We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Our Wedding Was Perfect At Shade!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
1 review
“Our Wedding Was Perfect At Shade!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

My husband and I just got married at Shade, we stayed in the Bridal Suite and had the ceremony in the courtyard and the reception on the skydeck...it was perfect, absolutely perfect! Not only is Shade a gorgeous, modern, boutque hotel, but they were amazing to work with. I had a very low budget to work with and Jolise (the event coordinator) was totally wondeful, worked with me on every detail and made sure that even on my budget that my wedding was perfect. Shade allowed us to decorate how we wanted, they didn't have stuffy rules like all the other places we checked out, like cake cutting fees and other ridiculous extra charges...they even threw in a night free at the hotel! Everyone was so nice, and worked extra hard to accommodate our vegetarian menu and alcohol free cocktail hour! Everyone was so impressed and we were so happy how everything turned out, no stress at all!!! I would recommend Shade Hotel for not only weddings but other events as well, or maybe just a night out on the town!!! They have amazing food and the chef cooked up a special menu for us, everyone was so excited about the food!
Thank you Shade and Jolise Voight for making our wedding dreams come true!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinamoreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    57
    17
    12
    10
See reviews for
53
175
43
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

When I found out we were going to California during the winter which was cold and terrible on the east coast, I was super excited to enjoy the warm weather and sun. We arrived at Shade which was beautiful, breezy and open because of its atrium and large open doors. I was booked on the first floor facing the atrium, while my boss was on the second floor. Once I got into my room I was completely disapointed. Not only was I facing the atrium and a bar area, I felt like I couldn't keep my blinds or window open because people were constantly walking past my sliding room door and there was no seperation. I spent the whole time with my curtains closed with no natural sunlight. bummer.

My boss who was on the second floor had a completely different experience, because she was higher and had a balcony she slept with the sliding glass door open, it was breezy and wonderful and I was jealous the entire trip. I asked to move but there weren't any rooms available.

We went to the rooftop deck and the pool looked MUCH smaller than it did in the picture and shared the roof with a lot of equipment, air conditioners maybe? not sure. I did enjoy their morning breakfast and the proximity to the boardwalk, I woke up early each morning and went running which was really pretty and so fun.

So basically, do stay at this hotel, but make sure you are on the second floor!!!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noelle3033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Hills of South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

Shade Hotel quietly delivers excellent service that I find only sporadic when I stay at The Four Seasons Hotels. The staff is friendly and they go way out of their way to make your stay the best possible. The rooms are elegant and quiet, which offers a great night's sleep. Shade offers excellent small plates and a nice California wine list. There are wonderful functions happening there often and guests are often allowed to partake.
There are many fine dining restaurants and lesser fare within walking distance of the hotel. Tis only 3 blocks to the beach... My favorite hotel :)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeafLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

We were married here and returned to celebrate our 2 year anniversary. Glad to see that the rooms are as great as ever. Some of the most comfortable beds you will ever sleep on. Also an amazing tub.
Not an appropriate place for kids, but a great place for couples.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivydturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

If I could give 10 stars I would!
You guys went over in beyond to accomodate us. The Penthouse Suite is the best suite I have ever been too, and I've been to a lot. The rain shower is AMAZING, you never want to leave.
JoLise--You did an amazing job with our wedding. Everyone had a blast. People are still calling and saying its the BEST wedding they've ever been too. Thanks, we couldn't make it without you guys.
You help make our day PERFECT.
Love you all.

R.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotezra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

Though I'm currently living with family in Hermosa Beach, I brought my 6 year old daughter here so we could spend some quality 'alone' time ~ living in a house full of relatives who all love my angel is a bit like the old saying about "too many chefs..." ~ while intentions are based on love, I was feeling more like a part of a team than a Mama! Between flu season keeping us homebound and missing 'Daddy' and her 2 brothers (my stepsons) in Pennsylvania, we both needed a break and there aren't many places in the world that would top the comfort and AWESOME staff ~ everyone I came in contact with was so friendly and helpful, we actually extended our stay (and hope to do so again, or at least come back very soon!) ~ the rooms are beautiful, the food is delicious and the jacuzzi tub with the chromatherapy lighting is truly heaven on earth! One thing that sets Shade apart from other luxury hotels is that because it's not a huge 500 room behemoth, the intimacy and cozy yet elegant atmosphere allows guests to feel both 'at home' and like 'royalty' at the same time. Again, I found the staff to be incredible, always offering and sincerely willing to go above & beyond to make every guest's vacation dreams come true. I know that their personal touch made my daughter and I feel so very 'special' like we're part of their family! All I know is that the smile you put on her face when she first saw our room and the comfort & joy that being here has given her means so much more that you will ever know ~ finally seeing her so carefree and happy has made my heart dance again, something it hasn't done in quite a while. Thank you all so much for EVERYTHING and while we still have a couple days left, hopefully we will be able to see you all again real soon ~ you all are awesome ;)

Sincerely,
Nicole & Taylor K.
Hermosa Beach, CA

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilStarryEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

We had a party at Shade the night of September 25 2009. Ms Vought was our planner. The flexibility and attention to what was important to us was important to her. The chef the night of the party was also keen on our desires. I will (actually, already have) absolutely recommend Shade to friends and business associates. We had guests stay at the hotel overnight and their sentiments are the same. Everyone was happy, happy, happy!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flexibleyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.0 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 742 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Manhattan Beach
2.9 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Property: Shade Hotel
Address: 1221 N Valley Dr, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-4778
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing