We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good Chinese food at a resonable cost”
Review of China Grill

China Grill
Ranked #70 of 191 Restaurants in Manhattan Beach
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good Chinese food at a resonable cost”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Unfortunately there are no great Chinese restaurants in Manhattan Beach. There is, however, a very good one - China Grill. I ordered Pan Fried Chow Mein which features wok toasted noodles topped with sauteed China peas and tender greens. It is possible to add beef or chicken, but since I am vegan, I added tofu. The portion is very generous, the vegetables crisp and not soggy, and the sauce very favorable. In the past I have had the Soy Lo Mein with sauteed Asian spaghetti noodles in rich soy sauce and mixed vegetables.- also very good. There are an inside dining room and an enclosed outdoor eating area. Service is good and prices reasonable.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    29
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
331 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Good American Style Chinese Food”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The low down is that its good, fresh and fast. All delivered by a friendly staff with a smile on their face. This review is short and sweet just like our visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Wanderlusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in the west”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Had an absolutely wonderful meal of Garlic Chicken with Wild Mushrooms, Fiery Fish, and Crispy Orange Peel Beef, My favorite was whatever I was chewing at the time. The service is good and the portions are more than adequate. It isn't cheap, but if you want an excellent meal it is totally worth the price. We also ordered brown rice with pork, which was good, but not nearly as good as the other three entrees, and those were enough for 3 people along with the complementary rice. I can't wait to go back there!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoPlains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you are looking for fresh delicious aisan food you need to try this place. staff was friendly too

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vicbaez23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Really good food but pretty bland vibe.”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I can't really complain. We had a very nice waitress. Our food came out fast and we thoroughly enjoyed it all. We shared the poke (yummm!), spring rolls, mandarin salad, garlic noodles and stir fried veggies. Good food. All of it. But, the atmosphere...is very.....well....homogenous.
It is just outside the Manhattan Beach Mall, so it really shouldn't be a mystery as to who would be dining there - but I guess I was hoping for a bit more "character" on the inside.
However, that said, no complaints. Good food and not overly expensive.
If you are in the mood for good basic Chinese food and you only want to stay in the Manhattan Beach area, then this place will be perfect!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Grill also viewed

Manhattan Beach, CA
 
El Segundo, CA
 

Been to China Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing