We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway at Shade”
Review of Shade Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shade Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

We spent a night at shade recently for a short getaway and were so impressed by the friendliness and efficiency of all staff as well as the unique design of the hotel. From the time of booking with Jennifer to the time we checked out everything was seamless. We came in late and enjoyed a cocktail in the trendy lounge/bar area after a quick and easy check in process. John the bartender was great. Our room had a very unique design, a tempurpedic bed and even a cyclone fireplace which we loved. The steam shower, jacuzzi tub, lovely bath products and complimentary beer on tap were definite pluses! (We were in the penthouse suite). But I had a peek in the regular rooms as well and though smaller, they are beautiful.

Mac the driver was a gem and picked us up from dinner ... Definitely ask for him if you need a lift. Although Shade is so well located that you shouldn't need a car ...

The hotel is just a couple of blocks up from the beach, so we took a walk down and browsed in all of the lovely shops/restaurants along the way the next morning after having a delicious breakfast at Shade in the zinc lounge.

All in all a great hassle free night away from it all ... Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LEV23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 521 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here one night for a family wedding so we would not have to drive home/ 45 minutes away.

What's to like:

Good vibe, rooftop sundeck w a postage stamp sized wading pool, walkable to beach and pier, in heart of downtown MB. Room genrally has good amenities-aamazing beds, lavazza coffee machine, free wifi, free water, free buffet bkfst with deviled eggs and smoked salmon

What's not:

There is a huge bathtub in middle of the room. Great for a roantic encounter but oddly out of place. But the shampoo, conditioner and shower gel are bolted to the wall in the adjacent shower. Hotel later said you can call to ask for shampoo, etc if you do not want to use the products bolted to the wall.

The hotel is not "beach adjacent" as noted on website. While the hotel is in midst of downtown Manhattan Beach, it is actually a 3 block walk down a steep hill to get to the bike path and sand. It's a pleasant walk down but a good test of lungs on return trip.

Our friend's wedding was awesome-lovely decor, very tasty food, etc but we essentially shut the hotel down-other guests were sent elsewhere to eat, and people stopping by what is a popular place with locals were also turned away. If you want to use hotel amentities while staying here call ahead to see if there a big event taking over the hotel.

Some rooms overlook courtyard area where all those wedding events take place-ours did. We stayed up very late so dinner and disco did not keep us up late. There are no rooms with ocean view due do location several blocks away.

In a similar theme the hotel front desk staff and parking staff were overwhelmed by volume. We had to ask three times to get our car brought up-it took 20 minutes.

Would we consider staying here again? Maybe but only after determining that we would be able to enjoy amenities.

Room Tip: do not accept a room overlooking interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highlandbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had our lovely and intimate wedding at Shade in September 2012. We were married on the Skydeck and held our reception in the same place.

Jolise (Dir of Events) is fabulous! She was on top of everything that day and really had everything running smoothly! Megan (Hotel Manager) was also an incredible help the day of my wedding. The staff was great as well, very professional, on top of everything, but discreet.

The food was fantastic! We had a plated sit down dinner. Really great chef there! We had a couple of hiccups with a kid's meal and the desert, but only I and Jolise noted it! Everything ran smooth and I am so happy to have chosen this hotel as our venue. Worth every penny!

We also spent the night at Shade. Very comfy rooms. Not super large, but big enough. Love the amenities, although the shower is a bit on the small side.

Bellmen and Front Desk are very prompt and courteous and assisted us with all of our items from the wedding and we forgot our left over wedding cake. We went to pick it up later that evening and it was packaged for us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kguerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you're looking for a small boutique hotel with 4 star service...book at Shade. From the minute I arrived to when I (regrettably) departed, the staff and hotel exceeded my expectations. Manhattan Beach is a relaxed beach town that's a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle, see and be seen aspect of LA. And Shade Hotel perfectly reflects the vibe of the town...casual but well appointed. Public space is designed but not over designed...comfort before cool. Rooms are clean and well appointed...and for once...electric outlets are abundant and easy to access. Everyone...from the valet to the front desk to the bartenders to the housekeepers...are friendly, helpful and professional. And to top it all off...it's well priced. Cant' wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for two nights after arriving from the UK at the start of our vacation. Staff v friendly and helpful. Great breakfast, location is great for exploring the beach, and quick to/from the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Fantastic boutique hotel, trendy but not too trendy. The minute I set foot in the hotel I felt at ease. I hate big American hotels and so far this is the one that I will return to if I find myself in the LA district again. A short walk to the beach, nice shops nearby and a laid back atmosphere, which is hard to get in USA.

The bathroom is fantastic, lighting is hilarious, the beds are so comfortable and the coffee machine in the room was brill.

I will def return to Shade if I am in this area again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here in October 2011 for two nights. The hotel is a short drive from the airport and a quick walk to Manhattan beach. Everything at the hotel was pleasant. We had a room on the ground floor and didn't have any problems with noise or security. Staff were pleasant and the breakfast nice and healthy!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chickendip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
1.2 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
776 reviews
1.5 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#7 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
722 reviews
1.7 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
734 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
2.8 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shade Hotel

Address: 1221 N Valley Dr, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-4778
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range: $306 - $654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Shade, Manhattan Beach's premiere luxury boutique hotel, located 5.6 miles south of LAX and two blocks from the beach. Shade is a cool retreat after a long day at the office or a hot day at the beach, its exquisite environment is designed to maximize comfort and inspire relaxation while capturing the essence of coastal living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelClick, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shade Hotel Manhattan Beach
Shade Manhattan Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing