We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Redefines ice cream sandwich!!”

Manhattan Beach Creamery
Ranked #1 of 13 Dessert in Manhattan Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Redefines ice cream sandwich!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

OMG, you must get their Ice cream sandwich!! For about the same price as a cone, you get two amazing cookies filled with smooth and creamy ice cream! This place has lots of candy and treats for the kids, along with a large ice cream selection for cones and such. but the real treats are the delicious cookie ice-cream sandwiches, in many variations, some dipped in chocolate. Of course you want the chocolate dipped ones! Take my word for it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 7mlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    42
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada - USA
Level Contributor
519 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 545 helpful votes
“Lots of Treats”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

The shop is on the corner of Manhattan Avenue ad Manhattan Beach Boulevard, and is a short walk to the beach. We had ice cream on a Sunday afternoon at about 3 p.m. and waited in line for 15 minutes to be served.

All ice cream is milk based and there are no sorbets or ices available. Besides ice cream, frozen yogurt can be ordered. Frozen yogurt or ice cream can be ordered for a cup, sugar cone or cake cone. There are many great flavors to choose from such as Red Velvet, Coconut, Cotton Candy, Vanilla, Strawberry, Chocolate, Coffee, Butter Pecan, etc.

The shop is not configured well for serving ice cream and then paying, as customer lines merge into each other for those waiting for dessert items and/or wanting t pay, and those being served ice cream. There is an area against the window that has four tables with two seat tables for in shop eating.

In addition to ice cream, there are very large Pez dispensers, chocolates, candy and caramel apples, cupcakes, and many other treates.

As is anywhere in this area, parking is very difficult to come by and will require change for parking meters.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VegasBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
151 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Frozen Banannas ROCK!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

My cousin brought me and my kids here before we walked on the beach and pier. The ice cream was awesome, its a cute old fashioned one too so its fun for everyone. Besides sweet treats they have darling gifts too! Defintely stop in there when visting MB.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
416 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

After a delicious dinner elsewhere in MB, I was thinking ice cream would be perfect. No sooner do I think that, then I stumble upon this place. It looks like your classic ice cream parlor - exactly what you'd dream up for a beach town like this. The lines are long, but I found that if I ordered a cookie sandwich I could just go straight to the register. They offer many options - I had vanilla ice cream sandwiched between M&M cookies. Delicious! I want another one right now, just thinking about it. Definitely a must stop!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jays165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
245 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Test your willpower here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Can see why they call it a creamery as I've never had ice cream with that texture! With a number of interesting flavors it was difficult to decide and although the waffle cones smelled and looked tempting, figured the chunks of frozen bananas would be easier to eat in a cup. The way the spoon clung to the sticky ice cream was interesting to watch as it slowly dripped over the sides. Before leaving, the chocolate dipped ice cream sandwich cookies silently called our names so it was a test of willpower! Today we won(sort of), but probably not for long!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shimadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manhattan Beach Creamery also viewed

Manhattan Beach, CA
Manhattan Beach, CA
 
Manhattan Beach, CA
Manhattan Beach, CA
 
Manhattan Beach, CA
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to Manhattan Beach Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing