We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wedding bliss experience”
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Belamar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2007

We attended a wedding at the hotel and decided to stay over night. We live in downtown LA so this was a nice change of pace. We could not have been happier with the decision. This is a real gem of hotel that is worth every penny. From the courtesy valet parking upon arrival to unbelievably comfortable beds. The hotel did a great job with the wedding, the service, food and entire event was great. Our room was spacious, clean, nice furnishings a perfect 10. One piece of advice, when making a reservation ask for a room with a balcony facing the courtyard, you will not be disappointed. The extra little things that made is special were the fresh containers of water in the lobby and the fresh starbucks coffee in the morning. We would definetly recommend this hotel for a stay. Enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 768 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2007

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank robertNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2007

Building on the positive reviews that have been posted:

Valet parking - super friendly staff, hard working, very helpful in terms of directions, etc.

Cute rooms - love the soothing, fresh feel of the baby blue/cocoa/silver combos throughout the hotel. I appreciate the consistency of the design and the modern feel. (The oversized retro doll and chihuahua photos were fun).

Front desk staff - very friendly - always greeted us (leaving or returning) with a warm smile - allowed a late check-out, gave us some tips on late-night eats after the hotel's kitchen had closed and offered access to the lobby computer; check-in/out EXTREMELY easy and hassle-free.

Housekeeping - I can't remember the last time I stayed at a hotel where the housekeeping staff always greeted us with a smile, a hello, or a pleasant acknowledgement.

Beach access - there is actually a very pleasant walkway leading to the beach from the hotel. If you don't mind a leisurely walk (throw a towel in your beach bag and go), it's nice and relaxing - very quiet - and actually, less frustrating than driving your car down to MB and dealing with garages, meters, hilly parallel parking, and amidst it all, the potential for parking tickets. I didn't mind the exercise at all! (1.5 - 2 miles depending on how close to the pier you want to be). In fact, the neighborhood that you'll walk through has an eclectic variety of beautiful homes - very nice walk if you ask me!

****Cookies in the lobby are SPLENDID!! Don't pass em up. Delicious, soft, chocolate chip cookies. Icing on the cake!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank almaden32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

This is an upscale hotel with window air units? dirty carpet, bad valet service- visist too much with reception personell, terrible room service - water took 1.5 to arrive at my door and two calls placed,
bathroom door is impossible and should be a pocket door, grout in bathroom disappearing.., lots of construction noise at 8am thruout the day, 1.5 miles from the beach(not bad) and the worst part:
I came back to my room one morining to find my door wide open, no one cleaning. no one there, just an open door.
I think this was a LaQuinta at one point.. sure does seem like it or maybe a rustic Holiday inn. Heavy on the rustic.
ONLY upsides: across from Manhattan Village; a few curteous staffers,cool art and flavored water.. I won't be going back. It's not a hotel it's an overpriced MOTEL with cool art.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cardoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Phamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2007

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Londoner29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaintPauli_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#7 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
717 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
727 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
164 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belamar Hotel

Address: 3501 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-3693 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range: $182 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belamar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manhattan Village shopping and the best beaches in L.A., The Belamar is an ideal destination for fashionable getaways. Our lively, avant-garde destination melds retro style with modern comforts and our assortment of Manhattan Beach hotel deals offers the best value on accommodations, whether you are here to work or play. From seasonal getaways to romantic escapes to family adventures, there’s always a way to stay and save at The Belamar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Belamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing