We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip. The positives are the proximity to LAX, the restaurant, and the friendliness of the staff. The negatives were the unusable wifi (dial-up would have been quicker) and the cost of parking. Rooms were nothing special, TV picture was terrible. I'd stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ibeplato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your observations of the Manhattan Beach Marriott and taking the time to review the property. Our location and proximity to great restaurants, airport, beach and shopping venues is truly a plus to staying with us. I am very happy to inform you that the hotel is in the process of upgrading the internet infrastructure in the hotel and should have this complete by mid January. In addition - HD equipment is being installed over the next couple of weeks so that all of our guests can enjoy in room entertainment at the highest level. I hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future so that you can experience these new upgrades to our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    261
    137
    50
    31
See reviews for
142
128
41
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pt. Pleasant, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had 3 very pleasant nights at the Manhattan Beach Marriott. We spent two days at the Breeders Cup at Santa Anita, and while this hotel was bit of a hike to and from the track each day, it was less than one mile from our friends' home (who were joining us at the races both days.)

The hotel is very convenient to LAX, as well as the many shopping centers, supermarkets, restaurants in the area. There are actually two supermarkets within walking distance from the hotel, the Bristol Farms market was particularly nice.

We arrived about 6 PM on a Thursday night and were able to take advantage of the Concierge Lounge for snacks, desserts, and a glass of wine (which you do pay for.) The food was good and plentiful. On Friday morning, we also had the hot breakfast in the lounge, which once again was great. Eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, granola, pastries, etc. On Saturday and Sunday mornings, the lounge was open for breakfast only, although it was continental style (no hot foods, except for oatmeal.) As usual, there were plenty of free daily newspapers available, plus of course, bottled water, soda, coffee, tea.

The front desk clerk who checked us in was extremely friendly and helpful, as was the Bell Desk team. The lobby is large and attractive - typical of most full service Marriott's. We did have drinks one evening at the lobby bar, where service was attentive.

Our King Bed room was large and clean. We weren't in it much, so the most critical thing for us was the comfortable bed and good shower pressure. The room décor was just okay, we both felt it looked a little tired. We were staying on Cat 4 certificates (booked before the hotel went to a Cat 5) so our 3 nights were free - except for the parking fee. None of the other Marriott properties in the area (except right next to the airport) charge a parking fee. I found it just silly to charge $21. To be honest, we probably could have easily parked in the adjacent shopping center parking lot, but since we were staying for free - we paid the fee.

We didn't use the pool or gym, but they both looked nice. We did go jogging on a great wood chip trail through Manhattan Beach and along their strand (the boardwalk along the ocean.) Very nice!

If the parking fee was eliminated, I would most likely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jtwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Glad to hear that you had a nice and relaxing stay! I appreciate your comments regarding our friendly staff as that is our most valued asset. We hope to see you again the next time you visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just returned from 5 nights at this great hotel. It was our second visit. Upon entering the hotel, you are greeted by a warm and welcoming lobby environment. So California! Our room was lovely -- overlooking the golf course. Couldn't ask for a nicer vista. Beds were comfortable and the room actually had drawers where we could unpack our clothing. So many hotels don't have this very basic necessity. The breakfast food is a bit expensive, but the setting both indoors and out is so pleasant. My family loved the pool and the surrounding area. The staff were friendly and helpful. If we return to Los Angeles, we will surely stay again in this great hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with the golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyRNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Manhattan Beach Marriott is sort of a misnomer, as it is not really close to the beach. In fact, it is likely on the outer most-skirts of Manhattan Beach, closer to Lawndale than the beach. Located in a somewhat industrial type setting, it is fairly close to Fry’s Electronics, and an entertainment complex of sorts is within walking distance which includes a McCormick & Schmicks and Arclight Theater.

Despite it’s semi-industrial and corporate location parking is a shocking $18 night.

Upon entering the hotel from the self-parking garage, after passing a number of ballrooms the front desk is located to the right. Check-in was efficient. All Marriott Platinum amenities were clearly explained, including the fact that the Concierge Lounge was actually open for breakfast on the weekends. I inquired about the weekend hours, but apparently the lounge is only open for breakfast. As the lounge was closed when I checked-in, I was given several bottles of water.

I was given a room on the Concierge Lounge level with a room overlooking the hotel’s Executive Par 3 Golf Course. A somewhat pleasant surprise for a hotel in this area to have its own golf course, even if it is a pitch and putt course.

Upon entering the room, the bathroom is on the right. There is a single sink with ample counter space. There are Bath & Body Works toiletries, which are slightly better than hotel branded products.

There is a shower/tub combo with good water pressure and temperature.

The bedroom is fairly spacious with plenty of space to maneuver around the two beds in the room. Unfortunately, outlets are not conveniently located next to either bed. The beds are somewhat firm and slightly uncomfortable for my taste.

There is a wooden dresser with a flat screen TV on it. Although channels are somewhat limited, there are enough options to pass the time.

The desk is on the smaller size, and has the “under desk” that seems to be a fixture in many of Marriott’s properties. Although it does “expand” the size and work area of the desk, this does not seem very convenient for me when I am working. Although I do like a lot of desk space, the configuration of this set up does not work for me.

The coffee maker was placed on the desk, which made the working space even tighter.

There is a small sitting area in the corner, which probably does not get much use except for people using it to hang their clothes or place their suitcase on the chair.

Although Marriott now has a policy of having the Concierge Lounge open in many of their properties on the weekend for breakfast, I did not have a chance to visit the lounge on this visit.

If given the option, I would almost always choose to have breakfast in the restaurant rather than a lounge.

The Manhattan Beach Marriott is a clean, comfortable hotel located fairly close to the airport. I had a pleasant stay here, but wish the parking fee was a little lower.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheMysteryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, FL
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Other reviews were spot on with issues with this hotel. The parking is expensive. The rooms are nice with HD Tv's but you get a low res image on all channels. The concierge room is nice, funky coffe maker. just got old hearing the lady tell everyone, many times that she has worked there for 17 years.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank G8ter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

One's options in LA are always limited by where you want to spend your time (and how much of it is in the car). The Manhattan Beach Marriott is surprisingly well located vis-a-vis LAX Santa Monica and has quick access to the highways.

The hotel itself itself is very uninspiring. The rooms adequate the staff pleasant but clearly the clientele is mainly business types, and (while I was there at least) clearly used as a small meeting venue.

The small bar/restaurant was a nice option at the end of the day but rather expensive and mediocre food for the value (but no surprise there).

Room Tip: All are more or less the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank centrepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Self-park: $21 (it's not like the hotel is located in downtown LA)
Booked a room for 4 people, got 2 beds smaller than queen size ($149/room)
Internet: $13/day
Bottle of water in the room: $3.5
+ non-friendly lady at the front desk
+ spider in the bathroom

They are trying too hard to be a 'luxury' hotel. It's just too pretentious for what it really is.

Room Tip: Ask for Golf course view. Despite the fact the hotel is huge, you don't get the view on the Golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vil01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
0.5 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
749 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Beach Marriott

Property: Manhattan Beach Marriott
Address: 1400 Parkview Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manhattan Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an energetic atmosphere, stylish guest rooms and resort-style amenities when you choose the Manhattan Beach Marriott for your next vacation or business trip. Located in the upscale South Bay area, our hotel sits on 26 beautifully landscaped acres just 3 miles south of Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Guests at our Manhattan Beach hotel will enjoy easy access to a variety of restaurants, the Redondo Beach Performing Arts Center and the Manhattan Beach Pier. Indulge in fresh California cuisine at our View Restaurant and specialty cocktails at our Escape Lounge. Active travelers will appreciate our hotel's sparkling outdoor swimming pool, 9-hole golf course and state-of-the-art health club. Our hotel in Manhattan Beach, CA also offers 25,000 square feet of event space for meetings and weddings. Whether you're on a family vacation, romantic couples getaway or important business trip, the Manhattan Beach Marriott aims to exceed your every expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manhattan Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Beach Marriott Hotel Manhattan Beach
Marriott Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing