We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Out of The BOX !!!”

Manhattan Beach Post
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Manhattan Beach Blvd
Description: Manhattan Beach Post (M.B. Post), a soulful, highly personal restaurant by Chef and co-owner David LeFevre brings a playful, artisan menu of small shared plates, hand-crafted cocktails, and small production wines to the South Bay. M.B. Post is the culmination of 15 years of work, travel, and finely honed technique in the world's most vibrant culinary communities by Michelin-stared chef, David LeFevre. Renowned for his fine-dining experience and seafood mastery at Water Grill, LeFevre returns to his culinary roots with a more rustic menu, built to be shared and served in a gracious and welcoming environment.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Totally Out of The BOX !!!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the uniqueness of the old post office transformed into a memorable dining experience. The pairings of each ingredient in each dish compelled you to
slowly savor the multitude of flavors. We experienced all the favorites, bacon and cheddar with maple butter, shirt steak perfectly cooked, diver scallops and we were able to snatch the last
chicken pot pie. After two amazing desserts we left perfectly satisfied!! The reservations for our group were made weeks in advance to guarantee us a private table.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fanfromphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    121
    26
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
523 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Good but Overpriced”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a simple lunch at the MB Post. The bacon and cheddar biscuits with maple butter were delicious, but at $5 for two biscuits, they were pricey. My wife had truffle fried chicken. Neither of us could taste truffle in the 3 pieces of chicken. We also found the crust to be oily and dense. At $15, this too was expensive.

I had a burrata and pepper sandwich with pesto sauce. It was delicious, served on a pretzel-like bun. Cost $10.

As other reviewers have noted, the place is noisy. We did not have a reservation, but were able to get immediate seating at one of the communal tables. Seating is also available at the bar.

Overall, the food was good, but not outstanding, except fo the biscuits.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A great experience--Innovative, unique, well-prepared food”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a great place to eat in Manhattan Beach. We arrived on a Sunday night without reservations and waited for space at one of the communal tables. Much to our surprise we were seated at our own table. Yes, the place is loud and the food is not inexpensive, but it was worth it.
The dishes were of excellent quality and the preparations were tops. The menu offers very interesting choices of many small plates to share. Our very helpful and friendly server Holly guided us through the menu and helped us make selections--she was great. Highlights for us were the bacon-cheese bisquits, the cheese & charcuterie plate (so good!), diver scallops, skirt steak, and 2 dessert choices. We will certainly plan to go back on our next visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank turtlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Overrated, too noisy, and too expensive”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and I went there with another couple. We did not have to wait long for a seat; however, the music was so loud and the acoustics were so bad, there was no way we could converse with one another. The food was mediocre (although the reason we went was because we heard it was supposed to be fabulous), and ridiculously expensive. Portions were small plate size. The service was horrible; it took forever to get the various dishes and most of them were no longer hot. Did I mention the expense? I don't mind spending money, but I do NOT like being ripped off. The place is one of those typical trendy, "hip," "be seen" places that charges a lot of money for the privilege. We'll never go back.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank CABeachTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellicott city, md
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

First time at this restaurant and we could not be more pleased with the excellence of the food and service. While most of the items are small plates, there are a few not so small items. And the server was very helpful regarding choosing how much to order. Don't worry if you can't get a reservation, as there are also "communal" tables for walk-ins, where you can be as social as you want to be, or not. The mussels was a large serving with a little rice and an absolutely divine broth. The diver scallops were likewise unbelievable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rmwellicottcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manhattan Beach Post also viewed

Manhattan Beach, CA
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to Manhattan Beach Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing