We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Belamar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at The Belamar for 2 nights on a business trip. Rooms are spacious and clean. Desk staff welcoming and helpful. Walking distance to Manhattan Beach on a dedicated walking track - takes 20 to 30 minutes depending on walking speed. The restaurant/bar is great value and serves good quality food. Evening happy hour with some meals half price. Breakfast is plentiful and well presented. Fitness room is small with only four machines but all were in good condition. Overall a good choice for business travelers as it's close to the airport with easy access to various arterial routes.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jpfree1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    248
    64
    24
    19
See reviews for
148
218
72
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubbo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here over night while on a lay-over transiting through LAX. Close to the airport and an easy walk to Manhattan beach pier and shopping district. The staff were very friendly and found everything to be to a good standard. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterS2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

It's an old hotel that has had a makeover some time ago, but needs a bit of a spruce up now. Having said that the room was comfortable & well appointed. The staff were friendly & efficient. As the hotel is away from restaurants I ate in the in-house restaurant/bar on two nights. It was really good & enjoyable. It is well priced for what it offers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GPS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was picking my wife up from LAX after a long 15hour flight, I wanted to make sure that our room was comfortable and relaxing.

I picked the hotel because of the bathtub, but was very impressed with the staff and how friendly the night crew were. they made sure that everything was comfortable and ready for my wife and I when she arrived. They went above and beyond the call, by having the robes and slippers ready in the room. They also upgraded my room and made a lot of recommendation of place to eat. They also told me the quickest way to get to the airport and beach.

If more hotel had this kind of customer service the world would be a beautiful place. This place made us feel like we were part of their family. Thanks Belamar, see you on our next LA trip.

Andy and Yuki

Room Tip: Don't matter just take care of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyYuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Arrived on a business trip straight after a 11 hour flight into LAX. The hotel is a short drive from the airport. Rooms are comfortable with good amenities. We were very hungry and got a nice dinner at the Hotels restaurant. The staff are very nice and Manhattan Beach is a great area to stay in. Fairly reasonable price as well. I did not give 5 stars because the decor is a little bit dated and the hotel could do with a refurb.

Would consider staying again when in LA.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_JRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here for 1 x week in September whilst on a training course and I have to say that even though I am easily pleased this hotel was really good. It is not too close to Manhattan Beach per se, but as a lover of walking anyway this did not pose a problem. It is over the road from the Manhattan Beach Shopping Centre where there is a very nice California Pizza Kitchen. I did particularly enjoy my chats with the Brazilian Valet parking chap in the mornings whilst waiting for my taxi.

Overall a really pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveDade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was looking for a place to stay for a one night LAX layover - and the Belamar fitted all my criteria.
A quick taxi ride (under 10 minutes / $20) from the airport and I'd already arrived. The reception staff were welcoming and friendly and the lobby area is very contemporary with free fruit infused water available - I had the watermelon - very refreshing.
My room was spacious and the bathroom was clean and well stocked. The common corridor area do look slightly tired however I do not feel that mattered when everywhere is so nice.
The hotel is located in a peaceful suburban neighbourhood, however it is only a pleasant 15 minute walk along a wooded walkway to find the downtown beach area.
I explored the beachfront during the afternoon, but by the evening was ready for a rest so ordered room service (Salmon Cobb salad, tasty and generous) and made use of the free complimentary DVD's from reception.
I left feeling refreshed and relaxed and ready to tackle my flight - the perfect stopover.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banan_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
697 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
2.6 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
852 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belamar Hotel

Property: The Belamar Hotel
Address: 3501 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-3693 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belamar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manhattan Village shopping and the best beaches in L.A., The Belamar is an ideal destination for fashionable getaways. Our lively, avant-garde destination melds retro style with modern comforts and our assortment of Manhattan Beach hotel deals offers the best value on accommodations, whether you are here to work or play. From seasonal getaways to romantic escapes to family adventures, there’s always a way to stay and save at The Belamar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Belamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing