We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Madison, WI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the Best!!!”
Reviewed February 7, 2010

This place fit all of my needs. Liked that everything was included upfront with a very reasonable rate. Parking, and internet were free! They also have free full breakfast with eggs, bacon, and waffles and much more. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff went above and beyond when helping me directions. Pretty close to the beach. I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danzthaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    325
    112
    40
    19
See reviews for
273
195
54
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

I agree with others that this property is a little strange and depressing. Odd smell in the room, loud plumbing from other rooms and terrible coffee in the breakfast room as well as inferior food choice. The hotel and room decor was a step above a Motel 6. But the prices did not reflect the condition of the property, so it was a very bad value. My recommendation is to look for a better alternative in the area. Next time I will.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sojournerabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornSuitesMB, Manager at Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2010
Here at the Hawthorn Suites Manhattan Beach we wish to provide each and every guest with outstanding customer service and quality. Our motto is to always try to resolve any issues our guests may have once they are brought to our attention. Any time that a guest brings a matter or concern to our attention we always try to resolve the situation to the satisfaction of the guest in a prompt manner. We have recently upgraded our food selection and items. The Hawthorn Suites Manhattan Beach strives to provide excellent service, clean and comfortable accommodations that exceed our guest’s expectations. Customer satisfaction is our #1 concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We picked this hotel based on reviews here and we weren't dissapointed. We arrived super grumpy from a SatNav related detour and were immediately cheered up by the sunny Spanish influence and villa like feel of our room. Best of all we had a big bag of free goodies on our bed. The room had a menu from a local reliable take-out and it was great to get a delivery right to the door and collapse on the comfy beds. Breakfast buffet was fine, the outdoor patio dining area was really tranquil and pleasant.

We took a cab to Manhattan beach which only cost $6 and had a lovely swim and saunter around the next day. Unlike in Venice we didn't hear loads of brit accents which was nice - felt a bit more authentically local at Manhattan beach.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonTreepixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2009

I stayed at Hawthorn Suites (Manhattan Beach) because I wanted to stay close to LAX (but far enough away not to hear the planes) and because this place had good reviews.
There are restaurants and bars nearby. A very good shopping mall 5mins walk. And the beach is a 15-20 min walk.
Shuttle available to and from LAX (US$10 each way for one; US$15 for two). Otherwise taxi is about US$20 each way.
I was happy with the hot breakfast (incl in the room rate).
If you want a quiet room then ask at the time of booking as some of the rooms front on to a busy road.
I have rated this hotel high because it was perfect my needs, ie a lay over close to LAX, between flights.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eng3910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2009

The room was great, the staff was great, the location was great, The bed was great!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Realtorman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

Decided to stay here based on reading other reviews. Was not disappointed. The parking lot was not difficult to find. Happy it was free. check in was easy - gave us water, cooklies and a nice "goodie package." Room was extremely clean and fine for us. As a family we loved the breakfast and social hour nightly. We were happy to read about the massage on a previous review on Wednesday; otherwise the hotel didn't tell tell us. Breakfast included eggs, sausage, bacon, hash browns, waffle maker, cereals, breads, etc. Was more than fine for us. Social hour included beer, wine, veggies and dip, cheese and crackers and 1 or 2 hot items. Some nights we just ate at the social hour - it was enough for us. Staff was friendly, hotel convnient to airport, as well as 405. there is a mall within walking distance with many restaurants and also, a Target nearby. I felt it was an excellent location. We requested a room not on sepulveda and wish was granted. I would stay again and again when coming to LA. Not disappointing. Used AAA discount when booking. Stay hear and you wont be disappointed. Only downside is there isn't a pool. Beach is about 1 mile away- you could drive and park or take a shuttle which you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yankeeboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2009

I was so relieved when I saw the room at this hotel, after the previous lodging during our road trip to Southern California. It was clean, bright, modern, and just made me feel comfortable in a way I can't really put into words. The rate was lower than most of the other chains, so I would consider this a great value. An important thing to note is that this hotel is close to LAX, but doesn't charge for parking.

The location is very close to shops and restaurants (a mall is nearby), which is great if you've rolled into town late in the day and don't want to venture through LA to grab a bite. We stayed here for four nights, and I was a little sad when we left.

The room itself was a little on the small side for a suite (maybe 20X20?), but it was perfectly adequate. It is basically split into quadrants which are all open to one another in the middle. Quadrant 1 holds a desk/bar sink area with microwave and fridge. Quadrant 2 is a small living area with sofa and coffee table. Quadrant 3 is the bedroom area (bigger than the other areas), and Quadrant 4 is the bathroom area (sink is separated from toilet/shower, which is enclosed). The TV is located sort of in the middle of the area so you can view it from the living area or bed.

I felt that this was the cleanest room of our trip (4 different locations). This is really important to me. The only slight negative I have was that you can hear the occupants of the next room pretty well through the walls. However, it seems that is pretty common in hotels where I've stayed. I would definitely stay here again. Even the breakfast was satisfying (full breakfast with hashbrowns, bacon, scrambled eggs, sausage patties, waffle maker and the other standard bread/bagels/cereal/juice).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manhattan Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
749 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#6 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
0.8 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
503 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hi View Inn & Suites
Hi View Inn & Suites
#5 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
Address: 1817 N. Sepulveda Blvd., Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-2901 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Manhattan Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to enjoy a fresh, new hotel experience were our motto is Live Well, Sleep Easy. Situated in the heart of fashionable Manhattan Beach, our contemporary studio and one-bedroom suites offer the cozy ambiance of residential living in Southern California's relaxing beach culture. NOW WITH EVEN FASTER DOWNLOAD AND UPLOAD SPEED. EXPERIENCE THE DIFFERENCE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Los Angeles Hotel Manhattan Beach
Hawthorn Suites Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing