Outdoor Pool. We offer FREE Parking, Wifi, Bikes, Beach Towels, Beach Chairs, Beach Umbrella's & Beach Toys for the Kids. The Sea View Inn is located just minutes (3 miles) away from Los Angeles Airport,(LAX), 35 Minutes to Disneyland, 40 minutes to Universal Studios, 25 minutes to Downtown Los Angeles, and 30 minutes to Hollywood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Sea View Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea View Inn At The Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing