We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Manhattan Beach
Reviewed February 10, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HawthornSuitesMB, Manager at Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 857 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a great stay Front desk were helpful and polite. Beds were very comfortable Tv in weird place in the dbl/dbl rooms. Evening reception during the weekdays is an added bonus. Breakfast was good. Juice, eggs, sausage , bacon, waffles, with berry toppings. Coffee and cereal also. Downside. Toilet paper is rough and you can hear your neighbor flush the toilet. I would stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank libertycdamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at Hawthorn in Manhattan Beach, CA from Friday to Monday. Overall the trip was very average. We are a very easy going 30'something married couple for reference. We arrived at around 1am PST from a cross-country flight. Upon checking in we were greated by a younger front desk attendant. His greeting was very generic and robotic, no real interest or excitement that we were staying at the hotel.

The rooms are fairly spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable and plenty of space all around. The TV was definitely located in an odd spot, facing diagonal to the bed. No problems with that, just odd.

Unfortunately, we were hit with a few odd situations. We returned from a day out in LA in what I had hoped was a relaxing afternoon watching the end of the NFL football games. We found out that the cable was out in the entire hotel with nothing on. It was out for a few hours which was disapointing as all we wanted to do was relax for a bit in the room. The morning of our departure we attempted to take showers to which we found the water off. We called the front desk who explained their was a plumbing problem in the hotel and they would call us back. Again, nothing major, but minor inconveniences.

Overall, the hotel is very convenient to the area. It is easily accessible and close to the beach. I wouldnt stay there again, but wouldnt tell someone NOT to go there. For the cost and convenience, it worked out well for us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwinans47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HawthornSuitesMB, Manager at Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I would like to apologize for the problems that you experienced with our Time Warner cable system. Unfortunately during your stay Time Warner experienced an outage throughout the area due to equipment failure. In addition, I would also like to apologize for the problem that you experienced with the water being turned off in your suite, we are currently updating our plumbing fixtures and our Maintenance department accidentally shut off the water supply raiser bordering the rooms that he was working on. As soon as this matter was brought to our attention we had maintenance restore service to the room. Again I would like to apologize for the problems that you encountered thought your stay at our property, and hope to see you again in the future. Our goal is to provide each and every guest with a clean, comfortable, and flawless stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HawthornSuitesMB, Manager at Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We recently stayed here for 2 nights on the last leg of our US trip. I specifically chose this hotel because of its proximity to the beach and I was not disappointed. It only took me about 5-10 minutes to drive to the pier station. You could definitely walk, but I would not recommend walking if you have a child below 5 yrs.

We checked-in Friday evening after driving 4.5 hours from Las Vegas, so I was really tired. To my surprise, this hotel has a medium couch and a sort of a divider between the bedroom and small living room. I also loved the fact that there's a small fridge and separate table for my computer where I could comfortably surf the net.

The only negative thing I experienced about this hotel was the service I got from the evening staff manning the front desk. I needed to buy something late in the evening and asked the front desk guy if there's any 24-hour convenience store near the area and he said there's none. The following morning, when I drove out of the hotel, I saw a Walgreens just about 2 mins away and it's open 24 hours. You could imagine how I felt! I hope the management could do something about that guy. It's a pity I didn't get his name. I could have reported him to the management. I would understand if he's new to the job but he could at least try to ask or surf the net to search for something, right?

But overall, we had a nice stay here. I'd definitely book this hotel again for any future trip to LA.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meelstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

"Day" at the front desk could not have been more accommodating. The room and common areas were immaculate. However, the rooms don't have good sound insulation, and anyone walking outside on the tiles is very noisy, which someone did at 4:30 am.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank boothstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Carl F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manhattan Beach
0.6 mi away
The Belamar Hotel
The Belamar Hotel
#3 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
780 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manhattan Beach Marriott
Manhattan Beach Marriott
#7 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
724 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
The Sea View Inn at the Beach
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles LAX/Manhattan Beach
0.8 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
527 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel

Address: 1817 N Sepulveda Blvd, Manhattan Beach, CA 90266-2901 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Manhattan Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Manhattan Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Manhattan Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Manhattan Beach
Price Range: $148 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to enjoy a fresh, new hotel experience were our motto is Live Well, Sleep Easy. Situated in the heart of fashionable Manhattan Beach, our contemporary studio and one-bedroom suites offer the cozy ambiance of residential living in Southern California's relaxing beach culture. NOW WITH EVEN FASTER DOWNLOAD AND UPLOAD SPEED. EXPERIENCE THE DIFFERENCE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Manhattan Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Los Angeles Hotel Manhattan Beach
Hawthorn Suites Manhattan Beach
Manhattan Beach Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing