We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Average place for an average price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crimson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crimson Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Average place for an average price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is for people on a restricted budget. It was basic with no real amenities. Serves breakfast which is basic continental good for travellers who are not picky. About 20 minute walk from the beach. Noisy in the morning as all rooms over look the pool. At the beach is a cycle path that is 20 miles long along the beach. Well worth it to do. Ok hotel to stay in just don't expect anything special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpatNZers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    35
    37
    23
    33
See reviews for
28
43
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed at the Crimson hotel towards the end of June this year, as a budget option for accommodation in LA. I was very pleased with the staff, room and breakfast, which lead me to the conclusion that it's an excellent option for those with a more restrained budget. We had no problems in booking for an additional night, and the staff were helpful throughout our stay. I would definitely stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ben_roberts25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We arrived at the hotel without a booking after gettng totally lost in LA. First room we had was dark and gloomy - brown curtains, wallpaper, carpet and all very worn. Outside the room was the ice machine which made a terrible noise and so we asked to be moved. Next room was a lot bigger but still very gloomy and a bit smelly. When we went out in the evening we noticed that right next door is another hotel - waves (I think owned by the same chain). We booked into this hotel and it was a lot better, looks as though it had been refurbished. The pool area was lovely. Have to say that the staff at both hotels were very friendly and helpful. Good location for both Airport and Beaches. Good hint for people who are taking back rental cars - don't take the main freeway towards LAX. From hotel take next right - Manhattan Beach Boulevard - carry on down until you hit Aviation Boulevard and do a left - carry on for about 3 miles and all the car rental returns are signposted on that road.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ansal01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Staff very professional and helpful. Breakfast not 5 star but very tasty and more than adequate. Good value for money.

Room Tip: A very comfortable nights sleep. Easy walking distance to Manhattan Beach. Facilities old but adequa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adalide
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We booked this hotel as a value one night stop-over near the airport before heading home.
The room was very spacious, clean and quite well appointed.
The bed was huge, comfortable and allowed a good sleep.
The staff were very helpful with info about nearby shops, the beach etc and had no hesitation in allowing a late checkout and booking us a free ride back to LAX that evening.
I wouldnt rave about the comp breakfast - but really for the price overall the stay was very good

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank south_aussie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

It was very nice and clean hotel with helpful staff. Room was clean, big bed, a little bit smelly, but that one smell is in all hotels. Location was great even though we went to the city by car, as in LA is everything so far and the traffic is horrible. Near the hotel is Target store, wery nice with good prices. The are around hotel is nice and safe. Great garage under hotel, so no problems with parking and it was free, so perfect.

If you have a car in LA and want to be close to beaches, this is hotel for you. We enjoyed our stay a lot.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorman, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We weren't sure what to expect after reading some bad reviews, but our only complaint about this hotel is that the bedspread, curtains, and carpet were a bit worn. However, while we were there, the hotel was doing some updates like painting, so I am assuming that other updates like new bedspreads, and etc. will follow. Besides, it's difficult for me to blame the hotel for cigarette burns in the bedspreads when it's the clientele who are responsible for that damage.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, and everything worked fine. We really only slept there, so we didn't care that it wasn't a four or five-star hotel. We felt it was a value.

The staff really helped us out with transportation (beyond the courtesy pick up at the airport). They helped us to contact a nice gentleman who provided his car service from the hotel to Glendale and then returned to pick us up and bring us back to the hotel. The car service was a bargain also.

The pool was clean and the water was warm, and our trip was in May (and it was still cool outside).

Location was okay. We walked to Manhattan Beach Pier, and it was about 1 mile, not bad at all. There are some great shops in the beach area. The hotel is not in the middle of Hollywood or anything, but one has to realize that L.A. is large, and you will always have to find transportation to get you to a few sights that aren't in the immediate vicintity of your hotel.

There were some good restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel. The El Gringo Mexican restaurant across the street was really good and had good service and the Thai restaurant across the street was also good. We also had Mexican fast food at El Pollo Loco, right next door to the hotel. Considering it was fast food, it was very good. La Versailles had good food too although I am not a big fan of Cuban food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manhattan Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Manhattan Beach
1.1 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crimson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimson Hotel

Property: Crimson Hotel
Address: 850 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crimson Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Crimson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing