We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and chips with beer”

Second Story - Hotel Belamar
Reserve with OpenTable
Second Story - Hotel Belamar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 192 Restaurants in Manhattan Beach
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rosecrans
Transit: Metro Bus stop location on the corner of Rescans & Sepulveda...directly in front of the hotel.
Description: Don’t just go out to eat, go for the total experience! Start with our amazing menu comprised of Americana inspired comfort food with a twist. Relish in our custom hand-crafted drinks, carefully selected wine menu from around the globe and fantastic happy hour with $4 wells and drafts from 4:00pm -7:00pm daily. Take in our striking mid-century modern decor and finally realize the savings with prices you can actually afford! Second Story Restaurant is sure to become your favorite new "hidden" hot spot in the heart of Manhattan Beach! FREE Valet parking is provided.
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fish and chips with beer”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

It's so good that I order an other one to go!
If you drink beer, it will be even better!
The setting is pretty cozy, friendly staff and fast delivery on the meal! Reasonable price and has happy hour too!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gregory2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    25
    0
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We ate at the Second Story half an hour before it closed for dinner. Our server was just great. She greeted us quickly and got us our wine bottle. This restaurant has a nice and reasonably priced wine list. For dinner I had the gruyere cheeseburger, and my wife had a turkey club, which was pretty good. The coleslaw, however, was very good. For some reason they gave my wife French fries as well as coleslaw, okay, that’s a bonus. Overall, a very nice dinner and I’d eat here again if I stayed either at the Belamar or in Manhattan Beach. We also ate here the next morning for the breakfast buffet. Yes, it’s buffet only, and we don’t generally like buffets because they’re hard to keep things fresh and warm but this one was pretty good and included at least one or two made-to-order items (huevos rancheros, which weren’t very good, and a good Belgian waffle in our case). Coffee was very good and the servers were great. Again, very good service, they even let us come back into the restaurant after check-out to get a couple of cups of coffee in to-go cups. We liked this restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Always good...”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Always a great happy hour where appetizers and some entrees are 1/2 price. I love the lamb chops, sliders and french fries for an early dinner. Service is always excellent -- and food consistently good. It is a bit noisy is the only bummer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeLudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Breakfast well worth it”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for three nights and had breakfast in the Second Story restaurant each morning. The service was prompt and attentive. The food on the buffet was nicely displayed and there was a good assortment of breakfast items. The orders for waffles, omelets and pancakes were taken at the table by the waitstaff. Everything was well prepared and delicious. Would definitely dine here again when staying at Hotel Belamar.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norm S, General Manager at Second Story - Hotel Belamar, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hello Traveljunkie1978,

Thank you so much for your great review of our restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast during your stay at the Belamar. We’d love to welcome you back on your next trip to the area and hopefully you can try us for dinner or happy hour which I believe you’ll find to be just as enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“tasty food accompanied by good service”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Nicely presented meals and friendly service. so easy to eat here as it was in the hotel I was staying at

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TrishyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Second Story - Hotel Belamar also viewed

 
Manhattan Beach, CA
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Been to Second Story - Hotel Belamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing