We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Airport not so close to beach”
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Belamar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

For the money it was ok. The restaurant service was very good but at the peak breakfast time they were too short of staff and eggs! The bed was fantastic and the shower hit and powerful. It had a decent outdoor pool and a great jacuzzi. Despite being on Sepulveda which is a very busy road the room was nice and quiet at night as it faced the courtyard. Receptionist could've been a little happier but overall it's a nice hotel with nice everything which makes it, well, nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 776 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

fairly close to LAX, but far enough to be quiet and relaxing walking/bicycle path to beach nearby and multiple restaurants in reasonable distance, will definitely stay here again. great spot to go for a walk or bike ride along the beach after a long flight

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been a monthly guest of Belamar for nearly two years. From the valet, desk staff to housekeeping all greet me with a smile and frequently by name. I travel alone so it's nice to feel welcomed in by friends.

Rooms always clean and ready for me. Management responsive if a situation would arise. Belamar truly appreciates its guests and continues to strengthen its customer service

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We met some friends there to spend the weekend checking out the South Bay area. What a great hotel. Decorated very cool, we found the staff very nice and helpful, the hotel is pretty quiet (very quiet guest wise, you can slightly hear LAX depending on room location. Although on a busy street, not a lot of traffiic noise was heard) and very clean. The grounds were well kept and also quiet. It's a pretty good walk to the beach or about a $10.00 cab ride (that's tip included). Plenty to do downtown with lot's of great bar's and places to eat. The

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billandwendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We've stayed here three different years celebrating our wedding anniversary. We thoroughly enjoy our stay here. We usually sit by the pool during the day, read, enjoy the sun, blue sky and palm trees waving above us. (It takes a little practice to ignore the street noise, but worth the effort.) The rooms are quite plush for the price. We always pay for a room with a balcony on the 2nd or 3rd floor, facing the interior courtyard. The bed is very comfortable. The sheets are showing wear and tear, but other than that, I have no complaints. For the price, this place is a gem!

Room Tip: We like the 2nd or 3rd floor, with balcony facing the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romantic5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Don't let the busy road outside turn you off, this hotel is in a great location. No matter which side you face it is good. We love to run on the beach so this is a little bit of a hike to get there but still great location. Online deals through hotel can quite often beat any other online booking sites. Wholefoods across street for groceries. A number of malls within walking distance. Pool and hot tub are great. Beds are very comfortable, no need to travel with your pillow. Gym is very tiny and gets stinky quick.

Room Tip: Facing either the houses or the pool is good. We found it a little quieter looking East toward the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at The Belamar very much. We stayed there recently and had a great time in this almost Boutique hotel. The location can give you the wrong impression because it's right next to a gas station but once you're there... It's very close to LAX, close to the beach and shopping areas. The staff was very friendly and we loved our room (ask for the Courtyard view) Nice and clean decor, spacy bathrooms. The restaurant is really amazing, great service and very good fresh breakfast. Good coffee as well. If you're on business or on a little romantic trip its a great option for visiting LA and surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view! The freeway can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank studiobg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
0.5 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#7 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
723 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
521 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
734 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belamar Hotel

Address: 3501 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-3693 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range: $167 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belamar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manhattan Village shopping and the best beaches in L.A., The Belamar is an ideal destination for fashionable getaways. Our lively, avant-garde destination melds retro style with modern comforts and our assortment of Manhattan Beach hotel deals offers the best value on accommodations, whether you are here to work or play. From seasonal getaways to romantic escapes to family adventures, there’s always a way to stay and save at The Belamar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Belamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing