We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel for the family to stay in when on a business trip to LAX area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hotel for the family to stay in when on a business trip to LAX area.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for two weeks with family while on a business trip to LA. With my workplace in the National City Bank building on West Century Boulevard, the Residence Inn at N Sepulvada road, Manhattan Beach at a distance of 4.4 miles turned out to be an excellent place to stay. The hotel is close to the beach and to shopping areas such as Target Mall, Radio Shack, Best Buy Store and Manhattan Village shopping centre. The staff at the Inn provide free drop and pick up to any place within 3.5 miles, subject to availability of their vehicle. We found that the staff at the hotel were helpful and more often than not the vehicle was made available.
The room itself was neat and spacious. A queen side bed with good quality linen and pillows, table lamps provided the much needed comfort for sleep especially for someone struggling with jet lag. The room also had a refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher and adequate utensils, plates and cutlery to heat up or cook a meal when necessary. Breakfast was complimentary and in addition the hotel provided light supper on Monday to Wednesday evenings. Fare was typical american but nice and filling. Wednesday was Karoke night with Ron, one of the staff, crooning and encouraging the guests to join in. It made for a memorable stay at the Residence Inn. Availability of free parking, a gym, a jaccuzi, complimentary wi-fi were added attractions.
Had a really pleasant stay.

Room Tip: I guess block no 12 or 13 at the back were off the road and were peaceful and quiet. There was a bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaps185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind and generous review. We are thrilled your family was able to take pleasure in our location with its close proximity to all that Manhattan Beach has to offer. Our hotel enjoys a great location not only on Manhattan Beach, but to use as a base for exploring Los Angeles.
Your compliments on our accommodations are especially pleasing. Our rooms were recently renovated as of last summer and we’re so happy to hear that you benefited from our home away from home feel.
We are very proud to have Ron as part of our staff. He is a wonderful Engineering Manager as well as a fantastic DJ for our evening hospitality hour. We take pride in our associates and the personalized service they provide. He is certainly an asset to our team.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our property and we hope you and your family are able to visit us again!

Yours in hospitality
Kimberly Reyes
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    215
    54
    26
    20
See reviews for
203
88
33
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mountain house, calif
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great business stay! The location of the Residence is ideal. Close enough to the beach to enjoy yet far enough not to be distracted from your business. The staff was friendly, courteous, and cheerful accommodating every need. Many thanks to all of your staff! The remodeled rooms were large with kitchen and the beds comfortable. Easy access to and from the airport with restaurants, shopping, and movie theaters also close by if the beach is not for you. Thanks again to the Manhattan Beach Residence Inn for an enjoyable stay in Southern California.

Room Tip: Even though you come off along trip try and be cheerful and have a good attitude. Be as nice to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcarrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback and thoughtful review! Our unique hotel features and central location are certainly a benefit and we take pride in exceeding our guests expectations from reservation to departure. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us here in Manhattan Beach.
Please know that we appreciate your business and would like to welcome you back again one day.

Yours in hospitality
Kimberly Reyes
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This motel was chosen for its reasonable closeness to LA and family.
The rooms are are in blocks of eight (four up and four down). Found out later why this can be a problem,
Free parking next to unit was convenient.
Ours was a ground floor unit. Found the room quite large, but there is no separation between bed and living area.
There were no luggage racks and no information manual.
Large kitchen which we didn't get to use.
Otherwise all seemed to be in order and as expected. Good HD TV.
Office desk and free WiFi was very welcome.
Bathroom was OK but would have liked a few more clothes hooks.

Then came the evening and the noise began. It seems there is no sound insulation in the ceiling.
We had a herd of elephants/children above who jumped and ran about until about 10pm until they were told to shut up by the management after a call from us. They started up again at 7am.
There is also little respite from noisy guests walking past the unit at any time.
The final straw was the alarm which went off at 5am. Possibly a little joke by the previous quest.
Breakfast was reasonable, but closes too early for those on vacation and want/need to sleep in. We nearly missed out.
We cut short our stay and left. Found another much better Marriott at SpringHill Suites, and at a much better price.
This one is definitely over priced.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor for convenience. Insist on empty unit above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

CALL first and ask questions. They are doing construction, the front half of the property is noisy, the pool is closed and breakfast was in a tent.

The staff was very nice and tried to accommodate us with a room in back. But we were on the ground floor with a herd of elephants upstairs and some sort of hockey team running amok in the parking lots and around the apartments like they were some sort of obstacle course. We slept so badly that we decided to check out early.

I also thought the room was incredibly expensive for a much smaller room than I am used to at Residence Inn. With three of us in the room and the sofa bed open, we barely had room to walk around. Our bed seemed small for a queen or maybe just because it sagged in the middle.

I am a Marriott rewards member so we moved to the Springhill Suites a mile away and that was much nicer--bright, quiet, huge new bed and cheaper, too.

I want to emphasize that the staff at both properties were friendly and sympathetic. It was just a bad situation that was somewhat beyond their control.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
On behalf of our hotel, please accept our sincerest apologies for your unpleasant stay at our hotel.

We strive to ensure that all of our guests experience the best visit possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. With hockey team children ranging in ages from 7-14 years of age and their families occupying a third of our property, it was certainly a challenge keeping their enthusiasm within acceptable limits. With the renovation to our front office, “Gatehouse” building, we have moved our complimentary full hot buffet breakfast to our “Hollywood Tent/Pavilion”. This temporary structure is constructed with hard glass walls and doors and offers over 1000 square feet of guest dining experience, complete with carpet, heating and a 52 Inch TV. Our intent is to make the transition to our new Gatehouse as seamless as possible. Our hotel just completed a full room renovation in June of 2012, including all new beds and sofa beds. I assure you the problem regarding the comfort of your bed was an isolated incident and has been addressed.

While I am also sorry to hear that you departed earlier than planned, thank you for choosing another property within the Marriott brand. We take pride in the service all our Marriott family staff brings to our guests and I'm pleased to see they were able to address your experience in a memorable manner.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and concerns. We're committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.

Yours in hospitality
Edward Torices, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

5 minutos away from the Manhattan Beach pier. Nice and clean Room with a quite full kitchen. Great breakfast with new options every day. 20 minutos away from LA. If you want to be close to LA but in a quiet and beautiful place the Manhattan beach Residence inn is your best choice!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a lot if luggage, ask for a Room on the street level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosajulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Manager at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Rosajulia,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TA! The team always loves to hear from one of our guests. I am delighted to learn that you took advantage of our close proximity to popular destinations. I trust you enjoyed your time in beautiful Manhattan Beach, as the weather has been exceptionally beautiful this time of year!

Once again thank you for sharing your most experience on TA. If you are ever back in the area, please do not hesitate to look us up! We LOVE welcoming back old friends!

Yours in Hospitality,

Edward Torices
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellen
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here 10 days before we moved to a new home in Northern Ca. It s recommended because of the good hot breakfasts, the convenient laundry and parking, very friendly staff. We did some cooking in the evening and the kitchen had everything we needed. Dishwasher is a nice touch. The two level residence is quite nice, with the loft very comfortable. We will come back when we visit our old home, Manhattan Beach.

Room Tip: Back of the complex, away from Sepulceda Blcd., is best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corkiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

then you'll be pleased with this hotel. The room was lovely (I chose one with a fireplace), the front desk personnel (at least when I checked in) was friendly, and I was happy with the free Wi-Fi, free parking, and free breakfast. If it weren't for the noise, I'd definitely stay here again.

However.....the noise from the upstairs really carries thru the floor if you're staying on ground level. Especially when you have a loft suite above (which is meant to accommodate 4+ people). Imagine how noisy it is when there are 13 people above you in one room!! That was my experience. They were quite noisy, and I started calling the front desk at ~10pm to ask what could be done. They promised to call them and advise they'd had complaints and request that they quiet down, but also said that if they didn't quiet down, call back and they would evict them, as they had a zero tolerance for parties in rooms.

I waited an hour and a half and called back, but now a different person was on the front desk, and he said let me call them and if they don't quiet down, we'll evict them. I said that's what I was told the first time I called. He didn't seem willing to do more than call again, so I said I hope that fixes the problem.

I was still wide awake at 12:30am from all the noise, so called the front desk, and this time he agreed to evict them. I looked out the window and watched 12 girls come downstairs in short shorts and little else, getting into 2-3 different cars and leaving. Then the one guy came down and left w/some other friends.

After that, it took me awhile to fall asleep, and the next day I kept thinking, if they had evicted them when promised, I would have had at least 7 hrs of sleep. Instead I was dragging all the next day.

When I checked out, I was surprised that the front desk clerk never asked how was my stay, etc. Maybe they have such problems all the time and would rather not hear the customer's response.

If you stay here, request an upstairs room.

Room Tip: Upstairs should be less noisy than ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank becca-n-sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We sincerely appreciate your review, Becca n-sd. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We are delighted you were pleased with our newly renovated rooms and the warm hospitality of our staff at check-in. We also love that you enjoyed the complimentary services such as wi-fi, parking, and breakfast. Thank you!

Because our goal is not only to meet but exceed our guests expectations, I earnestly apologize for the prompt attention we failed to achieve with regard to the noise you experienced. Because of your feedback, we can implement improvements such as increased communicating between staff and shifts and continued follow up with guests who were not provided with the service they deserve.

We sincerely appreciate your business and look forward to your return to our hotel so that we may have another opportunity to provide you with exceptional service.

Yours in hospitality
Kimberly Reyes
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
697 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
503 reviews
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Property: Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Address: 1700 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Los Angeles Lax/Manhattan Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Residence Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing