We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach”

Point Dume State Beach and Preserve
Ranked #4 of 52 things to do in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
DOVER
Level Contributor
395 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We were visiting Malibu for the first time, and were going to Zuma beach, and the parking attendant told us to try Point Dume, we lucked up on parking, it is a very busy place. The beach was great, got to see lots of surfers. Saw dolphins jumping around, the tall cliffs were neat too!!

Helpful?
1 Thank CAROL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    76
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A little slice of paradise right here”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I typically make this a required stop enroute to Ventura from LA. I park in the neighborhood [includes gorgeous homes which I understand are owned by a number of successful Hollywood celebrities] at the top of the cliff where there is a sign designating the location as Point Dume State Beach. As others have mentioned there are a limited number of parking spaces [10-11, I believe] so luck may have to be with you if the surf is up! There are steep steps leading down the cliff to the beach + 2 trails leading to the very top of the cliff. Wear sturdy shoes as the trail leading to the top will turn to deep loose sand which can be a challenge. Of course bring your camera to record some awesome views! No facilities [food, water, bathrooms] so prepare accordingly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 46Lil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach - Please read”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had a really nice time 4/26/14. The beach is very nice. There were some dolphins & sea lions sightings there that day. Also, they were also filming a show that day. But the most memorable thing I seen that day was, a man falling 40-50 feet off a cliff & getting air rescued out. The rescuers did a GREAT job! I think about the guy everyday. I hope he is alright. So PLEASE be safe on the rocks / cliffs or you might NOT be as lucky. BE SAFE.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank JackieHandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAngeles
Level Contributor
134 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Hiking by the ocean”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

There are not too many places where you can go hiking right by the Ocean. Point Dume is one of them and that is well worth doing it. The Beach itself is not the best in Southern California, it is kind of primitive, I would say never cleaned by the City. The water is very rough and the undercurrents strong.
Unless you simply prefer less people sharing the beach with you, this place does not have any appeal.
But the hike to Point Dume cliffs is different. If you usually go hiking in the hot and dusty Sierra mountains, you will enjoy the refreshing ocean breeze while climbing to the top of the cliffs.
Bring water with you and rest a few minutes on the benches at the top of the cliffs. From here you will have an excellent panoramic view of the ocean and the beach. Lots of times you can see dolphins and sea lions and sometimes even the tail of a whale. That is a well deserved reward!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LATraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Most gorgeous beach in Malibu”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Who would have thought there was such a treasure in Malibu. Truly a highlight of our two-week trip to CA. Point Dume is well hidden in a residential neighborhood, so be sure to follow some directions or you will never find it. There are a few free parking spaces and people actually queue up and wait for folks to leave. Several great hiking trails. Be sure to hike to the top and take in the view. If you look to the left you will see a beautiful crescent shaped beach, which was pretty empty when we arrived, because it’s not that easy to reach. If you look to the right, you will see neighboring Zuma Beach. You can easily spend hours here just walking around. Keep in mind that there are no facilities at Point Dume.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lost175lbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point Dume State Beach and Preserve also viewed

 

Been to Point Dume State Beach and Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing