We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Belamar Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights, Save 20%!
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed at The Belamar for 4 nights on a business trip. Location was excellent for my needs -- a short drive from the office but also convenient to the restaurants of Manhattan Beach. Located on the corner of Sepulveda and Rosecrans (both busy roads), but was very quiet inside.

We arrived early and were not able to check-in right away, but they offered to hold our bags for us while we explored Manhattan Beach. Mandatory (free) valet parking was kind of a pain, but just a minor complaint.

Hotel seems to have been renovated fairly recently with funky lobby and nice, functional rooms. Separate desk + chair, comfortable bed, reliable and fast wi-fi -- can't ask for much more. Bathroom wasn't that impressive, but was clean.

Restaurant on the 2nd floor (actually called "Second Story", I think) was excellent. Continental breakfast was perfect for the mornings. We had dinner there one night and it was surprisingly excellent -- plenty of TVs to watch the game and full bar too.

Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Interior rooms may be quieter than exterior rooms facing busy streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TA_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie T, Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are about to make some minor tweaks that we know you will enjoy. Let us know the next time you are in town so we can assist you and treat you to some of our famous Bela Chips at Second Story! Once again, thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    209
    56
    22
    19
See reviews for
119
187
63
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, CA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

As a native So Cal guy who moved away - I love 'going back to the beach'. Went to Manhattan Beach for a couple of days and chose this hotel.

If you want beachfront or walk to the beach - this is not your hotel. If, as all Californians do, you have a car: it is pefect. Very close to all beach communities - and LAX.

Hotel is 70's style motor lodge - right on PCH - nicely renovated by the owners. Now feels more like a boutique hotel. Nice little touches that you'd find in a much more expensive property. Friendly, helpful staff. Great on property restaurant - and really good b'fast buffet (with made to order dishes included) as part of the price.

Would definitely return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jhmvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie T, Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for noticing some of our changes and your kind words regarding your stay. We have some more tweaks coming up but we know you will love the enhancements. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

An interesting retro decor and a friendly staff. However, if you like to sleep without the roar and vibration of vehicles accelerating away from the adjacent intersection, this is not the place to get a restful sleep. I wear earplugs when I sleep but could still hear, and feel the vibration, from the cars, trucks and motorcycles on the nearby road. The hotel is conveniently located near the airport and within a short walk of some nice restauants and shopping venues but ultimately the proximity of the intersection of two high-traffic roads makes this a poor choice for a peaceful place to rest and relax.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rode_Warrior1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie T, Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Rode Warrior,

We were sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy your stay at the Belamar. Please let us know the next time you are in town so you can try one of our quiet deluxe rooms facing our courtyard. Thank you for being our guest and have a wonderful week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband & I just returned form Southern Ca.,tonight & I couldn't wait to send this review in. We needed on night in LA for an early flight out & I just happen to see the hotel online.
This place is nestled in a great neighborhood & so close to the greenway for a quick walk to the beach. It has everything.
The valet.was charming & welcoming, the desk staff equally as welcoming & professional.and the restaurant , perfect. The bar tender was great, & knowlegeable about the area & everything on the menu.
The chef, puts out 5 star quality food, our dinner was among the best we had on our trip.
Accommodations, clean,comfortable & very well appointed.
Should we be back in the area soon we will defiantly stay again, & share The Belamar with all we know traveling to & from LAX

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie T, Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Sue,

We were so excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We have shared your feedback with our staff and they loved hearing that you appreciated their hospitality. We look forward to your return and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Belamar is friendly and intimate fabulously close to LAX it is great for fast access to and from the airport. Shuttles are $12 and if there are two or more of you a taxi should be not much more than $20. I stayed at the hotel for a 3 day workshop in February 2014. As it was an inaugural event the organisers had advised they would be budget conscious so I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel, far from the cookie cutter inn style I was expecting it had style and charm and excellent beds. The outdoor (covered) pool and hot tub were a very welcome touch. The Second Story Restaurant was good value, great quality food and servers were excellent. Additionally the hotel is walking distance from Manhattan Beach Village Mall which has a good selection of alternative restuarants, Macys, Ralphs and the usual drug stores and banks. There were at least 2 pilates studios within walking distance as well as Wholefoods and a number of juice bars. The only downside to the hotel was that it abutts the busy N. Sepulveda Boulevard on the North but the south side & entrance is in a quiet, pretty and well kept neighbourhood. There is a great well maintained walkway to the shopping & dinning hub of Manhattan Beach (Highland Ave & Manhattan Beach Boulevard) which is about 2 miles and from there just a couple of blocks to the well kept beach and pier. The neighbourhood is friendly and chic and offers plenty for those who do not have cars which was a pleasant surprise in LA. I would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms overlooking the courtyard have balconies which are nice for some private outdoor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annekscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie T, Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Anne,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We love hearing when our guests enjoy their stay and are able to enjoy the Manhattan Beach area and all that it has to offer. We hope to have you back as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Came here last minute through a Priceline deal when a flight was canceled. The service here was crisp and professional. There was a small mixup in room assignments that I didn't view as a problem at all, which the staff promptly fixed and made up to me by giving me a free meal. Everybody was very friendly and very helpful. Only downside is you have to pay $10 for valet parking if you have a car.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank timmy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie T, Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Timmy,

Thank you for being our guest! We were glad to hear that even though you experienced a minor setback, our staff was able to take care of it and make sure you were comfortable. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was our second time staying at the Belamar. It didn't dissapoint us. We chose it because of its proximity to our family that we were visiting. Very convenient to LAX and beach communities. Staff is very friendly, especially the boys in the restaurant. The rooms are pleasant and comfortable. They stock "Philosophy" toiletries. Breakfast was included in our rate, and it was an abundant buffet, or you can order waffles, pancakes or omelets. They have a nice pool area but we did not visit due the weather and our short stay. We really like this hotel and will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corina58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie T, Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for coming back to visit us! Hopefully you can enjoy our pool the next time you stay with us. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Manhattan Beach
2.6 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 741 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belamar Hotel

Property: The Belamar Hotel
Address: 3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belamar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manhattan Village shopping and the best beaches in L.A., The Belamar is an ideal destination for fashionable getaways. Our lively, avant-garde destination melds retro style with modern comforts and our assortment of Manhattan Beach hotel deals offers the best value on accommodations, whether you are here to work or play. From seasonal getaways to romantic escapes to family adventures, there’s always a way to stay and save at The Belamar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Belamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing