We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill.”
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Belamar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We used to love this place, staying here several times a year. It was a great little hotel in Manhattan Beach that was convenient to the airport and all our favorite places in the south bay. Since they've changed ownership the place has just went down hill. It's sad.

The time before this visit was absolutely horrible. They we're filming during our last night and morning and of course they did NOT inform us of this. We we're the lucky ones to get the room right next to the filming. Around 3am there was film crews in the hall way with all their equipment. It was loud and awful. Needless to say we did not get much sleep. We called the front desk around 5am and they said that they would tell them to keep the noise level down. Upon checking out we told the receptionist that we we're not happy about the issue cause the noise did not stop. She then proceeded to tell us she had no clue there was anything like that going on, nor did any of the other receptionist. LIES. They did nothing to remedy the situation.

We knew that we had to come back to LA a few weeks later and decided to give the Belamar one more chance. What a mistake. The noise was back again. Not a film crew, but some guest above us that paced around their room at all hours of the day and night. I understand there is going to be some noise from people walking above us.. but this person was stomping. After we called the front desk and they said they'd give them a call, the noise stopped for 20 minutes. Then it came back even louder and more aggressive. After complaining again, they still wouldn't move us.

As far as the room itself.. it's run down. The bathroom grout on the floor is practically black. There was other guests hair in the shower and on the toilet seat. The wallpaper is stained and falling down.

All the cute little perks of this hotel are gone. Before they would serve home made ding dongs & make your own smores to the guests, that is now gone. There "infused water" in the lobby was really good in the beginning, now it just taste like watered down koolaid.

The room service is pretty alright. The fish tacos were fresh. But when we ordered up some bottled water and diet coke it took over 45 minutes to get it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Wanderlusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm S, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear KP_vs_theworld,


Thank you for informing us about your recent experience at the Belamar Hotel.

I truly apologize for the inconvenience during your recent stay with us. Based on your comments, I too was disappointed with the disruptions you experienced. I have spoken with front desk employees and the department managers and shared your comments with them so we can handle situations more efficiently all in the name of customer satisfaction.

I do hope you give us another chance and come back soon.

As a side note, we were quite disappointed when Hostess, the company who used to provide us with the Ding Dongs closed down their operations and are no longer making the product. However, we have replaced them with customized fortune cookies, which I hope you were able to enjoy.

Best regards and thank you again for keeping us informed. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 792 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a great hotel! My GF and I wanted to get away from the OC so we planned a weekend getaway at this boutique hotel. The Second Story restaurant was amazing. Food and service was incredible. John the manager made sure we enjoyed our meal and accomodated us with a nice quiet table.
The room was fantastic and very clean. We especially like the new carpet which was only a week old we were told.
The bike rental was well worth it and the ride to the beach was an easy 10 minute ride.
Valet guys were very attentive and friendly.
Kudos to the employees and managers for making our stay very memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had to go to a funeral in LA. We aren't city people and wanted to be fairly close to LAX, but just far enough away from it. Cool, chic, boutique motel. Great beds and linens. Close to beach and restaurants. Bikes available, but didn't have time to use them.

Room Tip: Stay on side away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Nicely redecorated, with very good beds. However, the noise factor will prevent me from returning. Under its facelift, the underlying structure is that of an older, noisy building. Walls are acoustically underdamped, and you will hear the toilet and shower in the adjacent room. You will also hear the chambermaids carrying on extensive conversations in the hallway. Situated at the intersection of Rosecrans and Sepulveda, there is no way around the traffic, and some of the rooms (I tried two) have quite a bit of traffic noise. All of them share the noisy ventilation system which impacted my sleep. The second floor restaurant is OK, and probably convenient for the adjacent conference rooms. Staff was undersupervised. When asked how my room was (I had asked for a quiet one), I good repeated responses of "Really?"
In comparison with some other nearby hotels, the Belamar does not have a shuttle to nearby LAX. As a recreational traveler, I will look further next time.

Room Tip: Prepare to try more than one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ahardy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Second stay, a year after first stay. The place has gone downhill. Room is not clean, hairs in sink. There are various tears, rips, and stains on the wallpaper and carpet. Ripped bedspread. The hallway has a strange odor and so does the room. I asked at check in to be on quiet side of hotel but could not be accommodated. Renovations going on which was not advertised on the website. The valet parking may seem cheap, but when you watch them walk over 50 feet across a flat parking lot for your car, the value sort of evaporates!
Overall, it was a nice try to remake obviously older structure, but the veneer is now wearing thin. I recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryans69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The room was newly decorated, in silver blue green and beige. Very nice. The gym was small but perfect for me with good machines and two newer cardio machines plus fresh bottled water and direct TV. Room service and restaurant were really great and the valet parking was only ten dollars a night. Really good movies, can't wait to go back. Breakfast in the restaurant is all you can eat for 14.50.
The weather as too cool for the Pool or the ocean, but next time I trust It will be terrific. My kids were in the room with us, so it was cramped. If I were there with 3 or 2 out would have

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonjawd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel at the end of last year. We paid extra for a room with a balcony and overlooking the courtyard having been told this would be quieter. We were virtually on the corner by Sepulveda which proved to be a false economy. Upon arrival there was an overwhelming smell of amonia in the hallway and room which did not go away. After reading the great reviews of the restaurant we thought we would eat in and were not over impressed with our cocktails or dinner - adequate but wouldn't rave about it. Breakfast the next morning was busy and no one was available to tell us what the procedure was. We found out too late that we could have had dishes made up especially - a disappointment having paid a B & B rate. The price of the hotel reflects the standard. It was fine for a one night stop before flying out the next day and it was close enough to the beach for us to go and explore.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
745 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#7 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
732 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
195 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belamar Hotel

Address: 3501 North Sepulveda Boulevard, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range: $188 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belamar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manhattan Village shopping and the best beaches in L.A., The Belamar is an ideal destination for fashionable getaways. Our lively, avant-garde destination melds retro style with modern comforts and our assortment of Manhattan Beach hotel deals offers the best value on accommodations, whether you are here to work or play. From seasonal getaways to romantic escapes to family adventures, there’s always a way to stay and save at The Belamar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Belamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing