We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, excellent service”
Review of The Belamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Belamar Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great rooms, excellent service”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Belamar Hotel is perfectly located close to the beach, shops, and restaurants. The service is excellent and the rooms are large and comfortable. This hotel definitely exceeded our expectations. I highly recommend staying at the Belamar.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    249
    64
    25
    19
See reviews for
150
220
72
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed here with my sister for my 30th reunion. The room was great and the staff top notch. We had drinks in the bar, that was great. The next day we used the complimentary bikes and rode down to The Kettle for breakfast. After that we went to The Hometown Fair. It was a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desertgal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Hotel is centrally located close to beach, shops (across the street), restaurants and 10 minutes from LAX. Rooms are small but clean with balconies. Ask for a room that faces the courtyard and not PCH. Food in the restaurant was good, hotel is quiet in the evenings during the week. Valet parking is complimentary no street parking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Good Day,

Thank you for providing us some feedback on the hotel and restaurant. Our team was very happy to be of service and look forward to your next visit. Overnight parking is at a $10 fee however parking for events and dining is complimentary for day use.

We look forward to an amazing summer here at the Belamar.

Frederick (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This boutique hotel was affordable, clean, very nice decor, and VERY pleasant staff. I'm stlil here in the hotel but had to write about it stat! We received a call about 15 minutes after arriving to our room asking us whether everything was ok so far...I have never received that type of treatment! They have a service where you can borrow DVDs. I don't think I've ever been in a hotel that had a DVD player :)

They left a detailed list of amenities with a welcome message. They have Hostess ding dongs individually wrapped in foil at the front desk. The air conditioner is outdated but I've found that to be the case in many hotels I've been staying at during my road trip.

The hotel is close to the beach. We took a $7 beach down and back to meet with friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Happy Summer,

Thank you for the detailed account of your stay. We also appreciate your kind comments!
Since your stay we have replaced 50% of our AC units are are on our way to complete the remainder. They are quiet, cold and energy efficient. We have passed your great comments on to the staff and cant wait to have you back..

Frederick (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I've stayed here a few times now...always clean, and they even upgraded my room once when there was a mixup with my reservation. Not sure who decorated the place (crazy doll and chihuahua paintings) but its super convenient, decent outdoor pool/patio, and pricing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2board
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacificalosangeles, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Happy Summer!

Thank you for the great comments and being a repeat customer. The doll pictures in the hallways are different versions of "Bella" whom is one of the two hotel mascots. As you meander thru the property you will see different versions or "looks" that bella (Italian for Beautiful) transforms into. As far as the Chihuahua the prior owner of the property had this little dog as his best friend. We receive several comments about this brave little dogs humorous poses around the property.

We are glad that you found our hotel to be a good value. Most of our guests are looking for a unique and productive experience in an area that is fun to be. Our restaurant is currently #1 on tripadvisor in Manhattan Beach and the Chef is quite talented.

Please let me know when you are returning to our hotel so that I have the opportunity to provide you an upgrade for your taking the time to write us about your experience.

Thank you again for your support,

Frederick (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Showed up at the Belamar looking forward to a relaxing night after a cross-country flight and a long day of meetings, only to get shipped off to a sub-par alternative hotel.

Hotels have a choice in how they handle inventory sold through third parties like Orbitz, and a choice in how they treat customers when overbookings happen, and Belamar did a poor job at both.

When traveling on business this kind of disruption is nothing but lost productivity and time -- particularly when the alternative offered is noisy, worn out, and a lesser room type. Picking up the tab doesn't do much if someone else is paying to begin with.

Buyer beware!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bd2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacificalosangeles, General Manager at The Belamar Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
Good Day,

Please accept out apologies for the inconvenience. We certainly wish that we could have had you as our guest.

Frederick (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at the Belamar Hotel for two nights before cruzing over to Palm Springs for a few days for a friend’s wedding. This was our first experience at the Belamar and Manhattan Beach and we were not disappointed. What can I say about this place, where to begin. First and most notable, the staff of this hotel set it apart. Erika checked us in, early which was great after a long early morning flight from the east coast, to a suite overlooking the courtyard. She was really on point the entire time, she even set us up a welcome snack made of fruit, cheese and various other items. Thanks again, we really appreciated that. The valet staff was always helpful to offer directions and recommendations of local establishments. Being able to rent bikes for the day really makes it a lot of fun to cruz around Manhattan Beach and roll down to Hermosa Beach. Be aware, the hills for your return trip from Manhattan Beach to Belamar are out of control, and I’m in shape. My girlfriend had to push her bike up some of the hills on the way back, the UPS man delivering packages even made fun of her. So much fun. There were always fresh towel available at the pool / hot tub area, we visited both frequently. The second floor restaurant is excellent and do not miss their happy hour. We will be coming back soon. Thanks again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etrain33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
702 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
699 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
145 reviews
2.6 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belamar Hotel

Property: The Belamar Hotel
Address: 3501 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-3693 (Formerly The Belamar Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belamar Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Manhattan Village shopping and the best beaches in L.A., The Belamar is an ideal destination for fashionable getaways. Our lively, avant-garde destination melds retro style with modern comforts and our assortment of Manhattan Beach hotel deals offers the best value on accommodations, whether you are here to work or play. From seasonal getaways to romantic escapes to family adventures, there’s always a way to stay and save at The Belamar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Belamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing