We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible Pizza” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kristy's Wood Oven and Wine Bar

Kristy's Wood Oven and Wine Bar
Ranked #25 of 91 Restaurants in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Malibu
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
229 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Horrible Pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

malibu is lacking a great pizza place. Kristy's certainly doesnt help matters. Our pizza was so salty and the crust was over-baked, that all the enjoyment of fresh pizza faded away.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Troy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    43
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
So Cal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Comfortable Place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

While easy to miss in it's perch on the hill, this location hosts the best sunset in Malibu. The owners, Kristy (duh) and Greg were engaging and perfect hosts. The food was delicious, and don't automatically think that these dishes are not rich, most are. They have a fantastic blend of tastes and broad offering, They even created a very healthy plate of chicken, rice and veggies for our kids which they all enjoyed (which is not typically easy). The drinks were a bit pricey overall, and I can I recommend the P.O.G. punch. Deserts are fantastic, the coconut cake is almost worth a return visit on it's own. The staff was on point, which is always a thin line between a positive and negative review in my opinion.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SoCalChill_Axer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ahi - YUM!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Delicious food! Service was friendly and professional. Partial views of the beach. On PCH, but up high enough that you do not hear traffic. The food and wine were divine!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank riverrat2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“malibu prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

the food was good, as was the service and view. Kinda pricey with breakfast being 15.00 each. we ordered spicey bloody marys which were also 15.00 each. the drinks tasted great buit very weak pours. if the drinks were stronger, prob. would have given another star. I hate weak drinks, especially at 15.00.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hugh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Bad Service and mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I have eaten two meals at Kristy's. First was lunch with a girlfriend. We ordered the same house salade, mine with grilled chicken hers with shrimp. My chicken was good the salad was uninteresting but adequate. My friend received 3 small grilled shrimp. When i commented to our waitress that this was rather skimpy for price charged, i was sure that she would return from the kitchen with additional shrimp, but no such luck. The service was terrible. Not once did the waitress come around to ask us if if we needed anything else. When i went to look for our waitress she was shmoozing with another employee and the owner while drinking coffee. I mentioned again to the owner about the shrimp and she just smiled. Bad Bad customer service.
Next time i was invited for breakfast. The muffins were horrid, both in flavor and texture- starchy and strange. The egg scramble was undercooked. The omelette with smoked gouda was supposed to be shared buy three of us., but when i cut it into three, only the middle part had gouda. The chef tends to be skimpy with the wrong items. The fruit plates served on the side are nice, but you really can't screw up fruit. Again i got up and had to find our waitress to ask for additional water and once more to ask for coffee refill. We sat there two hours and not once did she come out on her own to ask if we needed anything. No jam is servd with the toast, and when we complained about something there was no effort to offer a substitution. The husband owner was walking around the restaurant giving maintenance orders in an extremely loud voice.
The husband/wife owners have quite a bit to learn about handlingand pleasing their patrons.
Having said all of that, the location is beautiful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nili99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kristy's Wood Oven and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Kristy's Wood Oven and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing