We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place !”
Review of The Strand House

The Strand House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Strand House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $55
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean Drive
Description: Down at the beach, overlooking the Pacific Ocean,The Strand House rises elegantly and iconically above the breakers. Like in an oceanfront home, friends become family and strangers become friends.
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a lovely place !”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We arrived here just by good luck, our car was parked in front of the restaurant, we looked up and thought : yes, this is our lunch spot. What a gem !!! We were seated on the patio, fantastic view on the pier and beach. The food was really good, for the first time during tihs holiday I even took a dessert (deconstructed cheescake with pear sorbet & ome granata reduction, olala) . if you're in the neughbourhoord : go go go and enjoy !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandrine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    187
    42
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eatontown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Food was amazing! We had a party of 9. Called day of and scored a table. We all had different pizzas and some sides. Service was wonderful; very attentive. The place turns into a club at night though, so finish early (before 10p) or get a higher floor table. View is outstanding, looking down the Manhattan pier.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KP_SpeakerFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inviting Ocean View”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Great Cucumber lime basil Martini and the best scallops I've had in a long time. Get a table next to the window on the second floor, the ocean and pier view is beautiful.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LorenaBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This place was recommended by our hotel concierge at the Westin Hotel near LAX. Great choice. A short taxi ride took us there. When we were ready to leave there were plenty of taxis to be able to get back to the airport. Saturday brunch was amazing as was the service. The view of the ocean was beautiful! Four of us flew in from Houston for the Eagles concert the night before and wanted to be able to have a nice long brunch before flying back to Houston that day. We were not disappointed! We spent over 2 hours at our table having brunch, drinks, dessert and coffee and never felt rushed by our waiter to leave even though the place was a bit crowded. Sam was our waiter and he took very good care of us. Very friendly, patient with our special food requests and very attentive! We will certainly return!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank norm_lanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Nice hip place to hang out”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Next to manhattan beach, a very in place to hang out. Downstairs is the open bar, filled with confortable sofas, where you can have a drink, eat salads and pizzas.
In the ypper level is the very fancy restaurant.
In front of the waterfront beach, you have a lovely view

Helpful?
Thank mimiMexico_df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strand House also viewed

 
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to The Strand House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing