We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is perfect, good service clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Location is perfect, good service clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I had stayed at this location for about 5 weeks before relocating to Florida. The location is what makes this hotel a very good choice. Bike riders (Bicycles) will will have easy access to the bike path which extends all the way to Santa Monica. Plenty of Beach shopping and restaurants. Many restaurants are available from very casual to more formal (expensive). Beaches are a short drive away. Manhattan Beach downtown area is very walkable but a little hilly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    191
    46
    21
    13
See reviews for
173
75
32
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
122 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I just wanted to write about the beautiful room and hotel I got this weekend at the Residence Inn Manhattan Beach. It was still pleasant even though there was construction going on.
I went to an aunt’s birthday in Redondo and it was so close to the hotel.
I came in from the party at 11p and was stunned at the size and beauty of the room!
It had 2 beds, 2 bathrooms, a full kitchen and living room and dining (ask for it but be ready to pay a bit more but totally worth it!) It is great for friends and family and will easily sleep 6.
Great for small parties or family bonding moments! The loft has an upstairs full bed, closet and bathroom as well, and you can see everyone from above! The ground floor bedroom opens up but has doors for privacy. It was a pity I just crashed for the night and left the following morning.
The room itself is a destination and I wished I brought friends and family to enjoy the loft suite and will definitely come back when can.I loved the home feel of a suite, yet had all the amenities-flat screen TVs, Paul Mitchell toiletries, hi speed internet. I slept very well.
Parking and internet are free, and safe at night when guards patrol the area, which is still a
safe neighborhood.
The hotel is very centrally located-very close to LAX, yet doesn’t feel like an airport hotel and have the peace and quiet of a beachside property. It is a great alternative to the hotels on Century Blvd.
I met a friend for lunch at beautiful Redondo Pier and we were there in a few minutes.
Check out all the fresh seafood cooked to your liking!
It is also very close to all the massive shopping at Manhattan Village Mall and El Segundo. Also next to my favorite stores Target, convenient Walgreen’s and the very delicious Cuban restaurant Versailles!
I will surely recommend this hotel to LAX travelers, as well as families or friends who want a weekend get away!

Room Tip: Ask for the loft suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichieSel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, Richie Sei! We appreciate your sincere review and are so happy you enjoyed our location and all the great activities and sites our city has to offer. We also pride ourselves in offering a home away from home so it's thrilling to find that our guests, such as yourself, enjoyed the experience. We look forward to your return with friends and family so that they may enjoy the loft suite as well.

Yours in hospitality
Kimberly Reyes
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Quiet neighborhood
10 minutes south of LAX on Sepulveda Boulevard Stay off the freeway!!!!
Close to Manhattan Beach and Redondo Beach
Bikes to ride from the hotel to the beaches
Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby
Sports bar (Grunions) across the street. Mike is the friendly proprieter there!
Props to the Residence Inn staff: Ron and his karaoke most weeks, Myra, Mary, Jennifer, and Patty
Thanks for making me feel like family! I will always stay here when I come out for business in nearby Torrance or anywhere in the LA area! Great place to embark from on a California vacation too!

Room Tip: All of them are great, even next to the boulevard. Quiet cozy rooms!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your phenomenal comments, Mark S! Being minutes from the beach and nearby activities, such as Grunions, is certainly a plus. We all agree, Ron is certainly an asset to our team as is Myra, Mary, Jennifer and Patty. We are so happy you were able to experience our outstanding staff. It was our pleasure to meet your standard of accomodations so please visit us again soon!

Yours in Hospitality
Kimberly Reyes
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Overall a great price. I felt it was a little pricy, but still a great stay at comparable rates for other hotels. They were currently under construction for their new building. Free breakfast, free parking and free wifi is always a plus. The wifi didn't work that great though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Front Desk Supervisor at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you, Tyler D, we appreciate your business and nice comments! We are happy to see that you felt the pricing was worth it. Our complimentary services and our newly renovated rooms are certainly a plus. Af the beginning of the Front Office renovation late September, we did have a few network interruptions because the servers were being relocated. We suspect this was what may have affected your wifi speed during your stay. For this, we sincerely apologize.

We look forward to the completion of our front office and breakfast area renovation in April. We hope to see you again by that time or even before!

Yours in hospitality
Kimberly Reyes
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have stayed at Residence Inns' in other states and have been very impressed. This experience was quite a disappointment. Here is a summary of our experience.

The good:
Location is close to Target, plenty of restaurants and not far from Manhattan Beach
The staff was very friendly!!
The room was clean (except the smell) with modern decor
Full kitchen, well stocked
EXCELLENT BREAKFAST

The disappointments:
The pool was completely torn up the entire time we were there
Although the room was clean it smelled like animals (we even moved to another room which smelled equally as bad)
The closet in the downstairs bedroom stunk of animal so bad we lived out of our suitcases the entire time we were there
The BBQ grill was dirty, nasty dirty
As other reviews stated, the soundproofing is poor so if you are a light sleeper take warning
The "courtyard" of our building (11) was not inviting at all. We anticipated being able to sit out there, BBQ and enjoy the California weather
The upstairs bathroom vent did not work
3 out of the 4 room keys we got did not work
That evening when we went to chill and watch TV we could not get a clear picture on the TV in the livingroom. We checked the connections, didn't help. (We did not even bother to report it as by this time we were pretty much over it all. We normally don't do that but we were so disappointed by the room change, keys not working and the smells we were just done)

Although it's always a disappointment when your hotel doesn't live up to your expectations, it was even more so as we had anticipated spending time at the pool, BBQ'ing, etc. The pictures on the hotel website are a far cry from property we experienced. We do a fair amount of traveling (especially my husband) and sometimes the pictures are a bit skewed but these were pretty far off.

Total bummer!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1tranquilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Residence_Inn_MB_AGM, Front Office Supervisor at Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We appreciate your honest evaluation, 1tranquilgirl. While we are thrilled you enjoyed the location, staff, clean room and breakfast, we sincerely apologize, on behalf of our entire team, for not exceeding your expectations. Please know that your satisfaction is important to us and I will be using your feedback to review the events of your stay with all of our associates so as to implement improvements for a better guest experience in the future.

Yours in hospitality
Kimberly Reyes
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis MO
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The property is a typical updated Residence Inn. The rooms have clearly been updated with modern furnishings and decor.

However it is clear that corners were cut when the property was originally built in the soundproofing areas. You could hear everything going on outside and in neighboring units: bathroom fans, dishwashers, people walking, television/music, flushing toilets, doors closing etc. I've stayed in other Residence Inn properties and this seems to be among the worst I've experienced with this issue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dweebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is nice, the desk clerks were very friendly, they had a very good breakfast buffet and the rooms were clean (with the exception of some microwave cookware in the cabinet that appeared to have cooked food stuck on it), and the decor is modern. However, sleeping was difficult due to being able to hear many sounds from the room above ours. I could even hear a child talking. Some additional soundproofing is needed, in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank historyz-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.4 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Manhattan Beach
0.7 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#5 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach

Property: Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Address: 1700 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Los Angeles Lax/Manhattan Beach Hotel Manhattan Beach
Residence Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing