We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop Here for a Drink or Full Meal”
Review of Islands Restaurant

Islands Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 191 Restaurants in Manhattan Beach
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stop Here for a Drink or Full Meal”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Malls are a challenge, especially on the West Side. Islands is the perfect place for a family or the "non-shopping" spouse to rest, relax watch a game then entertain the rest of the family with a great meal and good wine or beer. One of the best values for keeping peace in the family and enjoying good food and fellowship, especially for USC fans at the bar!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    40
    19
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Affordable lunch specials”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Pretty good burger place. Fries bottomless, but inconsistent, overdone a lot of the time. I actually prefer their chicken sandwiches vs the burgers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WonderGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect for a casual place”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

If your looking for a burger or tacos this is perfect. Casual family place for a reasonable price. TV's are located throughout so you can watch while dining. Service was great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank audie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bottomless Tortilla Soup; burgers very disappointing”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Being one who embraces a great burger, I was told to try Islands. Very disappointing. Meat was over cooked and not tasty. To give them a fair shake, I went there again and once again the burger was not tasty. Maybe they need a new meat supplier. I went back a third time to try the Tortilla Soup which was pretty good. Recommend asking for extra avocado and sour cream when ordering the all you can eat soup. The booths are tight, so if you are a large person you will be uncomfortable. The service, each time I visited, was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MWG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Food - Excellent Service”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Islands used to have locations in South Florida back in the early 90s and it was one of our favorite restaurants. By the end of the decade, all Florida locations closed and we were very disappointed. My family makes it a point to have several meals at Islands whenever we visit California! On our recent trip, we visited this location, as well as the one in Huntington Beach and Seal Beach. All were awesome. This location had particularly great service. We requested "kid's cups" to take back to Florida with us, and our waiter even brought us extras with our refills. Our favorite menu items are the Hula Burger and Kona Pie. The food is consistently delicious and although the prices have risen quite a bit in recent years, you still get a lot of food for your money. In my opinion, the Hula is the best burger I've had anywhere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Knani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Islands Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Islands Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing