We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel, not impressed with the reception and bar staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ok hotel, not impressed with the reception and bar staff.”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I try only to stay at Marriott hotels since I have Gold Elite status there. Upon check-in the front desk gave us a terrible room with a view of the roof and the air conditioning wasn't working properly. The front desk didn't explain my member benefits nor tell me where breakfast was or how to access the internet. I'm supposed to get a nice view room and on a higher floor with having Gold Status but I got neither at this hotel. We went to the bar and it took over 10 minutes for the bartender to ask for our drink order. The hotel lobby is beautiful and the location is only 3 miles from Manhatten Beach which is nice. I think if they had better customer service I'd give them a much better rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor or else you will have a view of the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your experience. Our rewards members are valued guests and your loyalty to Marriott is greatly appreciated. We strive to ensure our Elite Members receive the best rooms available and our focus on service is paramount to our reputation as a Hotel. Our goal at the Manhattan Beach Marriott is to create an environment that is conducive to a productive and relaxing experience. We appreciate your honest feedback as it helps us to maintain and improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    261
    138
    52
    33
See reviews for
146
128
41
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I was looking for a place to hole up overnight between flights, preferably away from the airport but still within easy driving distance. I booked a rate here that included a $50 dining credit. The location is in a jungle of strip malls and office parks, but is quiet and convenient to many restaurants. The room could have used updating. But the staff was really friendly and professional. Food at the restaurant was surprisingly good, and not the usual Marriott menu. I will be coming back.

Room Tip: The rooms are alike, but one side has a view of a golf course, and the other overlooks offices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_3B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Manhattan Beach Marriott for your recent stay! We are very pleased to hear that you found our location near the airport convenient, enjoyed our restaurant, and that our friendly and professional staff exceeded your expectations. We take great pride in our guest services. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is amazing!!! My boyfirend and I travel to the Manhattan Beach area once a year, and this is the place that we always stay at! The staff in the bar is great; they always remember us by name which is impressive in itself, but they also always entertain and accomadate us! They are one of the main reasons that we continue to return. The hotel itself is updated and very clean and the views of the golf course are incredible! This hotel is one of kind!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleeA87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you continue to enjoy your experience at the Manhattan Beach Marriott! Thank you for your positive comments on the hotel, the views of the golf course, and our staff. We take great pride in our guest services and we are glad to hear that our staff members have made such a positive impression on you. We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westminster,co
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I picked this hotel for it's Golf course checked out early for lack of amenities and high prices. When you pull up right away you are impressed with landscaping. They have a round about for Valet and parking garage. The problem I have is that you have to pay to park even as a guest which seems silly to me.
The lobby and reception is open with a nice lounge area and bar. Theres a set of stairs and if you go down them you'll find the restaurant. They were supposed to have a buffet that was included but for some odd reason they decided not to open it. They did serve food off there menu but I'm sorry I'm not paying 14.00$ for pancakes at a place that isn't Vegas. I find it insulting they think they can charge that kind of prices at a place like this. That was one of the reasons we checked out early. The property as a whole is amazing with a nice par 3 golf course and outdoor heated pool (which was warm) and small workout area. Our room was also nice (kinda small) but nice. Another reason we left early is you have to pay for WiFi per day. Again a place like this you shouldn't have to pay to park or WiFi. The one thing that would bring me back was the customer service. Every employee I came across was friendly and curtious. Jess she went above and beyond to help us. Even when I was checking out the lady at reception was overly friendly and took care of our parking fees and hooked me up with bonus miles. I do realize even though I didn't pay for parking or WiFi the fact they even charge you gets my goose. The awesome golf course and amazing service I would give them a second chance if I ever decided to play there course again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank willieb303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our lobby area, golf course, and pool. It is wonderful to hear that our customer service exceeded your expectations and look forward to sharing your comments with our staff. We also appreciate your honest feedback on parking, breakfast, and WiFi. We will certainly pass your comments along to management, as your feedback is a priceless tool in helping us to maintain and improve our guest experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated in the ideal place for a layover of a few days. The general experience was very good, from the time you check in, to the restaurant and lounge area. Staff are friendly and they appear to be happy to serve they clientele.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank trimbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Manhattan Beach Marriott! Thank you for your positive comments on the hotel location, the check-in process, our restaurant and lounge area, and our staff members! We are very proud of our guest services. Thank you writing a review and we hope to be able to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This hotel was definitely a 5 star establishment and was more of a country club golf stay. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. The views over the golf course were great, but no beach in sight. The weekend breakfast was good but not fantastic and evening meals were served in a sub standard area beside the noisy bar. It appeared the hotel wanted to sell drinks and not food. The food was reasonable but very expensive. The lobby was huge and looked expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Manhattan Beach Marriott! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and view of the golf course. We also appreciate your honest feedback on the weekend breakfast and dining area, which we will pass your comments along to management. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Hotel is very nice more like business oriented. Arrival was great, Valets were very helpful. Surprised to see that they aren't part of Marriott. But they give such a great service. Unlike there bellmens. Valet was busy when I arrived but yet they managed to help me. I told them I wanted a bellmen. They said they would help, which was nice but you would expect Valet to take car of car not help with luggage, so I insisted on a bellmen. Bellmen came out 10 minutes after and was very rude. It seemed that he didn't want to help. But yet expected a gratitude, after that horrible service. I think its weird how you have staff that aren't Marriott give you a better service than Marriott's own employees. If bellmen treated me like this, I can imagine how other people got treated. And another issue is that wifi isn't free, usually wifi is free.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrobert8701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
0.5 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
754 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
701 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Beach Marriott

Property: Manhattan Beach Marriott
Address: 1400 Parkview Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manhattan Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an energetic atmosphere, stylish guest rooms and resort-style amenities when you choose the Manhattan Beach Marriott for your next vacation or business trip. Located in the upscale South Bay area, our hotel sits on 26 beautifully landscaped acres just 3 miles south of Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Guests at our Manhattan Beach hotel will enjoy easy access to a variety of restaurants, the Redondo Beach Performing Arts Center and the Manhattan Beach Pier. Indulge in fresh California cuisine at our View Restaurant and specialty cocktails at our Escape Lounge. Active travelers will appreciate our hotel's sparkling outdoor swimming pool, 9-hole golf course and state-of-the-art health club. Our hotel in Manhattan Beach, CA also offers 25,000 square feet of event space for meetings and weddings. Whether you're on a family vacation, romantic couples getaway or important business trip, the Manhattan Beach Marriott aims to exceed your every expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manhattan Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Beach Marriott Hotel Manhattan Beach
Marriott Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing