We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the Dumpy Side... Won't Return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“On the Dumpy Side... Won't Return”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed there for a business meeting expecting this to be of the standard Marriott quality. We were disappointed by the low quality of the rooms. Specifically, the carpeting, the dingy walls, the major need for renovation. There are too many choices in the area-- especially at this price point. We won't be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We're disappointed that you feel this way. We're sending you a private message now. Thanks for writing your thoughts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    256
    134
    47
    30
See reviews for
141
123
40
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My family partnership has been staying there since 2000. It has had a few upgrades. The pool and whirpool has stayed the same. The breakfast buffet used to have more choices. They got rid of the lox a few years ago.I went to the gift shop. The woman did not greet us or say hi. She didnt even try to sell us anything. I thought what poor customer service.
The computers in the business center are free now. That was nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us over the past decade! We're happy you were able to take advantage of our free business center. We really appreciate your continued business, and we look forward to having you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Indiana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I spent a single evening at the Manhattan Beach Marriott before an early morning flight.

Parking was easy, check-in was quick and the room was clean and extremely comfortable.

My favorite aspect was the close proximity to a running trail that begins a few blocks away and winds its way to the Manhattan Beach pier. That was a huge plus for me.

I was here for business, but this would be a great place for personal travel too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gcmanke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Nice! You found the running trail to the beach, awesome! We hope you come stay with us again. Thanks for the write up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel to stay that has quick access to LAX this is it!! A gentleman named Taylor did everything he could to ensure a perfect stay. This included many special, personalized touches. One gets a true resort feeling at this hotel. If you are from NYC you will feel a sense of space which is always a good thing. Macys is also nearby. Thank you Taylor for everything!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We'll be sure to let Taylor know you mentioned him! We hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel clearly caters to the business traveler. Since I was there on business, it worked fine for me, but I wouldn't recommend this place for a family. Be advised that parking is $21/day and internet in your room is wired and costs $12.95/day. Rooms are nice and beds are comfy; decent shower. Good gift shop. Service and food are very good, and it's just three miles from LAX, so as I said, it's best for business. If you are in the area for a family vacation, best to go to the Marriott Residence Inn down the road.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thanks for staying with us for business, we hope you come play with us sometime. The beach is just a mile away and we've got a golf course on the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We recently stayed here for one week combining business and pleasure. It was an excellent hotel for a business conference and conveniently located (walking distance) to many restaurants and a movie theater. A tour bus picked us up at the front door, and we were able to rent a town car to do some touring as well. This was definitely the way to tour. Not only was the hotel beautiful and clean, the desk staff, valets, and concierges were extremely personable, friendly, and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Carlos the Account Manager was especially helpful and went way beyond the call of duty to make our stay extra special. We have taken several business/pleasure trips in the last 5 years to places such as Tampa, Boston, New Orleans, and San Diego and we have never experienced such warmth, friendly, and professional attentiveness making our stay at the Manhattan Beach Marriott most enjoyable and memorable. We are returning this summer with our entire family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomLisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks so much for your review! We're glad you got to mix business with pleasure and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a rather typical Marriott. The rooms are comfortable, the staff is friendly. Beds are very good. But all in all there's nothing that I can think of that really makes it stand out from other properties--neither good nor bad. Rooms are average size, bathrooms are larger than many, beds as comfortable as any other Marriott. There's enough closet space, and the amenities are exactly what you'd expect. The room is well-furnished.

The lobby is very nice, but I didn't spend much time there.

All in all, I'd gladly return to this hotel, but I would not consider it "a destination."

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJOWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff H, General Manager at Manhattan Beach Marriott, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us - we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manhattan Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Beach Marriott

Property: Manhattan Beach Marriott
Address: 1400 Park View Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manhattan Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an energetic atmosphere, stylish guest rooms and resort-style amenities when you choose the Manhattan Beach Marriott for your next vacation or business trip. Located in the upscale South Bay area, our hotel sits on 26 beautifully landscaped acres just 3 miles south of Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Guests at our Manhattan Beach hotel will enjoy easy access to a variety of restaurants, the Redondo Beach Performing Arts Center and the Manhattan Beach Pier. Indulge in fresh California cuisine at our View Restaurant and specialty cocktails at our Escape Lounge. Active travelers will appreciate our hotel's sparkling outdoor swimming pool, 9-hole golf course and state-of-the-art health club. Our hotel in Manhattan Beach, CA also offers 25,000 square feet of event space for meetings and weddings. Whether you're on a family vacation, romantic couples getaway or important business trip, the Manhattan Beach Marriott aims to exceed your every expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Manhattan Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Beach Marriott Hotel Manhattan Beach
Marriott Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing