We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Side dishes the best” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rock'N Fish

Rock'N Fish
Reserve with OpenTable
Rock'N Fish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Manhattan Ave.
Transit: Ocean Express free trolley service is available from the LAX area to various stops around Manhattan Beach. For more information, call 310.642.7851.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
306 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Side dishes the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Whatever you decide to order us very good. Amazing sandwiches, wonderful fish dishes, but best of all.... The side dishes.... OMG!!! Loved them!

Helpful?
Thank mimiMexico_df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    276
    220
    34
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sooooo Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

We didn't have reservations and the place was hopping, but we were seated within half an hour. They take your phone number so that you are free to roam around instead of being stuck standing around. We had steak and prime rib sandwich. Both were absolutely delicious. The service was perfect. We sat upstairs and it was very cozy. We will be back again!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Candice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good for All Sorts of Occasions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Rock'n Fish was recommended to us by our hotel. We called at 5:00 on a Saturday night and were unable to get a reservation, but the hostess encouraged us to "walk-up," so we did and were immediately seated.

The service was quick, friendly and competent. Our waiter had a large party of about 12, in addition to a couple of smaller tables to serve, and he gave every one of us the attention we deserved.

The menu is really varied and it was a tough choice to narrow down an entree. We ended up with the basic grilled salmon and the crab po' boy. Both were excellent choices, fresh and good-tasting, well-presented and a pretty good value. We enjoyed the vast selection of sides from which to choose.

The only "con" of this place is that it's super loud, due to the hard finishes and loud music. This makes it feel vibrant, but limits the amount of conversation you can have. We were seated in a corner at the back of the balcony and it was probably the quietest spot in the room and one I'd highly recommend if you want to actually "visit" with your party.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SixOneTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I'd go back just for the sides”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

On the noisy side, and dimly lit so it is difficult to read the menu, but worth a visit. My ahi was seared on the outside, raw in the middle - the waiter told me this was how it would be - but the fish was fresh and tasty. The outstanding part for me, though, were the sides: each dish comes with a choice of two sides, selected from an extensive list and seasonal specials. I had the special green beans, nice and crisp, and dithered over my second choice until I decided on the mac and cheese. My partner's crab cakes were OK, but on the dry side, with more bread than I would put in them. It's a popular place: luckily we made reservations and had no problems even though we arrived early.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tardigrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Seafood bar at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

If you are a seafood lover, come here. Everything on their menu is great. Must make reservations, it gets packed. I love their ambience, location and overall crowd. Wait can sometimes take forever if you are a walk-in. The food and drinks are all awesome. I never get disappointed with a great plate of fresh catch of the day with a nice pairing of white wine.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock'N Fish also viewed

 
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to Rock'N Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing