We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hawaii Traveller in LA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crimson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crimson Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
HONOLULU
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hawaii Traveller in LA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here 5 nights over the Memorial Day weekend and found it to be a fairly safe place with no low life types in surrounding area. The rooms were spacious enough and clean. Free covered parking and elevator. The continental breakfast was enough and the room had a nice view of the main street. Water didn't smell of heavy chlorine like the other LA places we've stayed. No pets. I would highly recommend this hotel. We had a king bed and I didn't feel any movements. Slept really good. Nice pool and jacuzzi. Not a whole lot of traffic when getting out from the hotel. We had a small refridge and micro wave that I didn't see listed on the hotel's website amenities. Front desk staff was very helpful.

Aloha!

Room Tip: Most rooms are going to be the same. I would take a 2nd floor rm. People slam their doors, you going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkuByrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    30
    34
    19
    30
See reviews for
27
36
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swellendam, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

For a few days layover in LA enroute to Hawaii this was the perfect hotel. Great price for the area, good beds, clean, good towels and linens. Our room was away from the main road - facing the pool area - the result was an extremely quiet room. The rate includes a continental breakfast. The staff are most helpful. The parking garage below the hotel is most convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

About 1 mile to the beach. Limited breakfast. Older but clean. Staff was nice enough. Pillows were awful.. Free airport shuttle was convenient. Pool was ok. For the price it was good but call hotel direct cost may be cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank recmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were looking for a decent hotel near Manhattan Beach and found the Crimson Hotel.

The hotel is about a mile off the beach, but an easy bike ride. The beds are comfortable, the rooms clean and quiet. It's location on Sepulveda can be a blessing or a curse. The curse is the traffic noise at the front of the hotel (but we didn't hear a thing from our room midway back into the outlay of the hotel).

The pool and hot tub are nice, but inside the walls of the surrounding rooms.
The breakfast is very forgetable. Cereal, a few muffins, some juice and coffee are basically it.
I also got an accidental wake up call at 4:30am that I DID NOT request.

But for the cleanliness, price and location, it's a decent deal.
It's certainly not one you would want to book for a honeymoon, because there's little charm. But we extended our stay because of the value.

Room Tip: Rooms mid to back are quieter, but the road facing rooms also face the ocean. Not sure if they'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a last minute choice since we were visiting redondo beach (about 10m away) and didn't plan on staying there. Nonetheless, this hotel turned out to be a decent choice and good value. For about $140 we got a two-bedroom suite with 3 queen beds. It is fair to say that they gave us a free upgraded since there were five of us and they didn't have a roll away bed available.
Anyhow, the bedding was comfortable and the room spacious. Staff was also helpful, especially when our toilet begun to overflow. They were very quick to change the room for us. We understand that "accidents" happen and they were quick to fix it for us so that made easier to give a good review.

Would I recommend? Yes, just don't expect the free upgrade. If possible get the suite. I know that made a difference in enjoying my stay here.

On a side note; if ordering in. Get pizza from Amici pizzeria (I think that's what is called) .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank serrano e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I only picked this hotel because i had to stay in Manhattan Beach. but i still thought that this hotel wasn't value for Money. The room was clean and as mention b4 is closed to beach. the toilet was noisy and light wasn't working. the place needs renovation and the breakfast don't even bother thinking about it, it is hobible

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank violeta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manhattan Beach hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I liked this hotel it was clean and our room had a jacuzzi tub ! Which I didn't expect. The breakfast was good had all the basics. It was in the center of everything and I would stay there again. The staff was very friendly and helpful I really liked this place and it was only 12 minutes from LAX

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lockedup72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
0.4 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Manhattan Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crimson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimson Hotel

Property: Crimson Hotel
Address: 850 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Crimson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Crimson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing