We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your imagination will run wild... Write a novel...”
Review of Native Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Native Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Malibu B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Your imagination will run wild... Write a novel...”
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Well, imagination is having the time of it's life. We've come up with every story of who, since when have stayed here, where the hidden video cameras are, and if we should hide out here if-n when we ever commit a heinous crime.
The patio is great (smokers paradise) although we quit! Bring candles it's dark. Don't use bed spreads. We pulled em off and redecorated. We travel alot so it's nice to try and make it homier.
Try to get a room far from the office and street. It adds to the ambience.
Listen;
this is not a cookie cutter, turn key hotel. If quirky adventure isn't in your repertoire...go to a chain, or fancier place.
It is dark here, tucked away and you can picture hippies in the 70's running around high as a kite with free love in the air. Maybe you'll see it as a figuritive roach motel. Who knows... You will leave with memories.
We like it, we'll be back. It's simple, funny, dark and light. It's historical and in a great location.
The remodel... Well, it's just a clean up. Wish we had a shot at it. Could be quirky and hipster sheek on a dime.
We say, stay here! Thumbs up

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Troilet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garybwilcox, Owner/Manager at Native Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2010
You are most welcome back here anytime. Thank you for the review. God bless. G&T
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    6
    8
    13
See reviews for
5
20
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

I am travelling with my husband on a four month world trip and staying here was one of the best nights of the trip! We had previously stayed in Santa Monica for five nights and had hired a car to travel up to San Francisco and were keen to stay in Malibu. After being told by the tourist info cabin at Santa Monica that no one stays in Malibu and she had no hotels we thought we'd chance it anyway. This one at $123 a night was the cheapest and exactly the place we imagined staying when travelling through the States, an independant hotel full of character instead one of the bland charmless chain motels. The owners were out of town so we were lucky enough to meet John was was taking care of the property. He was one of the nicest guys we've ever met and he couldn't do enough for us. He brought us extra fans, coffee makers etc. Gave us travel tips and even lent us his pass for a private beach so it was a memorable experience for us. Thanks John. This hotel isn't for everyone but we loved it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garybwilcox, Manager at Native Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2009
God bless you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Phone didn't work, the back door blew open because the locks didn't work, the carpets were filthy and for what it was, it was very expensive. No one on duty after midnight & I woke at 3 am with strange sounds like someone walking down the sidewalk. I realized it was the window air conditioner, but I laid awake waiting till daylight so I could leave.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mstcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garybwilcox, Owner/Manager at Native Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2009
Dear mstcal: Please note, All of our rooms have ceramic tile flooring wall to wall. None of the rooms have window air conditioners. I don't know what motel you stayed at, but , in writing reviews such as this, please make sure you know what motel you stayed in first.
Thanks, management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

The Malibu Riviera was the dirtiest motel I have ever seen in my life. We needed 2 rooms for our family and checked the 3 rooms that they had available. They were all disgustingly dirty - especially the room closest to PCH with a tile floor which according to the Riviera wedsite had been remodeled. Even though it had 2 queen beds we opted for the room next door with a queen and twin bed. The carpet was so dirty it had globs of sticky patches and we all kept our shoes on. The bathroom had obviously not been cleaned before us and looked like it had not been cleaned for some time. When I asked the office for toilet paper I was actually given 3 partially used up rolls! The 2nd room had a queen bed and a dirty couch that I wouldn't dream of ever sitting on. The cost for the rooms was not cheap at $125 each so we expected it to be at least decent. We've stayed in many older motels but never seen one as dirty or neglected as this one. No need to gut the place, just clean it once and awhile!

  • Liked — Leaving the place
  • Disliked — Dirty rooms and noisy guest yelling
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InOurTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

Ok so it may not look like much at first glance, and it may be a bit over priced, but this place has character! after driving hundreds of miles around CAli, and staying at at least seven motels this was by far our favorite. It felt like a real old school california motel experience. If only the walls could talk. i mean for god sake bob dylan wrote blood on the tracks while staying at this very motel, and it still feels like he may pop his head out of room 10 any moment now. There's a cool hot tub under the stars, and the beach is minutes away. It's not a four star hotel, but so what, they are all over the place, and have no soul. If you are openminded, and ready for a unique time in malibu, this is the spot.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank leggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We booked over the phone as the place was recommended in Rough Guide, and by the time we arrived it was too late to find somewhere else. All I can say is Rough Guide never went there because it is run down, dirty, expensive and just to complete the experience we woke up to find a black widow spider on our door! We had stayed at some really nice places as we toured the PCH, but this place took the 'Dusk 'til Dawn' vampire film award. The sad thing is that it's in a good location and could be a great little motel if it was gutted and redecorated (just cleaning would help).
I do have to admit though, it was the most memorable stay we had in the US...

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CDNCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maliburiviera, manager at Native Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2007
The Malibu Riviera Motel was built in 1947.
It was constructed using concrete block.. The
rooms are approx.. 14' X 20' with ceiling fan,
tiled shower, and a closet. Rooms 1 thru 10 all have a back door that leads out to a small
private patio overlooking the gully. The ocean
is approx. 1/2 mile away and there is no ocean view. There are numerous restaurant all within 1/2 mile, and a gorcery store 3 miles away.

Humble accomadations at a reasonable price..

In a continuing effort to improve, by December of 2007 all rooms will have ceramic tile flooring and louvered blind window treatments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2007

We drove up from San Diego and I knew for sure that we would not find something reasonable as far as money goes. I knew what we were getting ready to see. So, if you are just looking for somewhere to rest for the night and dont feel like driving, you can likely get a room there. I will say the "patio" of the rooms face the PCH and the views are nice, vegetation is pretty. It is definately something that you have to understand. I also stayed at the Ocean Beach Hotel in OB and that was different too. There were NO BUGS as the other traveler said in the Malibu Hotel! i was quite suprised. Automatic coffee machine outside the office (coffee was pretty good). Phone did not work, we didnt bother to shower, just drank some beer on the patio and went to sleep. Not the place for kids.

  • Liked — location and scenery
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank californiagirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maliburiviera, management at Native Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2007
Well its October 2007 and so far six of our rooms have been completed with new 16" X 16" ceramic tile flooring wall to wall. New window treatments are horizontal louvered blinds, provide privacy and an elegant look . Its been said our room could be considered 'hypo allergenic', but I dont know if I would go that far. Just plain 'clean' is more like it. We value our customers opinions of our establishment, and thanks to web sites such as this, something we never had to go by before, let us know how badly some people felt about staying here, and has allowed us to continue to make the changes necessary to become a desirable place to stay. We thank all that have left comments, and hope comments continue to improve. Thank you. Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malibu
Malibu
Malibu Beach Inn
Malibu Beach Inn
#1 of 6 in Malibu
535 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Native Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Native Hotel

Property: Native Hotel
Address: 28920 Pacific Coast Hwy, Malibu, CA 90265 (Formerly Malibu Riviera Motel)
Location: United States > California > Malibu > Malibu
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Malibu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Native Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the coastal beach town of Malibu, California, Native is a 13-room hotel that’s surrounded by acres of lush greenery and perched on the Pacific Coast Highway. Originally built in 1947 as the famed Malibu Riviera Motel, the classic one-story building on 4.5 acres of land was acquired by SKG Investments and completely overhauled and designed by Los Angeles-based creative agency Folklor, taking on a new, contemporary look while preserving its old paradise charm. The mid-century modernist retreat, which includes an outdoor gathering space and wellness center, is steps away from some of the country’s most idyllic beaches including Zuma Beach and Point Dume. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Native Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibu Riviera Hotel Malibu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing