We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Dinner. A1 Location. Special”
Review of Dukes Malibu

Dukes Malibu
Reserve with OpenTable
Dukes Malibu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 91 Restaurants in Malibu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Malibu
Cross street: Las Flores Canyon
Transit: MTA has a bus stop 100 yards down PCH
Description: Duke's Malibu has brought the excitement of Hawaii, Waikiki, and surfing to the mainland. The spectacular oceanfront location on Pacific Coast Highway offers over 300 feet of romantic oceanfront dining and memorabilia from both Hawaii and California surfing history. The Barefoot Bar, looking south into the lights of Santa Monica, is a great spot for drinks and casual food with friends.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Group Dinner. A1 Location. Special”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Dined here with colleagues February 2014. Excellent location, superb views, very good service, and good food

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackthebiscuit010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    412
    131
    32
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This place was recommended to us by our VRBO owner so we drove from Burbank! The place is pretty, great view of the ocean. The food was great, hawiian grilled fish with bok choy slaw, sooo good! The BBQ pork ribs were wonderful, tender and the sauce was to die for!(and we are from Texas!) The chowder was really good too.
I do feel like all in all I was hoping for alittle more selection on the menu

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christytxgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
118 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch spot!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We arrived at Duke's for lunch on a Friday afternoon. The surf outside our window-side table was the perfect accompaniment to our fabulous lunch.

The coconut deep fried shrimp, crab and macadamia nut pot stickers, and fish tacos were all excellent, as was the fresh halibut.

We had an attentive, friendly server, and the valet parking at $3 per car is well worth it.

We'll be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ght0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
112 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, great location Ok food”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We visited Malibu today and was recommended Duke`s by a nice girl at Starbucks. We where lucky to catch the Superbowl at the same time. The restaurant is a Hawaiian type of place with a lot of bamboo around. If your are in the mood for relaxed and informal dining, this is a great place to go. The food was actually quite nice, though you build high expectations from a place like this, and therefor I was hoping for something special.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CeeDeeGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“and What a View!”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was my first visit to LA. Had a great day Sat on the PCH, and stopped in at Dukes on the way back. Packed place with great energy, watching surfers, tide, and sun. Food is great too! Had a delicious Bloody Mary, craft beers, wings (I'm a wing guy, they were very good), and tuna tartare taco (I forget the name). Can't miss here! Worth the wait to sit on the patio beyond the bar.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank derp1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dukes Malibu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing