We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SoCal's best seafood spot?”

Fishing with Dynamite
Reserve with OpenTable
Fishing with Dynamite is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Marina del Rey, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“SoCal's best seafood spot?”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Might not be everyone's cup of tea, but in my last 3 years living in southern CA, this is the best seafood spot I've been able to find. We try to hit up FWD once a month or so and haven't had a bad meal yet.

The Peruvian scallops are the best of the raw bar IMO. The seasonal specials are usually great. My favorites so far have been the shrimp po-boy and the fish tacos. Its a shame those aren't permanent fixtures of the menu though. The current season menu has a whole snapper that is stuffed and deep fried. Crunchy with all sorts of flavors. The fries are a nice salty side.

Our schedules are a little crazy, so we don't have the luxury of making advance reservations for dinner time. I suggest making reservations waaaay in advance if you can, since it is ALWAYS packed, but as long as you don't go at peak time, the wait list is usually not too bad. At least there are plenty of places nearby to grab a drink while you wait (because there definitely isn't much room inside).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wd62627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    60
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dynamite!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Nice oyster selection! We also ordered the Dungeness crab, New England Clam Chowde, FwD fries and all were great.

The only negative to the restaurant is the space. It is a little cramped, but, the emphasis for us is the food, so I still scored it excellent!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kavikaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Fresh Seafood in South Bay”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Chef Dave LeFevre continues to surprise the local MB community with great restaurants and food (like its sister Manhattan Beach Post).

If you like raw bar and just superbly cooked FRESH seafood you must visit FWD. The vibe is hip and cool and the crowd is young and energetic matching the great scene and food if this local gem!

Helpful?
Thank LuxeTravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great food but too loud music”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

the food is really great and the place has a nice decor, but the music is too loud and everybody is yellong instead of talking. i had to ask the nice and friendly waitress to lower the volume, wich she did, and then it became bearable.
the raw bar was great, specially the scallops. the redesigned clam chowder was also very tasteful.
strongly recommended if you don't mid loud music.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pero_brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Have been here twice now and loved it each time. The raw bar is great, with an assortment of oysters from both West and East Coast, as well as scallops, clams, and crab. The clam chowder is perhaps the best I have ever had - very rich and creamy with bits of bacon. Many of the larger plates, like the grilled octopus, fish & chips, tuna tartare are also outstanding. Finally, the drinks are delicious, and there are cool seafood-related posters all around the restaurant, making for a great setting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessaki_voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishing with Dynamite also viewed

Manhattan Beach, CA
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to Fishing with Dynamite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing