We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crimson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crimson Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
140 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Along the Pacific Coast Highway lies this former Comfort Inn. The location is good for people, who want to stay near the ocean without paying a million bucks for it. The hotel itself is nothing special. It's a run down, old motel with heavy carpeting and outdated bathrooms. The central courtyard has a small, but nice pool area. We stayed in a lower level room behind the pool and it was very dark no matter what time of the day.
The hotel was selected due to its location near the beach. It served that purpose well – Manhattan Beach is not nearly as noisy as its southern neighbor, Hermosa Beach.
The continental breakfast served is basically useless. It might be continental – but there should at least be more than cereal and a dry donut.

Bonus info: This hotel is close to filming locations for Beverly Hills 90210

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    34
    21
    30
See reviews for
28
36
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

It is cheap for being relatively close to the beach, but it is not worth the money. Rooms are old, old, old. Stains on the ceilings, bathroom tiles missing. Overall not pleasant. The beds are very cheap too.
They advertise free internet, but good luck getting on. I gave up and used my phone. I called and they said, "I will restart the server". Code for, "that's how it is here."
The jacuzzi was very small, and if someone else is in it, forget it.
You may has well get a cheap, cheap place, that is what The Crimson really is.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cfarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manhattan Beach hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

Not to bad for a place to stay while passing through, rooms could use a little TLC but not bad at all for the price. Nice and close to the beach and the blvd for nightlife spots. The shower was probably the only real downside kinda nervous to go barefoot in it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bnaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at the Crimson for 8 days. Maids cleaned the room on a daily basis. Carpet is stained but no biggy, flat screen tv fine, wifi barely works, toilet didnt flush without holding handle down, washer and drier work well and cost a couple of bucks total, women at front desk very helpful, pool clean, hot tub clean. Hotel on Sepulveda blvd, which is a gateway to everywhere. Parking is free and underneath the hotel. 10 miles to Venice, 13 to Santa Monica, 4 to 405 freeway, 1 to manhattan beach, which is really nice. We had a great time, and the minor complaints are just that; minor.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skater51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is for people on a restricted budget. It was basic with no real amenities. Serves breakfast which is basic continental good for travellers who are not picky. About 20 minute walk from the beach. Noisy in the morning as all rooms over look the pool. At the beach is a cycle path that is 20 miles long along the beach. Well worth it to do. Ok hotel to stay in just don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatNZers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed at the Crimson hotel towards the end of June this year, as a budget option for accommodation in LA. I was very pleased with the staff, room and breakfast, which lead me to the conclusion that it's an excellent option for those with a more restrained budget. We had no problems in booking for an additional night, and the staff were helpful throughout our stay. I would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ben_roberts25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We arrived at the hotel without a booking after gettng totally lost in LA. First room we had was dark and gloomy - brown curtains, wallpaper, carpet and all very worn. Outside the room was the ice machine which made a terrible noise and so we asked to be moved. Next room was a lot bigger but still very gloomy and a bit smelly. When we went out in the evening we noticed that right next door is another hotel - waves (I think owned by the same chain). We booked into this hotel and it was a lot better, looks as though it had been refurbished. The pool area was lovely. Have to say that the staff at both hotels were very friendly and helpful. Good location for both Airport and Beaches. Good hint for people who are taking back rental cars - don't take the main freeway towards LAX. From hotel take next right - Manhattan Beach Boulevard - carry on down until you hit Aviation Boulevard and do a left - carry on for about 3 miles and all the car rental returns are signposted on that road.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ansal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
0.4 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Manhattan Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crimson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimson Hotel

Property: Crimson Hotel
Address: 850 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-5925 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Crimson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crimson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing