We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Staycation!!”
Review of Shade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My hub and I wanted a few days "away" for our anniversary. Shade was the perfect choice! We drove 40 minutes to get there, put the car in valet and didn't drive it again for 4 days. We walked or biked everywhere, and there was one taxi ride to Hermosa for a comedy show.
From the moment we arrived, Aubrey was our fantastic greeter and resource. She got us set up with reservations that night at The Shore House and recommended a few other spots for us. JP was another key player in making sure we were taken care of throughout our stay.
The proximity to all things fabulous make for a relaxed and easy stay. We even had hair appts around the corner at Bob Roy Salon (I got a blow-out with Susan and my hub got a great cut and beard clean up with Jessie), and I forgot a coupon that JP gave me, so i scooted back to our room and back to the salon in all of five minutes. awesome!
I ran on the beach path all three mornings (while my husband slept), and it was always beautiful, clean and friendly. What a great way to start the day!
Ok, let's talk about how completely great the rooms are at Shade. The lighting is fun and easy to access. The beds and the PILLOWS are a total dream! The bathtub is unbelievable! We used it every day, sometimes twice in a day....and we even bought the bathrobes. Nice mementos!
Great dinner at Patros, which is right next door....and around the corner at Cafe Pierre and brunch at MB Post.
The weather was in the low-mid 70's (so great for the "winter"), so we went to the roof but didn't quite feel it was warm enough to lay out. The view however was worth the daily visit.
Lastly, we got great service in the hotel from Gustavo (during our morning breakfasts) and from Elke (cars, bikes, taxi and directions).
We'll highly recommend Shade!

Room Tip: We had 213 and it was far enough from the lounge that we couldn't hear any music on Friday or Sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaunna M, General Manager at Shade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Allison,

Wow! We could not have said it better ourselves! It sounds like you and your husband truly had a fantastic visit here at Shade Hotel and our beautiful downtown Manhattan Beach neighborhood! It definitely is a walker’s paradise. Everything you could want for a relaxing getaway is within a short walk! It is also nice to hear our staff was able to be of such wonderful service! We believe there is nothing better than exploring this wonderful beach area and then coming home to an inviting and comfortable room and we see you enjoyed our room’s amenities! From the Tempur-Pedic beds and pillows to the large Sanijet bathtubs, we have comfort covered! We hope to see you and your husband back at Shade soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 540 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

Yum, yum, yum...this place is lovely. Working hard on a business trip. My client booked me in here. What a delight. Best bed I have ever slept in on the road. Classic California cool, a few blocks from the beach and shopping. The only caution...if you want quiet get a room away from the lounge. I was glad I asked, this place is rockin on Friday nights!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeophyteHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaunna M, General Manager at Shade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Hello!

Thank you so much for your kind review of Shade Hotel! We truly appreciate it and are so happy to hear you had a wonderful experience here. All of our rooms feature those California King Tempur-Pedic beds…a favorite of many of our guests! We hope you will join us again soon, perhaps for pleasure this time, and enjoy another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

From the moment I gave my car keys to the valet until I retrieved them a few days later is was all luxury. The feeling in the hotel is hip, relaxing and friendly. Subtle lighting in the lobby sets the mood. Attention to detail is evident everywhere you look. The location is perfect. Along a street with a great variety of restaurants and cafes. Also, some lively bars. At the end of the street is the beautiful surf of Manhattan Beach. What more could I want?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaunna M, General Manager at Shade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Peter,

It was so wonderful to read your review of our hotel! We believe you summed it up perfectly! We are happy you were able to enjoy the location and surroundings of our hotel and enjoy your time at Shade, as well. We look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Shade Hotel is a perfect hotel and I can be a "hotel snob" but did not find one problem with this hotel. It is perfect for adults because of the atmosphere, but we saw some kids there too. Megan went out of her way to help make my sons 21st birthday celebration memorable. From the time we arrived until we left, everything was perfect. Megan was able to get us reservations at two restaurants that were already booked when we arrived - and both times, the tables were located in a prime space in the restaurant. The food at Shade is also excellent - we had a great lunch on the outside deck - and the complimentary continental breakfast is well done. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The fiji water/cupcake pops are a nice touch. Everything about The Shade leaves you with the feeling that you are staying in a five star hotel, but the small boutique type atmosphere makes this hotel rank higher than other 5 star hotels such as Ritz Carlton because of their personalized service. Manhattan Beach is such a fun area with restaurants and shops and The Shade is in a perfect location in Manhattan Beach. The complimentary bikes make riding on "The Strand" a fun part of any beach vacation. My only suggestion would be to have someone stopping by the roof top pool area to serve drinks and also it should stay open later - through the early evening - as it would be a great place to enjoy drinks before dinner. I would also suggest getting the equipment out of the stairway that leads to the rooftop pool and replace the carpet on the stairs - both are not an issue per se but seem unusual given the superior quality of every other aspect of the hotel. Elizabeth

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and found this to be a quiet and convenient location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaunna M, General Manager at Shade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Elizabeth,

It is wonderful to hear you loved our hotel and your son had a very memorable 21st birthday with us! Zinc@ Shade, as well as the restaurants surrounding the hotel are outstanding and it is terrific that you were able to really explore the area of downtown Manhattan Beach! It is fantastic that Megan was able to be of such great assistance for both of your restaurant reservations, as well as your son’s birthday. She is definitely an asset within our company. Our complimentary Beach Breakfast Buffet is very popular, as well as the cake pops that you enjoyed. We hope to have you back very soon, Elizabeth!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The shade is a hip, modern boutique hotel that is in a great location in Manhattan beach. The rooms were awesome and modern (AMAZING fireplaces and tub in the room with sliding glass doors). The lobby is a trendy restaurant / lounge. Its just a few blocks from the beach. The only thing stopping me from leaving an EXCELLENT review is that the reception staff wasn't very friendly or overly helpful. We showed up and they didn't have our reservation in their system (not a big deal) but they had a bit of a wack attitude about it. Overall though we had a great time and recommend it to friends & family when they are in the LA area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seansurferguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaunna M, General Manager at Shade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear SeanSurferGuy,

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed Shade Hotel so much and would recommend it to your friends and family! All of our guests seem to love the comfort and amenities of our rooms and we are so glad you were able to experience it for yourself! We are sorry to hear your front desk experience was not fantastic but thank you for the honest feedback and we will use it to improve in the future. Please come visit us again and we will make sure that your next experience is even better than your last!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Off my "Bucket List"
I loved this ultra urban location and hotel.
The rooms are awesome!
The location was perfect!
Gregor was amazing!
The staff was extremely accommodating -Megan went out of her way to take care of us.
There was an overbooking error, which was not a problem, due to the staff making arrangements for a comfortable transition for one night. The only downfall for the entire property, is that the bikes could use a a little maintenance. But, really how can you complain with "free".
It was alot of fun to ride the Strand"
Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaunna M, General Manager at Shade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Wendy,

Thank you so much for your review! We greatly appreciate your feedback!

It is so nice to hear about your pleasant experience with our staff including Gregor and Megan! We do our absolute best here at Shade to make sure everything is working well and we will look into improving our free bikes. We are so happy you and your friends joined us at Shade. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Location, room, front desk . . . I could not be happier! We are close to the beach and surrounded by great restaurants and shops. Our room is large, modern, comfortable and spotless. I wanted to go to an antique mall and the nice ladies at the front desk gave me perfect directions to Hermosa Beach since I wanted to walk. I would definitely stay here again. There is a spa next door. There isn't a fitness center on the premises, but they are affiliated with one close by.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaunna M, General Manager at Shade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Jennifer,

Shade is so happy to hear you could not have been happier with your stay. We love that you had a wonderful experience with our staff and you enjoyed the surrounding area and we could not agree more! We hope that you were able to enjoy Trilogy Spa, as well as our free access gym affiliate, Equinox.

We hope to welcome you to Shade again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
792 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
889 reviews
1 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
178 reviews
1.5 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#7 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
734 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Address: 1221 N Valley Dr, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-4778
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range: $307 - $598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing