We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accidental diner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mucho - CLOSED

Mucho
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 9th Street
Transit: Complimentary Ocean Express trolley service is available from LAX area hotels to various stops in and around Manhattan Beach. For more information, call 310.642.7851.
Hampden, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Accidental diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We were walking Manhattan Ave late afternoon after a long day of travel, when we came upon Mucho, just opening for the evening. We were seated at a curved bench in the contemporary, attractive lounge area facing the bar. Margaritas (delicious) led to apps. All good. We watched the place fill up, bar, indoor, and sidewalk seating. Had to catch the server's eye when needed, but felt unhurried and relaxed for two hours as Mucho hit its stride.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good upscale Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Was in town for a conference and heard this place was worth trying and it didn't disappoint. My friend and I split a pitcher of sangria, which was reasonably priced and delicious ($30 with tip). We also shared the guacamole which we both found to be excellent. We both had the Baja tacos. She had tuna which I found to be a strange texture combination for this meal and I had the lobster tacos which were wonderful in flavor and texture. The atmosphere is a little loud and the prices are reasonable although not a bargain but given the location and clientele it didn't seam unreasonable.

Overall I would definitely give them a try if you are in the area. Do make a reservation however, we were lucky since there were only two of us earlier on a Friday we were seated easily but there was a substantial wait when we left.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KSB030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, puzzling service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I had dinner at Mucho on Saturday night. We sat in the open-air area by the sidewalk and found the atmosphere of the place to be lively and inviting. The classic margaritas are refreshing without all the sugar one normally finds. The guacamole, chips, salsa, and three entrees were all quite good (duck tacos were solid). I agree with other posters here that it leans toward the pricey side for a "Mexican food place," but it is high quality food, lovely presentation, and a nice atmosphere so probably appropriately priced...particularly given its location.

What was perplexing to me is this: I bit down on a sliver of metal approximately an inch and a half long. It was mixed into black beans so I didn't notice it until it was too late. Thankfully, I didn't swallow it and quickly presented it to our waitress. She promptly brought me another bowl of black beans and apologized (I think). But that was it - no attempt from management to acknowledge the problem, comp my meal, offer a round of drinks. We paid our bill and made our way out. I found a manager (Luis) who was quite excellent about the situation, but at that point it was too late.

Perhaps I'm overreacting to almost ingesting a metal sliver which I assume came from the can of beans. But I feel situations like those need to be addressed with an appropriate level of proactivity and, in my opinion, it was met instead with relative apathy.

It really is good food and a cool environment, just chew before you swallow.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StuckInStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland, Fla.
Level Contributor
244 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Bring "Mucho Dinero" to Mucho Ultima!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We ate here with friends who live in nearby El Segundo. We were seated at a very large booth near the back. The restaurant was very crowded and loud. We had a view of the pretty bar area. The menu was interesting and had a nice variety of food options.

We had Baja Tacos, Fish Veracruzana, and Enchiladas. The food prices were high, but the cocktail prices were astronomical!!! The Margaritas are $11.00-$15.00. They charged us $10.00 for 1 oz. of Gran Marnier, and $15.00 for 1 oz. of Anejo Tequila!! Our total bill was over $200.00, for two people!!!! Our bill from Spagos wasn't that much!

To sum it up, it appears that this is a popular "hang out" as well as restaurant, and the food and service was very good. However, it was not worth the price, and a comporable meal can be had elsewhere, without having to "take out a loan" for dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geezerhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I ordered the Carne Asada (skirt steak) and it was good. Overall the food and services were both good, but a bit overpriced compared to the quality/price of other restaurants in the area. The atmosphere is very good and the staff was very friendly

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MemphisTraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mucho also viewed

Manhattan Beach, CA
Manhattan Beach, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing