We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool spot with great views and good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Strand House

The Strand House
Reserve with OpenTable
The Strand House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $55
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ocean Drive
Description: Down at the beach, overlooking the Pacific Ocean,The Strand House rises elegantly and iconically above the breakers. Like in an oceanfront home, friends become family and strangers become friends.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cool spot with great views and good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Hosted a dinner get together here with co-workers. Great atmosphere and service. We had torn rag pasta and tuna for apps and variety for dinner. Most pop was the short ribs. Very good. Shared several deserts. Of course the donuts were the biggest hit. Especially the PBJ one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnNewby66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    183
    42
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good brunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were a little put off when we were told that yes, we could be seated at a table on a Sunday morning for brunch, but we would have to vacate the table by 12:30 p.m. because others had reservations. We decided to give it a go anyway and take our time. We were glad we did. We had the amazing lemon ricotta pancakes, and my husband swore they were the best pancakes he ever had. They were light and fluffy. I had the special Eggs Benedict with the special bacon, a specialty of the house, and it was amazing, as well. Top it off with mimosas and we were good to go. We even had a really nice view of the Strand and the beach... perfect for a Sunday morning!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MicheleKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Bar with the View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I do not like the food here too much but I enjoy having drinks or coffee at the bar downstairs where you can see the ocean and the pier and people walking up and down the beach.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank isseyree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Elegance on the Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We wandered into The Strand House on our first day in Manhattan Beach, not knowing what to expect. The service was great. The food strived for perfection, and where it fell short the management apologised and made up for the minor problem. The mains were delicious, and we cleaned our plates completely. We attempted the desserts, which were wonderful, but a bit more than our European trained eating habits could manage. We will definitely be back and asking for the same waitress, Harmony, who was just brilliant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimWhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful location on the Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had a business lunch there last week and got a beautiful clear day on the coast so the view was really wonderful. Our waiter was very attentative and checked on us often as we spent a lot of time catching up before we ordered. We didn't have appetizers so am not sure how they were. I ordered the Jidori Chicken Sandwich but did not have the Bacon on it. I will say it was not all that great. I think the bacon aioli must have made the sandwich, but just couldn't do that addition and without it there was nothing to the sandwich and it was very dry.

One of my co-workers had the Cuban Panino and he wasn't all that satified either. I don't know how the others with us liked their meals so I can't comment on that. Price wise the meals were in line with what you would expect from a restaurant of this quality but at the end, perhaps we would have done better with some of the specials they had that day. Overall, the view was great, but not sure based on what I had that the food would draw me back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DNAZ_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Strand House also viewed

 
Manhattan Beach, CA
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to The Strand House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing