We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No thrills hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No thrills hotel”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

The Manhattan Beach Marriott was chosen by my US colleague hosting our conference and I tend to believe that one cannot do too much wrong by choosing one of the leading hotel brands.

One reason for choosing this hotel was the relative proximity to the Los Angeles airport and it is indeed close by, the taxi ride only took about 15 minutes. The hotel itself is functional, nothing too fancy if you ask me. The check in process was done professionally and quick, the room I got was spacious and roomy. The thing I had to struggle with was that the air-condition had been set so low that it felt like a blizzard. It was completely impossible to sleep, however, despite of my best efforts I couldn't find the control panel to up the temperature and off the fan so I had to call for help. The house technician showed up shortly after my call but initially had the same issue I had - he couldn't find the control panel. Luckily this was only initially so he finally succeeded in the end and ended my ordeal.

The neighborhood of the hotel is sort of boring, lots of office buildings which are deserted after office hours. Nevertheless there are some good restaurants within walking distance. I also wonder how one could get away from the hotel without a car, public transport seems not to be available somewhere close.

The hotel is great for golfers (course is right next to the hotel), good for buiness travelers but not so advisable for tourists wanting to explore Los Angeles.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehamburgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    261
    137
    50
    31
See reviews for
142
128
41
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I have stayed here many times and the courtesy, service and comfort is consistent with the Marriott name. The location is close to the beach and many fine restaurants, not to mention the hotel restaurant, and you don't have to fight the freeway traffic.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasGuy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We thought this hotel was very nice. We bid thru priceline, so for us it was a very good value. The pool and hot tub were really nice. The golf course next to the hotel made for a nice setting. The parking is $17 plus tax a night and there is no place to park nearby that is free.

Room Tip: Ask for view over pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EyeLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bostonn
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

This hotel was overall good. The entrance and lobby were beautiful, and this hotel has access to a golf course ( even though i dont golf, i can appreciate the nice view).

I was immediately recognized as a gold member and was granted access to the executive lounge. The room i had did not come with a fridge, but since i had requested one in my profile, they immediately placed a small fridge in my room. as i enetered my room, i was given a courtesy call to see if the fridge had arrived and i needed more items. I asked for a corckscrew and 4 glassess of wine, and they were brought up to my room immediately.

my room was facing the golf course and had a balcony, so that was nice. The gym was pretrty good too, and it also had a sauna ( which i didnt use).

Executive lounge was good too, the breakfast and snacks were awesome...

only bad thing about this stay, for some reason either the hotel did not have Wireless Interenet, or it was down. That really sucked..sometimes i like to sit in the executive lounge and do some work on my laptop, but without interenet that was difficult for me to do, so that was a real bummer. by the way, i had a colleague of mine stay there with me ( different room), and he was unable to access the wireless internet as well, so it wasnt something i was doing in correctly.

Im still iffy if i'll go back to this specific one mainly for the wifi reason, but overall good hotel

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaltShaker09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

I stay at Marriott hotels all over and found this hotel to be very consistent of a high quality Marriott brand hotel. While the hotel is an older building, it has been kept very well and renovated very nicely. The rooms are very large and comfortable. The pool area is very nice overlooking the golf course. The gym is large and very well equipped.

I highly recommend this hotel to any couple, family or business traveller.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyboy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Second visit to this hotel.
This hotel sits on a golf course a few miles from the pier at Manhattan Beach, CA (Los Angeles area). Shuttles and taxis from LAX are in high abundance. Hotel staff are vigilant, detailed, and very friendly, but be ready to tip them as they expect this and depend on it. The bedding and room were spotless, with flexible and friendly housekeeping staff. They do a 6pm wine toast (free) in the lobby, and always select a great local wine for this- a neat way to pick up a unique bottle (pricey but unique). The hotel food is good, expect to pay upwards of $20 per entree with large portions as well. Lots of restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Book online at Marriot's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We spent two nights in Room 723 – Concierge Level (were upgraded because of Platinum Elite status), but this room had a parking lot view, not the nice golf course view, which is seen from even numbered rooms. We used to stay here once or twice a year since about 2000, but we stopped staying here in 2008 because the rooms had become shabby & not well maintained. So, we opted to stay at a newer nearby hotel instead during our 2009-2010 visits. Because of a last minute change in plans & the low price we were able to get the day before arrival, we decided to stay once again at this Marriott. Our expectations were low, because I read on Trip Advisor that the hotel is under renovation. Happily, there was no evidence of this – no construction dust anywhere. Our room was probably one of the renovated ones, since the carpet & upholstery looked clean & new & the furniture was not nicked (as we had in previous rooms there). Room 723 is a nice, large, comfortable room with very good lighting. The bathroom is nothing special – large enough to move around comfortably. The sink has a large countertop, which is always appreciated. The bathroom light is on motion sensors, so it will turn on when you walk in; but it also has an automatic shut-off. Thus, if you are in the shower, you can suddenly find yourself in the dark. You will have to wave your hands or shake the shower curtain or call for your roommate to turn the light back on. There was one annoying flaw in our room – the doorstop is mounted on the floor just in front of the closet door. We inadvertently stepped on it & twisted our foot every blessed time we needed something from the closet. (We wear soft slippers, so it was painful). It’s a really poor design. The front desk staff was very friendly & helpful. The housekeeping staff was very nice & concerned (asking if there’s anything they can do for you when you pass them in the corridor). The valet parking team was friendly & very efficient. This is definitely a hotel that aims to please. We have usually stayed here over a weekend, and there always seems to be some conference going on in the lobby area. This weekend was no exception.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Souris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
0.5 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
749 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Beach Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Beach Marriott

Property: Manhattan Beach Marriott
Address: 1400 Parkview Ave, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manhattan Beach Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an energetic atmosphere, stylish guest rooms and resort-style amenities when you choose the Manhattan Beach Marriott for your next vacation or business trip. Located in the upscale South Bay area, our hotel sits on 26 beautifully landscaped acres just 3 miles south of Los Angeles International Airport (LAX). Guests at our Manhattan Beach hotel will enjoy easy access to a variety of restaurants, the Redondo Beach Performing Arts Center and the Manhattan Beach Pier. Indulge in fresh California cuisine at our View Restaurant and specialty cocktails at our Escape Lounge. Active travelers will appreciate our hotel's sparkling outdoor swimming pool, 9-hole golf course and state-of-the-art health club. Our hotel in Manhattan Beach, CA also offers 25,000 square feet of event space for meetings and weddings. Whether you're on a family vacation, romantic couples getaway or important business trip, the Manhattan Beach Marriott aims to exceed your every expectation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manhattan Beach Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Beach Marriott Hotel Manhattan Beach
Marriott Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing