We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value in Manhattan Beach”
Review of Crimson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crimson Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Reviewed May 28, 2007

This was the best hotel we found for the value. The hotel receptionists were all friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and the shower was excellent. The price was very reasonalbe compared to the other hotels in the area. I definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dallen4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 158 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2007

I've stayed at over a dozen Comfort Inns in various parts of the country and this definitely is the worst. The room is dingy and antiquated . The shower is dirty (the room I stayed in has no tub). The only saving grace is that the rate is quite low for this area (this is definitely a case where you get what you pay for).

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank brev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2007

We had tried another hotel but there was no accomodation, so they directed us to this hotel. The room smelled of damp, the bedclothes on one bed was totally unsatisfactory. One sheet was ripped and the bedspread has faeces on the underneath of it.
The whole room looked like it could do with a clean and there was dust on the coffee percolator that looked like it had been there for years.

When we booked in, the receptionist seemed a genuinely nice guy, and when I complained he offerred to move us to a diferent room, we stayed as we had already unloaded our cases and were very tired, as it was late at night.

The following morning when we were leaving we complained again to a different reception person, who didn't seem to care about the sheet problem. Although I did request for this complaint to be documented and sent to the hierarchy of the hotel.

There was no resteraunt, but I suppose that was a bonus.

Anyway, there is no way I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
One night was more than enough!!!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bewoodsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Germany
13
Reviewed March 12, 2006

We stayed there in March 2006 and were suprised about the price. The rooms are not loud, clean, near to LAX and to Manhattan Beach.
And the breakfast was OK. The shower is super!
A lot of restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2006

We stayed here one night post cruise to be near LAX for an AM flight. The Location is a very busy 6 lane road. The front desk person was nice but the room had a terrible smell. The phone and lamps were not plugged in. There was a big burn mark on the blanket. There was a free breakfast which was fine and shuttle service to LAX. I think they had installed new carpet with some kind of glue hence the smell. There should have been some effort to air the room out. I wouldn't stay here again.

3  Thank benton1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2005

Room was very clean and beds were comfortable. It was not a suite but good enough for 2 people. You must ask for a second floor room facing the pool to get a brighter room otherwise you could end up in a room facing a corridor.

The pool area was inviting (sauna, jacuzi and nice size pool)

The breakfast room was bright and clean. It was a continental breakfast with fruits, cereals and pastries.

This was the best value for the money in Manhattan Beach!

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mist59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2005

For the price we paid, I wasn't satisfied with this hotel. Room is a typical, small, non-descript Comfort Inn room. The entrance to the hotel is somewhat inconvenient because coming from the North (the LAX area), you have to do a u-turn to get into it. Also, parking is underground, you have to use the elevator, then walk around the pool to get to your room. Breakfast consisted of cold items only (pastries, donuts, fruit).

The room was clean, and it did the job, but it definitely wasn't worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Visa711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manhattan Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
776 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#7 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
1.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crimson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimson Hotel

Address: 850 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-5925 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range: $102 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crimson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Manhattan Beach, The Crimson Hotel is your ideal getaway on business or pleasure. We feature a 45 unit limited service hotel just over 1 mile walking distance from the Manhattan Beach Pier and 5 miles south from the LAX airport. Centrally located we are close to major los angeles and beach side attractions. Our rooms feature flat-screen TVs,cable tv, Free hi-speed WI-FI, Free underground garage parking, Complimentary continental breakfast as well as a heated pool and spa tub in the outdoor patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crimson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing