We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, no bugs of any kind, a few partiers here and there.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crimson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crimson Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean, no bugs of any kind, a few partiers here and there.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed at the Crimson for 8 days. Maids cleaned the room on a daily basis. Carpet is stained but no biggy, flat screen tv fine, wifi barely works, toilet didnt flush without holding handle down, washer and drier work well and cost a couple of bucks total, women at front desk very helpful, pool clean, hot tub clean. Hotel on Sepulveda blvd, which is a gateway to everywhere. Parking is free and underneath the hotel. 10 miles to Venice, 13 to Santa Monica, 4 to 405 freeway, 1 to manhattan beach, which is really nice. We had a great time, and the minor complaints are just that; minor.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skater51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    30
    34
    19
    30
See reviews for
27
36
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is for people on a restricted budget. It was basic with no real amenities. Serves breakfast which is basic continental good for travellers who are not picky. About 20 minute walk from the beach. Noisy in the morning as all rooms over look the pool. At the beach is a cycle path that is 20 miles long along the beach. Well worth it to do. Ok hotel to stay in just don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatNZers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed at the Crimson hotel towards the end of June this year, as a budget option for accommodation in LA. I was very pleased with the staff, room and breakfast, which lead me to the conclusion that it's an excellent option for those with a more restrained budget. We had no problems in booking for an additional night, and the staff were helpful throughout our stay. I would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ben_roberts25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We arrived at the hotel without a booking after gettng totally lost in LA. First room we had was dark and gloomy - brown curtains, wallpaper, carpet and all very worn. Outside the room was the ice machine which made a terrible noise and so we asked to be moved. Next room was a lot bigger but still very gloomy and a bit smelly. When we went out in the evening we noticed that right next door is another hotel - waves (I think owned by the same chain). We booked into this hotel and it was a lot better, looks as though it had been refurbished. The pool area was lovely. Have to say that the staff at both hotels were very friendly and helpful. Good location for both Airport and Beaches. Good hint for people who are taking back rental cars - don't take the main freeway towards LAX. From hotel take next right - Manhattan Beach Boulevard - carry on down until you hit Aviation Boulevard and do a left - carry on for about 3 miles and all the car rental returns are signposted on that road.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ansal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Staff very professional and helpful. Breakfast not 5 star but very tasty and more than adequate. Good value for money.

Room Tip: A very comfortable nights sleep. Easy walking distance to Manhattan Beach. Facilities old but adequa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adalide
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We booked this hotel as a value one night stop-over near the airport before heading home.
The room was very spacious, clean and quite well appointed.
The bed was huge, comfortable and allowed a good sleep.
The staff were very helpful with info about nearby shops, the beach etc and had no hesitation in allowing a late checkout and booking us a free ride back to LAX that evening.
I wouldnt rave about the comp breakfast - but really for the price overall the stay was very good

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank south_aussie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

It was very nice and clean hotel with helpful staff. Room was clean, big bed, a little bit smelly, but that one smell is in all hotels. Location was great even though we went to the city by car, as in LA is everything so far and the traffic is horrible. Near the hotel is Target store, wery nice with good prices. The are around hotel is nice and safe. Great garage under hotel, so no problems with parking and it was free, so perfect.

If you have a car in LA and want to be close to beaches, this is hotel for you. We enjoyed our stay a lot.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
0.4 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Manhattan Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#4 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crimson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimson Hotel

Property: Crimson Hotel
Address: 850 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-5925 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Crimson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Crimson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing