We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
OMG Close to Perfection

It's not Hawaii or a private beach on the Greek Islands...but it's pretty darn close for a Southern... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
noeadventures
,
Los Angeles, California
Point Dume State Beach and Preserve

Point Dume State Beach and Preserve has sand, ocean, birds, fish, surfing .... A nature lover's... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Bob P
,
Simi Valley, California
Read all 343 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Malibu
from $45.00
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
from $155.00
More Info
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveler rating
196
81
12
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
81
12
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cliff sea lions pirates cove iron man on the rocks santa monica bay statue of liberty parking lot hiking trail state beach channel islands see whales short hike vantage point big rock bathroom facilities tide pools
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped here on a whim as we are travelling up the PCH.

it’s worth it for the views but we didn’t prepare with the right footwear.

The climb is quite challenging for compete novices, a bit perilous in places as there aren’t proper continuous barriers at the edges.

But we saw eagles and sea lions and a fab view. Definitely take the camera

Parking was easy enough and plentiful.

Thank AshBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's not Hawaii or a private beach on the Greek Islands...but it's pretty darn close for a Southern California beach. Avoid large crowds, city congestion, noise, and trash. Park right on the sand for free or enter the lot for a few bucks. From your car, walk 50 steps to a quintessential socal beach. Oh, and keep your eyes out for celebrities :)

Thank noeadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Point Dume State Beach and Preserve has sand, ocean, birds, fish, surfing .... A nature lover's dream.

1  Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice beach, not to crowded. Parking is free, there are life guards at time, I didn't see any surfers but there were swimmers.

Thank iluvta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

I wanted to see the tide pools at Point Dume. The directions I found here said to park at the trailhead in a residential neighborhood. There are only 6 spots total. There was no hope for us to snag one. We decided to park at Zuma and hike over. It is a challenging hike. Fine sand, uphill, a rocky bit, very little boardwalk on the Zuma side. We got about 1/3-1/2 way and decided to turn around. Beautiful views and beach. This is one of the most photographed parts of California coastline and has appeared in many movies. I would love to try and go again as I've never seen a tide pool in person. We saw a gathering of seals sunning on the beach and barking below the point.

Thank amstrickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Made our way to Point Dume for the day. We usually go to Zuma, but we thought we would switch things up. I am glad we did. Parking was cheap and several spots were available. To clarify, that is down by the beach and not at the top of the bluff. There were way fewer people at Dume. Drive to the end of the lot and park/set up towards the rocks. The rocks are fun to climb on and make for great pictures. Hike over the rocks, and there is another beach. It's much more secluded. I will definitely go back next time I am in the area.

2  Thank bdfenwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018

great place to go and hang out and not as touristy as the rest of malibu .........great for a beach-nic

1  Thank IsaiahMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Beautiful dunes and wildlife viewing here. Must stop here in Malibu. There is limited parking, but if you go to the other side past Sunset Restaurant and go into the park's paid parkign lot and drive to the end, you can walk up the hill.

1  Thank YampuTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

The trail to various overlook points is probably just a bit more than a one mile 15 minute hike but the beauty will inspire you to stay much longer.

2  Thank RobinHeydenberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Wonderful moderate hike up Point Dume. The views from the top are certainly worth it. While some people choose to scale the rock wally to reach the top, I would recommend the stroll up the trail alongside the mountain. Insider suggestion. Park at the Sunset restaurant and walk up the beach to Point Dume. Really beautiful.

5  Thank cory w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews